Photosmart M407 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

hpim0174
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart M407 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 4.1-megapixel sensor creates 2,344 x 1,752-pixel images for photo-quality prints at 11 x 14 inches and beyond
  • 3x optical plus 6x digital zoom (for 18x total)
  • 1.8-inch diagonal LCD; records MPEG-1, QVGA video; 7 shooting and 4 capture modes
  • Compatible with Secure Digital/MultiMedia Card (SD/MMC); includes 16 MB internal memory
  • Powered by 2 AA photo Lithium batteries (included, rechargeables recommended); connects to PCs and Macs via USB



© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Angelica Jeffries 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:32:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:32:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:32:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:32:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 8:32:05 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It is okay for a digital camera. The screen is hard to see and the pictures are often dark so I have to adjust my settings often.
6/30/2006 8:32:05 AM
 
Carolyn R. Adams 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:30:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:30:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:30:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:30:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:30:34 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I like how i can change it to sepia, black and white, or color and i like that its a camera. Basically my camera sucks. I usually have to make the picture clearer on the computer after i take it. It eats up batteries so fast that i have to change them almost every 30 minutes when im using it.
5/22/2006 3:30:34 PM
 
Lori L. Sanders 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:43:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera works fine i'm very satisfied with it.
3/25/2006 1:43:37 PM
 
Melissa R. Ausflug 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 6:54:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 6:54:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 6:54:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 6:54:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 6:54:32 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the way the pictures turn out. Very clear! I don't like that the buttons some times won't work when I want to view my pictures
2/28/2006 6:54:32 AM
 
Robert Borgedahl 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 10:19:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 10:19:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 10:19:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 10:19:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 10:19:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's an easy to use digital camera, that seems to take good quality pictures.
2/18/2006 10:19:07 PM
 
Linda J. Rock
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 5:41:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 5:41:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 5:41:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 5:41:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 5:41:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The camera takes great pictures, but tends to blur close ups. A good 1st time digital camera for those on a budget.
1/28/2006 5:41:22 AM
 
Erin N. Wilkinson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 8:52:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 8:52:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 8:52:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 8:52:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 8:52:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am not a very good writer, so i apologize fro the brief description. I love this camera. It is compact, yet seems to be very durable. The picture quality is great, especially the quality of the digital zoom. I wouldn't have thought the pictures would be so sharp. I am not sure if the video records sound or not, because i have not been able to get it to do so. That is the only bad feature. Overall this is a wonderful camera.
1/25/2006 8:52:51 PM
 
Laurel  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:21:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:21:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:21:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:21:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:21:59 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera for everyday shots, small compact and easy to carry. Takes clear photos.
12/1/2005 12:21:59 PM
 
Dreama D. Mcmahon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 12:26:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 12:26:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 12:26:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 12:26:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 12:26:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its ok for the money
9/15/2005 12:26:44 PM
 
Gail Fidler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 7:49:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 7:49:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 7:49:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 7:49:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 7:49:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I find you really have to be steady when holding camera. Most shots are pretty good. Easy to use, lightweight. Options are good whether shooting blk and wt or septra. And has a macro feature I like to use.
9/13/2005 7:49:08 PM
 
Gloria J. Pugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:01:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:01:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:01:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:01:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:01:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been more than please with my HP Digital 407 Camera very easy to use!!
9/6/2005 12:01:18 PM
 
Gloria J. Pugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:00:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:00:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:00:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:00:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 12:00:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been more than please with my HP Digital 407 Camera very easy to use!!
9/6/2005 12:00:32 PM
 
Gloria J. Pugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been more than please with my HP Digital 407 Camera very easy to use!!
9/6/2005 11:59:53 AM
 
Gloria J. Pugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:59:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been more than please with my HP Digital 407 Camera very easy to use!!
9/6/2005 11:59:15 AM
 
Gloria J. Pugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:58:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:58:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:58:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:58:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:58:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been more than please with my HP Digital 407 Camera very easy to use!!
9/6/2005 11:58:17 AM
 
Rhonda N. Blaney 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:38:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:38:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:38:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:38:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:38:47 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I have been quite pleased with the quality of this cameras photos. Easy to use. One of my favorites
9/5/2005 9:38:47 AM
 
Neeraj Maurya 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 9:32:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 9:32:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 9:32:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 9:32:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 9:32:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
On increasing the memory to 256mb, this is a simple and handy camera with good results.
8/29/2005 9:32:30 PM
 
Sarah Puffer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:47:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:47:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:47:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:47:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:47:57 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very easy to use, but unfortunately not very easy to get a good picture in less than perfect light conditions.
8/17/2005 2:47:57 PM
 
Peter D. Bunn 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 8:49:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 8:49:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 8:49:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 8:49:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 8:49:40 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It is a nice beginning camera. It takes good outdoor pictures, but indoor pictutes are difficult to take with it. Flash doesn't reach very far, so you have to use long exposure. And when you do that the picture isn't focused. The macro is difficult to use. Focusing on a subject can be difficult. Manual focus is not available and even the automatic focus sometimes does not even focus well on a still subject; especially in low light conditions.
8/6/2005 8:49:40 AM
 
Cindi Lavine 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 8:18:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 8:18:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 8:18:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 8:18:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2005 8:18:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I actually have the M417 but it's not on the list.
7/11/2005 8:18:37 AM
 
alisha easterling 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:50:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:50:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:50:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:50:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 8:50:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera because it take good pictures and it has many features to it such as lcd screen, 3x optical,18x zoom ect...
6/13/2005 8:50:07 AM
 
Patrick E. Carper 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:47:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:47:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:47:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:47:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 7:47:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
first digital camera i have owned. the price was good for the amount of mp's and zoom. the ease of taken pictures was also a plus as well as the uploading to my computer. very user friendly. only negative thing i can think of is the size is small for my hands.
4/17/2005 7:47:36 PM
 
Rachel K. Back
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 9:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 9:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 9:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 9:56:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 9:56:51 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
can be good quality, but it takes a little while to get used to... not bad for first time users
4/3/2005 9:56:51 AM
 

23 Reviews  

Buy Photosmart M407 Digital Camera from Amazon.com