BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Optio S5i Digital Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Whirlpool
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Luke Plonsky

member since: 6/6/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very compact - fits in your khaki shorts pockets - and the images are very good although the color and flash (washout) could be improved slightly. The setting features are nice too, but it's lacking in some manual controls.
6/6/2006 9:58:50 PM
 
Ann Fitzjohn
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very nice, compact and easy to use. The flash is a bit harsh though
3/28/2006 12:35:43 PM
 
Marion P.

member since: 3/17/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I always had Pentax cameras so I was normal for me to choose a digital camera from this brand. It is very small so I find it very practical, I can take pictures wherever and whenever I want. Although it is not a professional camera, I think the pictures I get are of a rather good quality. I have some problems with pictures at night because the night function requires the camera to be on a foot.That is the only negative aspect of this product. If anybody else uses this camera, do not hesitate to give me some advice.Thanks.
3/17/2006 6:33:30 PM
 
Christy L. Milliken

member since: 12/4/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's compact and easy to use, but the zoom isn't as good as I would like it to be.
12/4/2005 8:15:51 PM
 
Tom McCubbin

member since: 6/14/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been using this camera for about a year now, and I am very impressed. The size is such that I carry it with me everywhere I go: you can only take a photo if you have a camera! I have found the macro and super macro settings to be excellent, particularly outdoors. My only quibble is the location of the power button. I also own the Pentax *istDS which is another fine camera. Why does Pentax seem to be the forgotten child of the camera world?
11/2/2005 10:06:48 AM
 
Nikki  E. Workman

member since: 3/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Thrilled with this camera. It's very stylish and people are constantly stopping me and asking me about it. The size and capabilities will remind you how nice it is to have a camera on hand. It's small enough to fit in a pocket or purse. If you're like me, and feel that not every picture needs to be a portrait, but still want great quality...this camera delivers!
8/6/2005 2:14:48 PM
 
Melanie Frobisher

member since: 7/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera because not only it is really, really small but the 5mp quality is superb. It has many manual over-rides so you are not forced in to doing what the camera wants! I really can't find anything bad to say about it - it's size means that it goes wherever I do, too many great pictures can be missed if you don't always have a camera with you - the Optio solves that problem.
7/30/2005 2:08:58 AM
 
Heather D. Mathias

member since: 7/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy taking pictures with this tiny camera. I'm the mother of a busy 18 month old, and this camera is small enough to take everywhere. It's enabled me to get some really great shots. The display menu is very easy to use, and it has many functions. I don't really see a difference in some of them though. Like the one for food - the picture looks the same if I'm using the food function or the regular function. Maybe it's just me though. All things considered though, I really like the camera and would reccomend it to anyone!
7/21/2005 2:42:00 AM
 
Lani T. Broadbent
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Lani
Lani's Gallery

member since: 6/10/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like this camera because it takes fairly good pictures and it fits into my pocket.
6/10/2005 6:37:45 AM
 
Valentin Sprinceana
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This review is for the Pentax Optio50 digicam, which is a very easy to use camera. It has manual controls, but my experience tought me to leave it mostly on the "Simple" mode and the internal computer will adjust it properly for you, in the most situations, especially at the parties, in low light environment. I tested it for close-ups too and it made great photos, with outstanding detail.
For the movie mode, make sure you get enough light, as there is no flash during video recording (that's the only reason it didn't get a full 5 stars).
Thinking about AA batteries, SD memory, 5 Megapixels, x3 optical zoom, with 32 to 96 mm focal length (making it fairly good for group photos in small places), possibility of - 2.0 to +2.0 manual exposure adjustment, possibility to take 3 photos in a row at 3 different EV values with only one shutter click, allowing you to choose which one you like the most(!) and you have a great value for the $200US you pay !
I am very satisfied with Optio50 and recommend it 100%.
5/26/2005 1:18:53 PM
 
kristin a. wall
undertheseaphotos.com

member since: 12/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
VERY small camera with great options, 5 MP, easy to use, especially for underwater photography as LCD screen is large and it has a 'marine setting' to better control white balance, etc. Underwater housing is well constructed and easy to use all functions quickly. Incredible value!
2/7/2005 6:01:48 AM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.