BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Closeups in Nature


John Shaw     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : How To Photography Books

asian owl
View photos created with this camera

The Closeups in Nature

If you are interested at all in nature photography, you will enjoy and benefit from any of John Shaw's works. Shaw is a clear, concise writer as well as a great photographer.

My favorite of Shaw's books, Closeups in Nature is a thoughtfully designed and clearly written guide that both inspires and instructs. With warmth and clarity, John Shaw offers tips and explanations that are practical, down-to-earth and truly helpful. He focuses on how to make the most out of one's efforts in macro photography, but the instruction goes a long way farther and helps in many other areas of nature photography. On top of all this, the photos are stunningly beautiful. This one is highly recommended.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Shirley L. Carpenter
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/14/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is still new, so still getting use to it!!
6/24/2006 5:55:16 AM
 
N D

member since: 6/11/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great optical image stabilizer Great optical zoom Great colour quality Great sharpness Sometimes I got that ghostly green colour on the blurry part of the image.
6/11/2006 10:44:02 PM
 
Chris Duke

member since: 6/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Don't like: no zoom ability in macro mode, fill flash too weak, Like: startup time, very short shot-to-shot lag, Lumix Lens.
6/7/2006 12:50:05 PM
 
Christy J. Bristow
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my husband's camera, but I love being able to use it. The controls are easy & the pictures are wonderufl.
6/3/2006 7:45:00 AM
 
Daniel M. Kays

member since: 10/11/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera has a very fine quality Leica Lens, Panasonics Antishake technology and a 12X optical zoom. It has speeds of ASA 80, 100, 200 and 400. What I like about it is it's ease of use, the lens, and the easy to navigate menus. It's photos will rival that of most digital SLR's that cost 300 to 700$ more. Its zoom lens is 35mm equivilent to a 35mm to 400mm. It is physically a little smaller than my Canon EOS Rebel. What I dislike about it is the lack of a hotshoe, I picked it up because a digital camera for less than $400.00 on sale with the Leica lens was too tempting to pass up. I got it to have a good quality camera to learn the differences between digital and film, and find out my likes and dislikes, features that are more importan or less important to me, before dropping serious cash for a digital SLR. Within a couple years I should have enough digital experience to know what features that I want in a digital SLR. I am disappointed that Nikon lacks built in remote capability. As a night fotographer, I dislike being limited to 30 second exposures. That pushes me up to ASA400 speeds, and the digital cameras at ASA400 do not appear to have kept up with the new emulsions of current 400 speed film. I may change my review after a month or two playing with the camera.
5/12/2006 11:34:13 PM
 
Robert L. Bristow

member since: 1/1/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am rating this a 4 but I have only had the camera for a day. My opinion keeps growing so it may be a 5 pretty soon. All the features are great. This camera is as manual or as auto as you want it to be. It comes across as a point and shoot with a zoom but you can manual focus it as well as adjust all the other settings. Or, if you are new to photography, you can let the camera do all the work. Zoom is 36-432 and you can get attachments for wide angle or tele photo. It also uses 52mm filters.
5/11/2006 7:53:12 PM
 
Silvia Nunes
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it because ,it is small, fast, light and easy to use , and good quality.
4/17/2006 4:43:53 PM
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Closeups in Nature from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.