BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S70 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

A Little Girl'...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S70 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 7.1 megapixel CCD and wide-angle 28-100mm, 3.6x optical zoom
    lens
  • 13 Shooting Modes, including enhanced VGA Movie Mode
  • Exclusive Canon image processor and iSAPS technology for faster
    processing and excellent image quality
  • New print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloads
  • New Macro Mode that lets you shoot less than 2 inches from your
    subject

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jim 

member since: 9/11/2008
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this camer has an alright picture quality, several good features and is a pretty good camera overal
9/11/2008 8:06:31 AM
 
Denie Nataprawira

member since: 8/11/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my best digital compact camera. will many PRO's feature inside, my photos are superb!

flickr/photos/denie, to see my complete result :)

8/12/2007 4:52:12 AM
 
Gary Pope
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Canon Powershot S70 is pocketable, has many manual and creative controls, has a 28 mm (equivalent) wide angle lens, is well made, has 7.1 megapixels, an excellent lens (see exceptions below)and was reasonably priced. I does have some barrel distortion at wide settings, and purple fringing in certain high contrast situations. I occasionally wish for a longer lens, and a larger, brighter viewing element. Autofocus at macro setting is unreliable, possible due to parallax.
4/18/2006 10:21:38 AM
 
Stephen J. La Perla

member since: 1/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the first serious camera I have ever owned. so far, it has been great to me. It has a lot of upper-end features in a very compact package.
4/14/2006 9:04:32 PM
 
Cami B. Dreyer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/28/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my most portable camera..... LOVE IT.
3/13/2006 6:07:53 PM
 
Tonya Shackelford
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/15/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice compact camera, but shutter lag too frustrating when taking pictures of fast-moving children.
2/15/2006 11:34:27 AM
 
Kevin Thompson

member since: 1/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far this camera seems to be an excellent compromise to lugging an SLR. It will go fully manual and has several handy semi-automatic modes. I am still learning about taking pictures but it appears the S70 will take me far. The only thing I can detect that "may" limit my picture taking capability is a maximum ISO setting of 400. It does go down to ISO 50 though, so maybe a compact digitals ISO settings are supposed to be lower overall. We'll see...
1/25/2006 5:55:32 PM
 
Katie N. Southerland
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm quite happy with my camera. It's very simple to use....I barely had to read the manual. It does what I need it to do. I've never had any malfunctions.
12/20/2005 7:16:17 PM
 
Nancy D. Holland

member since: 12/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the picture quality. Still getting used to the time lag and like the various special settings although I rarely use them. It travels well.
12/20/2005 12:22:15 PM
 
Alan Bennett

member since: 9/25/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The canon S70 is an excellent camera except for the added weight and because there are so many options it makes it difficult to learn everything. The camera focuses fast and accurate, the exposures are very close to perfect and the lens (28 - 105 mm) is great to use especially at the widest. The basic functions are easy to use and the software is easy to understand. I would suggest this camera to someone who has done a little photography. It was well worth the price!
12/4/2005 5:25:45 PM
 
Ginger Barritt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/23/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like it because it is simple to use.
11/22/2005 11:58:11 PM
 
Michael J. Nace

member since: 11/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm new to digital photography. I'm learning quite a bit. Bought Jim Miotkes book on BetterPhoto guide to Digital Photography. Excellent book. So far the S70 has been awesome. Just in Auto Mode the camera takes great pictures. I've been playing around with the stitch feature. Very cool. Took some night pictures of the deck I built in my back yard. The tiki torches were lit. The pictures came out really well.
11/20/2005 10:19:37 PM
 
Michael J. Nace

member since: 11/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm new to digital photography. I'm learning quite a bit. Bought Jim Miotkes book on BetterPhoto guide to Digital Photography. Excellent book. So far the S70 has been awesome. Just in Auto Mode the camera takes great pictures. I've been playing around with the stitch feature. Very cool. Took some night pictures of the deck I built in my back yard. The tiki torches were lit. The pictures came out really well.
11/20/2005 10:16:35 PM
 
Steve Hawley

member since: 10/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Canon Powershot S-70 is the closest thing there is to an acceptable compromise between the convenience of a point-and-shoot and a 35mm SLR system. In my humble opinion. No, the S-70 is not an SLR but it has the full range of controllability one would expect from an SLR. No, the S-70 is not a film camera so it is subject to noise that's worse than film grain - but the resolution is 7mp; totally acceptable for most photos. I won't go into a technical review of this camera. There are several very good reviews of the S-70 online, including the reviews at megapixel.net ( http://www.megapixel.net/reviews/canon-s70/s70-gen.php ) and at DPReview ( http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canons70/ ). Plus, the S-70 is now superseded by the S-80. This story probably resonates with a few of you: I have a complete Nikon FM2N manual 35mm system, in really great shape. Lenses include 18mm ultrawide, 28mm wide, 50mm 1.4, 80-200 zoom and 500 catadioptric reflector. All Nikkor. So I am a purist. And I have built the Nikon system I have wanted all my life. Meanwhile, I bought the S-70 because I wanted a "manual" digital camera with good resolution for "grab-it" shots. Reserving the Nikon for "Photography" with a capital P. But you know what? I lugged that whole Nikon system all over Europe this summer. And I did NOT USE IT ONCE. So, all the pix you see on my gallery page? Most are with the S-70 (some were digitized from 35mm). Now I use the Nikon from time to time, but it tends to be when I am traveling comfortably. But when I go backpacking in the Cascades in Washington State or am taking public transportation or going on foot in European cities, where weight is an issue, it's the Canon all the way.
11/17/2005 6:33:46 PM
 
Mariana Walker

member since: 10/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It doesn't have many buttons to chose from like BULB. Then again I have gotten a lot of awesome pictures with it.
10/6/2005 4:15:42 PM
 
Jeremy Joan Hewes
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/4/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fine images; pocket size (for a big pocket); takes RAW and JPEG; versatile lens at 28-100 equivalent. Ideal for travel. But slower than a DSLR and limited in dynamic range. Still a very useful camera for most situations.
10/4/2005 3:05:15 PM
 
Dawn Field
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, I am not familiar with other camera's but it seems to take great clear shots.
9/5/2005 5:46:55 AM
 
Jaka Zvan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice size, wide angle (great lens), raw, good performance, great build.
8/26/2005 12:02:08 AM
 
Shirley Kussner

member since: 5/5/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the compactness of it so that I can put it into my pocket while running or into my purse to carry with me so that I always have a camera to capture special moments. The quality is good when I have it adjusted correctly as all these adjustments with digital cameras leave me intimidated but that is my problem not a fault of the camera. Find that sometimes the zoom lens sticks when I attempt to open it and I have to try to open it a few times before success. Also the lens cover seems to be in my way because of the wahttp://www.betterphoto.com/images/_nav/submit.gify I tend to hold the camera and will close when I don't want it to. Would still recommend this camera as a good camera.
7/16/2005 6:43:11 AM
 
Shirley Kussner

member since: 5/5/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the compactness of it so that I can put it into my pocket while running or into my purse to carry with me so that I always have a camera to capture special moments. The quality is good when I have it adjusted correctly as all these adjustments with digital cameras leave me intimidated but that is my problem not a fault of the camera. Find that sometimes the zoom lens sticks when I attempt to open it and I have to try to open it a few times before success. Also the lens cover seems to be in my way because of the wahttp://www.betterphoto.com/images/_nav/submit.gify I tend to hold the camera and will close when I don't want it to. Would still recommend this camera as a good camera.
7/16/2005 6:43:11 AM
 
Candace M. Poole

member since: 5/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it. It's small and handy but takes GREAT pictures
5/11/2005 12:42:20 PM
 
Amanda M. Paar

member since: 4/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think the Canon Powershot S70 is a great camera for a beginner to advanced digital photographer. It is a wonderful point-and-shoot, but it also has advanced features, similar to that of the Digital Rebel. I love that it is compact and I can take it with me virtually everywhere!
4/27/2005 4:16:45 PM
 
Maricris Macabeo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/16/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like that it has a lot of features but it is very sensitive to a slightest move of your hands. I think I just need to learn how to use it.
4/27/2005 10:43:42 AM
 
Barbara Buglio

member since: 4/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great point and shoot camera. has many of the features as my Digital Rebel, Although Colors are not as saturated. Easy to use. lots of great features
4/13/2005 6:21:57 AM
 
Eric Langer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Brand new point and shoot with many manual options. Got it so I could always carry a camera with me easily. My Canon 10D and all the associated equipment is just too bulky and expensive to always carry around. The Canon s70 is nice and small, light weight and in initial tests takes good shots.
3/21/2005 10:12:52 AM
 
John White

member since: 2/11/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Amazing compact camera with excellent image quality.
2/22/2005 2:25:57 AM
 

26 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot S70 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.