BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S70 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

A Little Girl'...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S70 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 7.1 megapixel CCD and wide-angle 28-100mm, 3.6x optical zoom
    lens
  • 13 Shooting Modes, including enhanced VGA Movie Mode
  • Exclusive Canon image processor and iSAPS technology for faster
    processing and excellent image quality
  • New print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloads
  • New Macro Mode that lets you shoot less than 2 inches from your
    subject

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jim 

member since: 9/11/2008
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this camer has an alright picture quality, several good features and is a pretty good camera overal
9/11/2008 8:06:31 AM
 
Denie Nataprawira

member since: 8/11/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my best digital compact camera. will many PRO's feature inside, my photos are superb!

flickr/photos/denie, to see my complete result :)

8/12/2007 4:52:12 AM
 
Gary Pope
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Canon Powershot S70 is pocketable, has many manual and creative controls, has a 28 mm (equivalent) wide angle lens, is well made, has 7.1 megapixels, an excellent lens (see exceptions below)and was reasonably priced. I does have some barrel distortion at wide settings, and purple fringing in certain high contrast situations. I occasionally wish for a longer lens, and a larger, brighter viewing element. Autofocus at macro setting is unreliable, possible due to parallax.
4/18/2006 10:21:38 AM
 
Stephen J. La Perla

member since: 1/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the first serious camera I have ever owned. so far, it has been great to me. It has a lot of upper-end features in a very compact package.
4/14/2006 9:04:32 PM
 
Cami B. Dreyer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/28/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my most portable camera..... LOVE IT.
3/13/2006 6:07:53 PM
 
Tonya Shackelford
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/15/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice compact camera, but shutter lag too frustrating when taking pictures of fast-moving children.
2/15/2006 11:34:27 AM
 
Kevin Thompson

member since: 1/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far this camera seems to be an excellent compromise to lugging an SLR. It will go fully manual and has several handy semi-automatic modes. I am still learning about taking pictures but it appears the S70 will take me far. The only thing I can detect that "may" limit my picture taking capability is a maximum ISO setting of 400. It does go down to ISO 50 though, so maybe a compact digitals ISO settings are supposed to be lower overall. We'll see...
1/25/2006 5:55:32 PM
 
Katie N. Southerland
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm quite happy with my camera. It's very simple to use....I barely had to read the manual. It does what I need it to do. I've never had any malfunctions.
12/20/2005 7:16:17 PM
 
Nancy D. Holland

member since: 12/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the picture quality. Still getting used to the time lag and like the various special settings although I rarely use them. It travels well.
12/20/2005 12:22:15 PM
 
Alan Bennett

member since: 9/25/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The canon S70 is an excellent camera except for the added weight and because there are so many options it makes it difficult to learn everything. The camera focuses fast and accurate, the exposures are very close to perfect and the lens (28 - 105 mm) is great to use especially at the widest. The basic functions are easy to use and the software is easy to understand. I would suggest this camera to someone who has done a little photography. It was well worth the price!
12/4/2005 5:25:45 PM
 
Ginger Barritt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/23/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like it because it is simple to use.
11/22/2005 11:58:11 PM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot S70 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.