Lumix DMC-FZ3 Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Parque de la Rese...
View photos created with this camera

The Lumix DMC-FZ3 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 10-by-13-inch enlargements
  • Leica DC Vario-Elmarit lens 12x optical zoom lens combines with
    4x digital zoom for 48x total zoom
  • MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer keeps low-light and telephoto
    images sharp; 0.008-second shutter release lag
  • Store images on Secure Digital (SD) memory cards; 8MB SD card
    included
  • Powered by lithium-ion battery pack (included with charger)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


14 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Shelly OConnor 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2006 6:48:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2006 6:48:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2006 6:48:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2006 6:48:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2006 6:48:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is so great. I love it. I have upgraded to a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50 and this camera is everything I dreamed it would be. I'm still keeping my DMC-FZ3 though. No other camera can compete with the zoom that Panasonic offers.
12/19/2006 6:48:43 PM
 
Stew Gitlin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:43:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:43:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:43:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:43:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:43:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Absolutely wonderful camera. 12x optical zoom, wonderful lens, simple to operate. Drawbacks; no manual focus, and only 3 megapixels.
6/19/2006 6:43:58 PM
 
Jan M. Sarazen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:33:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:33:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:33:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:33:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:33:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just got the camera today, but I am pleased with the results so far!
3/30/2006 4:33:48 PM
 
Robert D. Taylor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:44:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:44:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:44:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:44:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:44:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the zoom , The lens is so crisp even with 3.2 megapixel it is amazing. Low light shooting is my biggedt complaint, but seems to be with all . The new lumix supposedly addressed this. Very happy, mouth waters for the fz7.
2/17/2006 10:44:20 AM
 
Robert D. Taylor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:41:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:41:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:41:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:41:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2006 10:41:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the zoom , The lens is so crisp even with 3.2 megapixel it is amazing. Low light shooting is my biggedt complaint, but seems to be with all . The new lumix supposedly addressed this. Very happy, mouth waters for the fz7.
2/17/2006 10:41:00 AM
 
Siobhan Patrick 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2006 7:58:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2006 7:58:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2006 7:58:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2006 7:58:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2006 7:58:37 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the quality of the lens and the ease of use with this camera, the only thing I really do not like, is that there is no manual focus option.
1/24/2006 7:58:37 AM
 
Jennifer N. Mazza
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 9:57:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 9:57:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 9:57:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 9:57:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 9:57:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. It allows me to be creative and experiment all aspects of the levels of photography I wish to pursue. It just lets me have fun.
12/28/2005 9:57:49 PM
 
Star J. VanHala 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 8:47:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 8:47:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 8:47:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 8:47:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 8:47:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
review coming soon
11/20/2005 8:47:18 PM
 
Vicky L. Torgerson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 5:57:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 5:57:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 5:57:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 5:57:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 5:57:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the best camera I have ever owned. It has a great zoom with a stabilizer, and allows you to get some great wildlife shots:)
11/3/2005 5:57:11 PM
 
Megan  Fox 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 7:35:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 7:35:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 7:35:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 7:35:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 7:35:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is an amzing digital camera, we use it for family get togethers, and just random pictures, but I also try to use it for my photography. I wouldn't use it as a professional camera though.
8/22/2005 7:35:44 PM
 
Philip J. Reyes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:28:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:28:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:28:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:28:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:28:28 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is actually the 5 megapixel version DMC-FZ5K 12x optical image stabilization in macro at 1/15th is incredible!
5/31/2005 10:28:28 AM
 
Jeff Hankey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 4:47:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 4:47:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 4:47:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 4:47:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 4:47:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice so far
5/11/2005 4:47:17 PM
 
Rob Jensen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/23/2004
Contact Rob
Rob's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 9:50:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 9:50:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 9:50:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 9:50:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 9:50:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera provides very good value for its purchase price. It has a great combination of simple and advanced features for photographers of all experience levels.

Its zoom capability and flash range are awesome. Shot-to-shot and focusing rate performance are also very good. The 3 MP resolution has not been an issue at all for me due to a combination of available photo storage modes (levels of compression) and the zoom capability of the lens.

So far, I only have one complaint. I think the great flash range is achieved by a slight delay that occurs between the firing of the flash and shutter. This delay has caused a few problems with people squinting in my flash photos (namely, me!).

All in all, I think this is a very capable camera and well worth its purchase price.

2/15/2005 9:50:25 AM
 
Gualberto Becerra 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 5:30:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 5:30:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 5:30:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 5:30:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 5:30:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very nice digital camera, has a 12x digital zoom and a 48x combined zoom. A lot of features.
1/28/2005 5:30:37 PM
 

14 Reviews  

Buy Lumix DMC-FZ3 Digital Camera from Amazon.com