BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM Lens

Features:

  • Built-in dual-mode Image Stabilizer reduces camera shake up to two full shutter speeds compared to hand-held shooting with conventional lens
  • Fluorite and Ultra-low Dispersion elements suppress chromatic aberrations for outstanding sharpness, contrast and color fidelity
  • Uses Ultrasonic motor for high-speed autofocus with full-time manual override - Tripod collar, lens hood and case supplied as standard accessories
  • Drive System: Ring USM
  • Drive Speed: H/0.54 to L/1.67 sec. or shorter (lens drive speed from infinity to min. focusing distance)
  • Drive Noise: 40 dB or lower (Based on Canon's measuring standards.)
  • Manual Focusing: Enabled with focus mode switch and focusing ring (full-time mechanical manual focusing provided).
  • Focusing Range: 1.8m/5.9 ft. to infinity (at all focal lengths)
  • Type: 6-group linear zoom (zoom extension: 79.6mm) Front of lens barrel moves.
  • Type: Canon EF mount
  • Filter Size: 77mm, P = 0.75mm (Up to 1 filter attachable)
  • Includes Canon 1 year USA warranty


First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bob Sticco
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/20/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had this lens for a couple of months now and have used it extensively. I find even with the drab colors of the frigid Northeast, the lens is very clear and tack sharp. Having just had shoulder surgery I've only used the lens on a tripod or monopod, so I haven't really tested the IS in hand held shots. But the panning IS mode works great. I bought the lens for outdoor photography and taking bird shots in Florida and at home. So far, other than the weight with my recovering shoulder this lens is a 10, even on a scale of 5!!!
2/3/2009 5:25:33 AM
 
Bill Wyatt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had this lens for a year and I find it very clear. The IS works beautifully allowing for hand holding at 400mm. There are two reasons it does not get a 10 is it is F4.5-5.6 and not a fixed F2.8 also it is not water proof like the fine 70-200mm IS F2.8. But in all other tests it is a fantastic lens I would recommend it to a friend.
10/13/2008 3:57:25 AM
 
Bob Chance
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this lens for almost a year now and like some of the other reviews I've read, it is a tad on the soft side near it's maximum aperature.
I have captured some really superb wildlife shots with this lens on my 20D, but still can be a bear to handhold.
Like one of the other reviews, I don't like having to lug along a tripod unless I'm in the car and only walking a short distance. Even so, most of my bird pictures are taken in my yard, handheld.
The focus is fast and nearly silent. The IS works great so long as you don't shoot below it's means. Meaning don't try to shoot at too long of a shutter speed.
5/18/2006 12:39:00 PM
 
Peter Mantione
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Peter
Peter's Gallery

member since: 6/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned this lens for 6 months. It works great with my 20d. I also use a 2x extender on it with no problems.
3/13/2006 1:55:14 PM
 
Emanuel R.L Marcos
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A friend of mine has this lens and I used them for almost 2 weeks along with my canon 20d and even used it with 2x multiplier(canon one) (but dont recomend). but the lens itself are just gr8 ! but im still trying to win the loto to get the ef 300 F,2.8
2/1/2006 9:38:24 AM
 
John Pover
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had the lens for a few months now and although I'm very pleased with the results I do find that if I stray away from F8 the results can be a little soft (this might be me rather then the lens though). The IS works very well and the push-pull zoom makes fine tuning during shooting very easy and smooth. Very handy lens covering a good range so reducing the amount of kit you need to pack.
8/31/2005 2:59:57 AM
 
John Pover
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had the lens for a few months now and although I'm very pleased with the results I do find that if I stray away from F8 the results can be a little soft (this might be me rather then the lens though). The IS works very well and the push-pull zoom makes fine tuning during shooting very easy and smooth. Very handy lens covering a good range so reducing the amount of kit you need to pack.
8/31/2005 2:59:08 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I own this lens for 4 months now. I use it mostly for bird photography. results are really great. Very sharp pictures. Many times I don't even carry tripod to reduce the weight. (Yes I know it seems foolish but simply I can not carry that so many kgs!) And this lens's IS gives great results.
8/24/2005 10:13:34 PM
 
David R. Henson

member since: 3/6/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Had the lens for a year, use with 10d. Some really good results, but you do need to understand about the autofocus system on the 10d.
3/6/2005 9:33:46 AM
 
Alton I. Vance
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/21/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this lens for over a year now and I still love it. I have taken a lot of wildlife, especilly bird, shots with it.
I was told that it might not be sharp. But when it is focused accurately it produces outstanding photographs.
I might have given it a 4.5 with my Canon 10D but now that I have recently moved up to the Canon 1D Mark II, I rate this lens a 5. The reason? -->On my 10D this lens would not automatically focus with a 1.4X extender attached, but because the Mark II will focus at f/8 this lens now focuses automatically with a 1.4X extender attached and the pictures turn out tack sharp. With this lens length automatic focus is much more accurate than manual unless you are really lucky. In spite of what I have read, my experience with this lens is fantastic. But then I've never used a $10,000 600mm f/4 prime! By the way, my lens was a refurbished one and so I bought it for right at $800. With the conveter, that combination gives me almost the same focal length as the 600mm prime at 1/10th the cost. I also realize that's at the sacrifice of 2 f/stops. I do recommend this lens highly, especially in combination with the Canon 1D Mark II. But I'd expect it to be just as capable with the 20D if you don't plan to use an extender. I have successfully used this lens on my 10D with an 2X extender in maual focus mode but you have to be lucky to get very accurate focus. You might conclude, as I did, that this lens is just too soft with an extender. However I have now concluded that it wasn't the lens, it was the user. It is just too difficult to get an accurate focus on such a long lens combination without automatic fucus. At this review I have not used my 2X extender with my Mark II because that still dictates manual focus. I get such good results with the 1.4X extender in auto focus mode that I'm just afraid of the results I'll get if I have to go back to manual focus. But one of these days I'll try it anyway. The Mark II seems to have a better focusing screen than my 10D. Maybe that will help. Nevertheless this lens has proven to be an excellent lens for my use in action and wildlife photography.
3/1/2005 9:51:54 PM
 
Angela Kendall

member since: 9/13/2004
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
I have had this lense for 6 weeks. I love the quality of photos BUT--It worked great for 3 weeks, then it malfunctioned and needed to be sent in for repair, I was without the lense for 2.5 weeks, got it back and it worked great for 1 week, now it needs repaired again.
11/21/2004 2:47:53 AM
 

First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.