BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS Elan 7/7E (EOS 30) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Greers Ferry Lake...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Elan 7/7E (EOS 30) 35mm SLR Camera

Features:

  • Fixed new laser-matte screen with 7 focusing points
  • High-speed or silent rewind modes
  • 19.5-millimeter eye relief
  • Eye-controlled focus
  • Auto advance to the first frame

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 257 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery

member since: 11/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Canon EOS 7E is the best single lens reflex film camera I have ever used. I bought it after reading discussions and networking on BetterPhoto.com and took it to China with me in 2005.

The exposures were near perfect. I never had that much success with my film Nikons.

After my initial learning curve using the eye movement system, I found the camera very intuitive. But, I must say, it was difficult for me at first.

There is a digital SLR that is as good as this camera. For me, it is the Canon EOS 20D, but I image the 30D would be the same.

I love both my Canon Elan 7E and my Canon 20D and they are highly recommended. BTW, my film processor said my China slides were the best exposed of any they had ever seen. Thanks, Canon.

9/29/2007 5:04:15 PM
 
Marco A. Monteiro

member since: 12/27/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Mine is EOS 30v European model, I think it is the last of the 30 series, no big difference from older models.
This camera is fantastic, if you have one and you are thinking of getting a better one for some reason, like a digital maybe, please be sure that you know every feature of this camera before, because it takes really professional photos when it is in right hands, every feature must be carefully studied, the more you try the better are your pictures. Someone wrote "I really know what I am getting when I take pictures" that was right.
This camera is awsome in any condition, you just need to know what to do, very beautiful machine, fully featured, love to work with, best ever seen.
12/27/2006 12:42:35 PM
 
Damien J. Murtagh

member since: 6/18/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautiful Film Camera, if only then made their digital one this good.
6/18/2006 6:17:41 AM
 
Giorgio Budi Indrarto

member since: 6/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
a semi pro SLR that fit the hand of a pro
6/12/2006 5:20:15 AM
 
Susan Walker

member since: 10/20/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it! I'm just getting the hang of it now. I was originally hesitant to use it, because it was so much more advanced than my trusty old Pentax K-1000. I'm still learning a lot about it though.
5/23/2006 8:20:48 AM
 
Chris J. Darling

member since: 5/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It Works
5/17/2006 2:02:47 PM
 
Maureen Pinzon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Recently purchased the Canon Elan 7ne to use as my primary camera to replace my Elan iie. The newer one is still as good as the Elan iie. I will be shooting a wedding in October and appreciate the almost quiet film advance. I am still not into the digital faze and will continue to use both cameras.
5/16/2006 1:18:34 PM
 
Mike Murawski

member since: 5/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've only had the camera a couple of months now but so far so good. I like the different options it has, I just need to learn how to use it now!
5/8/2006 7:56:44 PM
 
Amanda D. Bates

member since: 4/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like it because that is what I used during school I know how to use the features and know what i am getting when i take pictures.
4/24/2006 8:55:37 PM
 
Paula Gardin

member since: 6/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good camera, easy to pack, this camera has taken some excellent photos, all of my early work was shot with this camera
4/16/2006 1:18:18 PM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery

member since: 11/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I used this camera 4 months before taking it to China and using it extensively for 3 weeks. It is awesome! My local processor said my slides were perfect exposures, every single one of them. I'm impressed with Canon Technology. I love this camera, and if it wasn't for the 44 rolls of film --35 of which was Provia--that were carefully placed in plastic sandwich bags and babied through security each step of the way going and returning; and putting most of my 600 slides on CD's at $1 per slide, I would still be using this camera. However, the cost became prohibitive with this one trip. Hence, I bought my first digital last summer --a 20D. Now I have two awesome cameras. I'll continue to use the Elan, as long as quality film is made, but not necessarily for travel. With both cameras, I had a steep learning curve coming from a manual film Nikon. Not only did I change manufacturers, but changed technology. I wanted a camera that could be used with automatic as well as manual focus, and yet set my down exposure, when necessary. And, I got this with the Elan, and well as the 20D. Both were fun and yet challenging to learn and it's taken my image creation to whole new heights. Both cameras, I recommend highly. Canon is innovative and awesome!
4/11/2006 6:06:57 PM
 

First 10 of 257 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EOS Elan 7/7E (EOS 30) 35mm SLR Camera  from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.