BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Landscape Photography


John Shaw     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : How To Photography Books

Lake
View photos created with this camera

The Landscape Photography

If you are interested at all in nature photography, you will enjoy and benefit from any of John Shaw's works. Shaw is a clear, concise writer as well as a great photographer.

John Shaw's Landscape Photography
is another excellent book from the master, Truly helpful for any aspiring nature photographer, the book is simply, clearly and effectively written. The captions along will prove invaluable and give many ideas on how to more effectively capture any scene that inspires you.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jayme Smolarz

member since: 4/8/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It was a gift. Not my first choice but seems to take good pictures. It is tricky to work and settings are hard to figure out.
4/8/2006 8:11:31 PM
 
Zahin Singh

member since: 4/5/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good all around non pro camera
4/5/2006 9:08:48 PM
 
Brittany Cobb

member since: 3/20/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Positives: It turns on very quickly. Its lens cap is retractable, so I never have to worry about losing it or forgetting to take it off. It is very tiny. Negatives: It only has a 3x zoom, which is not sufficient. Its pictures are not regularly clear, nor are they crisp unless held very still or it is very bright.
3/20/2006 11:32:53 AM
 
Kristen L. Smith

member since: 2/13/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera works surprisingly well, considering how small it is. Occasionally it is hard to get it to focus, but I'm also still learning how to use it.
2/13/2006 3:27:45 PM
 
Whitney Hwang

member since: 1/10/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
low memory (internal) hard to figure out at first. However, it is weatherproof.
1/10/2006 3:48:41 PM
 
Bill McFadden

member since: 12/30/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John Shaw is one of the most successful nature and landscape photographers because he has a complete grasp of how his shot will look even before he clicks the shutter. He tells the reader the equipment and techniques that we can use to capture a wide variety of images. When I finished reading this book and a couple of other of his books, I finally discovered how to correctly meter subjects. Mr Shaw also covers the advantages and disadvantages of zoom lens as compared to fixed focul length lens. This is a perfect book for anyone who wants to see and learn 35mm landscape photography.
1/6/2003 9:34:31 PM
 
Steve A. Schwarz

member since: 12/11/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I don't know what else could be better. Whenever I am planning a landscape shoot, I ALWAYS pick up this book and just scan through the technical chapters to refresh my memory on the do's and don'ts of landscape photography. Shaw is the most technically sound landscape photographer I have come across. Easy reading and mostly understandable. He and Galen Rowell are head and shoulders above the others in landscape photography in my opinion.
12/11/2002 1:36:22 PM
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Landscape Photography from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.