BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 1Ds Mark II Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

fishing-boats
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 1Ds Mark II  Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Compatible with Compactflash Type I and II cards and IBM
    Microdrives
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via Firewire port (IEEE 1394 )
  • Battery life has been improved by reducing power consumption;
    powered by NiMH battery pack
  • World's first digital SLR that can prove its images are
    unaltered, original files
  • Accepts Canon EF lenses; 3 fps for up to 10 consecutive
    frames

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 45 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Wende Trew
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is probably one of the best cameras on the market to date!! I LOVE it!! Easy to operate. Very fast!!! Love the high range of ISO. The best lens to use for it are the L series lens. Hight quality images everytime. It is almost like you can actually touch the person in the image!! A little pricey but well worth the money!! The only thing that I would change about this camera is the image viewer not very big for a camera of its size.
12/23/2006 5:42:53 PM
 
Pam S. Cooley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it. I tried the canon rebel XT and then bought this one and I'm sold on Nikon.
6/30/2006 10:43:01 PM
 
Pam S. Cooley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it. I tried the canon rebel XT and then bought this one and I'm sold on Nikon.
6/30/2006 10:42:51 PM
 
Oliver Anderson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I upgraded from the 10D which I thought was a great camera. The Mark II is amazing and I needed the extra megapixels to be able to create some larger prints.
5/14/2006 7:55:40 AM
 
Oliver Anderson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I upgraded from the 10D which I thought was a great camera. The Mark II is amazing and I needed the extra megapixels to be able to create some larger prints.
5/14/2006 7:52:59 AM
 
Kaloyan A. Karaivanov

member since: 5/12/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
-6. Not fully compatible with yours latest Flash 580EX ETTL-II. -5. Manual White Balance is not really, not corresponded of existing standards Mired or Kodak measuring meters (Gossen Pro-3F). -4. Small LCD panel on the body with very little information about correct exposition and measuring. -3. In the future no have Lens of Carl Zeiss! -2. Need same methods of cleaning the sensor automatically. -1. I need truly 16bits RGB in RAW and 100% compatibility with Adobe Photoshop CS2 (R) or higher RAW importer. I want Canon surprised me with new Faveon 3 CMOS sensor in PMI 2006 September. -------------------------------- 0. I want to post my GPS position in my EXIF/RAW files automatically. Is the future of DIGITAL CAMERAS?! -------------------------------- +1 Full frame 35mm CMOS sensor. +2 Best sensibility +3 Sharpness. +4 Perfect ISO 100, 200, 400, 800 +5 Best Lens 35mm (L)uxary series existing on the market. +6 Very professional body, magnesium cover, very hard for long use. +7 Battery - best impossible. +8 Accessories Every way one step top of others manufactures
5/12/2006 5:31:06 AM
 
Sam H. Upchurch

member since: 11/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fantastic Camera. Best feature is 16mp. Has two media cards that can be independently used and set or simultaneously used at different resolutions. Only dislike is the frame rate for such an expensive camera...5 fps instead of 8 fps as in the lower model.
5/9/2006 7:55:55 AM
 
Raymond Bilcliff
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Sony F828 is a great camera for my skill level [medium] I guess. The camera is solid and handles well with all of the controls within reach no lengthy menus to go through everything has an easy to reach button. It sounds like an SLR when photos are taken I would of liked a bit more zoom than the 7 times optical as I like to photograph birds. I do have the 2x zoom lens but it produces edge blurring which really is a plus with my Art in Nature type of photography.
5/4/2006 2:17:11 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Amazing camera all the way around! By far the best 35mm camera I have owned to date.
4/26/2006 11:52:28 AM
 
Tony Scheuhammer
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Tony
Tony's Gallery

member since: 4/14/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
currently, probably the best digital camera made
4/22/2006 11:36:17 AM
 
Charles E. Gaudet

member since: 3/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the 8.5 fpm. Wish there was a larger LCD screen. It appears fairly easy to use and understand. When I first got the camera I used P and got pretty good pictures.
4/17/2006 7:55:53 AM
 

First 10 of 45 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EOS 1Ds Mark II  Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.