Coolpix 700 (E700) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Lover of Books
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 700 (E700) Digital Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Schaki M.  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 10:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 10:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 10:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 10:53:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 10:53:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Pros:
* Big and useful viewfinder compared to many other compacts.
Well built, can handle 2gb compactflash card (though nobody ever will do that, simply cos there is no need as best jpeg is about 700-900kb)
A not very big but good TFT-screen, Status LCD is good aswell, but offer no backlight.
Fast and reliable AF and quick boot up.

Nice black N white outa cam, may need some sligh level-adjustment soetimes, to get the look right.


Cons:
Tif is nice but takes about 33secs to write, even with a fast card. Becomes also big= roughly 5-5,5MB

AWB is not good indoors (But on which compact is it?) but with white bal preset and a usual A4 paper, you can achieve pretty good result.

No aperture mode or focus-points.

Slight and weird vertical banding at Iso2 (Iso 400) can be seen sometimes.

10/23/2008 10:53:31 AM
 
Jamie  Krishnan 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 9:58:12 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 9:58:12 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 9:58:12 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 9:58:12 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 9:58:12 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Easy to carry around. Have to be very steady as picks up the slightest camera shake.
1/14/2006 9:58:12 AM
 
Zach Link 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:01:35 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:01:35 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:01:35 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:01:35 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:01:35 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera a few years ago and have had nothing but problems. I haven't used it that much and it never works. It's constantly freezing and not turning on.
1/28/2005 6:01:35 PM
 
Wendy Townrow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 2:22:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 2:22:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 2:22:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 2:22:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 2:22:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am happy with the camera. It was hard working out it's features at first. I am disappointed with the inability to attach filters at all.
8/15/2004 2:22:45 PM
 
Michael S. Germann 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:17:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:17:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:17:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:17:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:17:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Has lived up to what I expected from it I bought it knowing it had a small problem with highlites on objets but for me it is just what I wanted with the apporpiate lens I wanterd
6/21/2004 12:17:29 PM
 
Latief Askari
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/11/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:52:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:52:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:52:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:52:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:52:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for night shots.
5/2/2004 10:52:59 PM
 
Tyler S. Green 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 9:52:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 9:52:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 9:52:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 9:52:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2004 9:52:23 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for quick photos...Tough for candids
2/12/2004 9:52:23 AM
 
Kate Rosebrough 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 11:19:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 11:19:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 11:19:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 11:19:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 11:19:32 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's getting old already! Resolution isn't wonderful and it operates slowly. I like the small size of it and it takes decent pictures for 8x10 or smaller. I would love to upgrade!
1/5/2004 11:19:32 AM
 
Paul C. Simonson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 5:30:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 5:30:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 5:30:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 5:30:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 5:30:05 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great camera! Worth every penny!
7/30/2003 5:30:05 PM
 

9 Reviews