Photographer's Market (Annual)


Writer's Digest     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : Photo Marketing Tips

Reflection-Vietna...
View photos created with this camera

The Photographer's Market (Annual)

The tool used by professional freelances world wide, this annual reference is rich with resources and may even by inspirational, giving you a few ideas on ways to make art that makes money.

Here you will find all the names and numbers you need to hock your photos on the world wide market for periodical publishing, stock photography, greeting cards and more. This thick volume also includes a lot of helpful hints for putting your best foot forward.


30 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Richard Hardt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:06:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:06:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:06:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:06:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:06:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Loved the picture quality. I traded to the Canon Digital Regel XT because of smaller size and increase in pixels.
10/24/2005 10:06:28 AM
 
Celine M. Pollard 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 5:14:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 5:14:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 5:14:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 5:14:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 5:14:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Olympus E20N is an easy camera to operate but it has a lot of limitations. Buffering is frustratingly slow and the camera is extremely limited in lenses. It weighs a lot which means a tripod is a must to prevent camera shake. I'm ready to upgrade to a more versitile camera but in saying that I have taken some great shots with this camera.
8/13/2005 5:14:22 PM
 
Ted J. Hammack 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:16:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:16:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:16:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:16:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:16:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Second Olympus Digital SLR I have used. Only negative is slow transfer to flash memory. If you are shooting TIFF files, go slow.
7/17/2005 1:16:25 PM
 
Donald W. Nelson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:18:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:18:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:18:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:18:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:18:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Noisy but I love the glass for this price.
7/7/2005 10:18:18 AM
 
Lisa L. Overly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:54:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:54:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:54:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:54:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 5:54:54 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes nice pics but a little bit dark and with some digital noise.
4/21/2005 5:54:54 AM
 
Debra Thornton 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:42:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:42:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:42:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:42:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:42:37 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great as a first prosumer camera. Felt too slow too quick.
3/13/2005 12:42:37 AM
 
Pam Hamlin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:07:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:07:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:07:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:07:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:07:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Olympus E-20 was purchased as an entry into the digital photography world in 2004. Although the quality of the pictures is very good, I find no comparison to that of the 35mm. Some of my disappointment may be due to limited experience with the digital camera and I'll reserve final judgement until I've become more proficient with it's use.
2/23/2005 6:07:48 PM
 
Jodie L. Reynolds 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 7:57:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 7:57:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 7:57:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 7:57:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2005 7:57:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a fixed lens camera - this camera could be GREAT. Image quality is awesome for 5mpixel. And used, they've gotten quite reasonable. So what keeps it from being great? With denoise turned on, it shoots very few images into buffer with very long wait times for write-out. I shoot a Canon EOS 20D (that's a _great_ camera!) now, but I wouldn't hesitate to shoot with the E20 should I not have access to the 20D. --- Jodie
1/16/2005 7:57:05 PM
 
Mary Felber 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 11:50:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 11:50:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 11:50:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 11:50:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 11:50:44 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My Olympus Camedia E-20N takes excellent pictures, crisp and clear. But I wish I could have waited to purchase a camera until Olympus made one with changeable lens. It is heavier than some of the newer cameras. It takes longer than I would like between shots. The camera is moe than two years old. We always want the "new model, computer, etc."
1/12/2005 11:50:44 AM
 
Richard A. Buckhalter 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 7:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 7:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 7:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 7:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 7:26:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Hello, I have the Olympus E-20N Digital camera. I have checked out some other digital SLRís and I really like how quickly I can adjust the settings. On some of the other digital cameraís I looked at, you had to go through menus to select the shutter speed, aperture, and other features that I use frequently! The two things that I donít like about my camera is that most of the accessories are very expensive and the other is that you canít find the accessories at very many camera storeís! I love my camera but the one thing that I wish someone would have told me is that the E-1 was coming out in a couple of months! Oh well though it figures!!!
10/31/2004 7:26:52 PM
 
Tim Mc 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:59:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:59:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:59:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:59:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:59:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for about a year and love it!. This camera takes Amazing pictures. The only drawbackis it is very hard on batteries.
10/28/2004 8:59:12 PM
 
Ernest Vincent 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:57:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:57:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:57:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:57:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2004 8:57:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wish it was 16bit!
10/28/2004 8:57:14 AM
 
Anthony A. Horpel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/25/2004
Contact Anthony
Anthony's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2004 2:56:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2004 2:56:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2004 2:56:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2004 2:56:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2004 2:56:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a new camera for me so I don't know yet. If it is anything like the E-10 I will be very pleased.
10/10/2004 2:56:18 PM
 
Rita K. Waller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:53:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:53:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:53:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:53:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:53:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Have been very please with how user friendly it is and the wonderful color it produces.
9/13/2004 5:53:09 PM
 
Paul Garcia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:32:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:32:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:32:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:32:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:32:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have used this camera for about 1 year. Nice feel 5 megapixel camera. have taken some great shots with it. Not for action photographs. Too slow for that, can not change lens, can only shoot 3 shots in sequence then slow write to card. I have since upgraded to a Canon 10D, much better, faster write time, 9 frames continuous shooting and fast write to card. I still have my Olympus as a backup camera.
8/19/2004 9:32:42 AM
 
Judi E. Brenstein 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:25:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:25:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:25:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:25:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:25:58 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Limited by lens capability and slow to write but good overall.
7/9/2004 7:25:58 AM
 
Jason J. Epperson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 9:06:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 9:06:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 9:06:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 9:06:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 9:06:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A great camera.... Upsides: it's still shots are fabulous...even in dim lighting conditions. It's body is built like a rock and solid. Easy too use, even for a novice/amateur Downsides: doesn't do well with motion/movement in dim light. only about 4 images until the buffer is full and you have to wait for them to be write-to-disk would like a faster snap shot when button is pressed... not a removable lens...but it is an SLR which is nice. several extension lens are available for this model But this camera has truly made me enjoy photography and I constantly receive compliments for my prints.
4/30/2004 9:06:45 AM
 
Myra Vos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:34:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:34:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:34:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:34:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:34:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love everything about this camera. It has two small drawbacks which are the writing speed can sometimes be slow when taking high resolution photos and the lenses are not interchangeable. It feels very nice in the hands and has a lot of bells and whistles that let you access settings quickly with the touch of a button. It's very sturdy with the function and feel of a high-end SLR 35mm camera. We purchased this camera 2 years ago after a lot of research and still feel it was the best choice at the time.
4/27/2004 10:34:10 AM
 
Myra Vos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:31:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:31:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:31:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:31:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 10:31:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love everything about this camera. It has two small drawbacks which are the writing speed can sometimes be slow when taking high resolution photos and the lenses are not interchangeable. It feels very nice in the hands and has a lot of bells and whistles that let you access settings quickly with the touch of a button. It's very sturdy with the function and feel of a high-end SLR 35mm camera. We purchased this camera 2 years ago after a lot of research and still feel it was the best choice at the time.
4/27/2004 10:31:30 AM
 
Jeff G. Phillips 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 11:45:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 11:45:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 11:45:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 11:45:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 11:45:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Olympus E-20N is a very versatile Digital SLR. Absolutely an awesome setup. The add-on lenses are superb quality and the E-20N is very easy to learn. You just have to put it all together with your own creativity and knowledge of finding the picture and formatting everything the way you want it to be seen.
3/27/2004 11:45:30 AM
 
Tom Vaitonis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 6:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 6:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 6:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 6:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 6:31:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One solid built camera with great glass out front. Not fast shot to shot one at a time so a well timed burst mode is the way to go. Low light auto focus is sometimes touchy but I remember how to from my full manual days. A lot of camera and a lot of fun to use.
2/9/2004 6:31:50 PM
 
Patrick J. Carosone 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:06:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:06:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:06:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:06:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2004 7:06:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Basically I love it. Only problem is it is a little slow operating.
1/21/2004 7:06:36 AM
 
Christopher Moon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:53:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:53:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:53:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:53:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:53:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent gear, recomended, very good exposure control and image quality.
1/4/2004 11:53:17 AM
 
Vadim Antipov 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 11:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 11:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 11:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 11:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 11:59:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good
11/7/2003 11:59:56 PM
 
Stan Ambo 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:29:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has the weight and the feel of a high quality SLR but in a digital category. The only drawback to this camera is that it cannot except other lenses like SLR's
10/18/2003 7:29:35 PM
 
Danny Maple 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 4:40:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 4:40:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 4:40:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 4:40:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 4:40:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Good battery life. Fine picture quality. Write speed to card is very slow, can be a problem during weddings/events.
10/16/2003 4:40:15 PM
 
James R. Gould 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 8:02:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 8:02:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 8:02:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 8:02:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 8:02:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Too slow copying from buffer to flash memory.
10/3/2003 8:02:58 PM
 
Granville Ellsmore 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 10:52:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 10:52:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 10:52:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 10:52:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 10:52:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Having a lot of fun with it! I like the color and sharpness of the lens--great for portraits and landscapes.
9/27/2003 10:52:01 PM
 
Clay Joseph 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:06:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:06:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:06:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:06:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:06:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It not the fast camera in the land, but it will do the job. I love it, but only thing I would change on it is ASA to be higher.
9/26/2003 1:06:46 PM
 
Terry P. Chapman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 2:03:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 2:03:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 2:03:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 2:03:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 2:03:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is an excellant 5 megapixel SLR camera. I have two things I would like to have improved. First the camera is a little slow. Second I would like to be able to use other than Olympus OEM lenses.
9/17/2003 2:03:03 PM
 

30 Reviews  

Buy Photographer's Market (Annual) from Amazon.com