*ist DS Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 73 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Chris Popa 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 6:20:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 6:20:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 6:20:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 6:20:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2007 6:20:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is probially the best camera I have ever used! the only thing I dont like is the stock lense. The telephoto makes it alot better
6/23/2007 6:20:12 PM
 
Kirk Stergiou 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 5:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 5:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 5:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 5:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2007 5:58:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Pentax *istDS will go down in history as the most underrated Digital SLR. It has exceptional build quality, excellent ergonomics, very usable at high ISO and full compatibility with pretty much every lens that Pentax has produced over the last 40 years. In short love it!
3/1/2007 5:58:14 AM
 
Benita R. Cloward
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2007 11:21:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2007 11:21:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2007 11:21:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2007 11:21:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2007 11:21:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the analog zx-7 to the *istDS just a few months ago and am absolutely happy. It takes all my other lenses (I did invest in new ones too lol), and it takes wonderful pictures. I prefer the dials and positioning of all the buttons over Canon/Nikon's way, but I guess that's just becuase I'm so used to using Pentax?! I definitely recommend this camera.
1/5/2007 11:21:53 AM
 
Scott M. Resch 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 3:10:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 3:10:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 3:10:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 3:10:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2006 3:10:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i have had my ist d about 2 months have not a bad word to say about it . it really came to life when I added a 70mm-300mm lens I also have an 18mm-55mm great photos from both
9/17/2006 3:10:10 AM
 
Sam C. Ferruolo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:47:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:47:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:47:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:47:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:47:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this isnt one of the big names like nikon or canon, but it definitley pulls its weight. it takes great pictures, extremely easy to use even in manual mode. and is compatible with a vast range of pentax lenses all which are awesome
6/22/2006 7:47:09 PM
 
Anne E. Dobbins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 5:38:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 5:38:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 5:38:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 5:38:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 5:38:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, I learn more and more about it everyday.
6/14/2006 5:38:44 PM
 
Kate Drennan Photography
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:32:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:32:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:32:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:32:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:32:28 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A great little compact camera. Can be as basic as you wish for a begginer yet has a range of features for the more advanced. A flip out screen is handy for taking photos beyond your reach or self portraits. The only downfall is it can be a bit slow in recharging the flash between shots.
6/13/2006 2:32:28 AM
 
MICHAEL  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:01:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:01:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:01:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:01:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:01:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for 12 months and i am verry happy with its results expecialy being compatable with my exsisting film camera lenses. Now that i have updated the firmware it has a few extra features to bring it more inline with the pentax *ist-D.
6/9/2006 6:01:25 PM
 
Matthew Skretting 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:00:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:00:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:00:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:00:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:00:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the way it has great contrast and saturation
4/21/2006 9:00:44 AM
 
Amar Singh 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 3:57:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 3:57:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 3:57:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 3:57:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 3:57:29 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its cheap,compact, uses SD card. i like it.
4/9/2006 3:57:29 AM
 
Alex Chinnick
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 9:53:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 9:53:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 9:53:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 9:53:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 9:53:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great little camera, with the right lenses it is unbeatable.
4/8/2006 9:53:30 PM
 

First 10 of 73 Reviews  (see all user reviews)