Polaroid Transfers: A Complete Visual Guide to Creating Image and Emulsion Transfers


Kathleen T. Carr     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : How To Photography Books

daddy kisses
View photos created with this camera

The Polaroid Transfers: A Complete Visual Guide to Creating Image and Emulsion Transfers

If you're looking for a way to individualize your photographic images and you're willing to experiment, Polaroid Transfers is the book you've been waiting for.
Transfer your images easily onto a variety of surfaces, including artists' papers, fabrics, wood, metal, plastics, glass, and even tile.
A great instructional and visual treat, the book features:

* Illustrated step-by-step instructions for image and emulsion transfer techniques--beginning and advanced levels
* Concise technical data on supplies and equipment
* Innovative creative techniques for image manipulation, including handcoloring--with dynamic examples
* Gallery of outstanding transfer images produced by 20 top international transfer artists and photographers
* Resources section loaded with information on where to find equipment and supplies, workshops, tech support, publications, etc.

Polaroid's Test Magazine states "Whether you're an experienced hand or are just taking your first uncertain steps into this exciting new world of image and emulsion transfers, there's no better source for instruction and inspiration than Polaroid Transfers."

Chosen as the "1997 Best Technical Title, Runner Up" by photo-eye Books and Prints.


First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mark A. Frashuer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:40:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:40:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:40:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:40:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 11:40:36 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my E-10. I had no other camera before this one to compare it to others. I am still learning to use this piece of equipment.
5/23/2006 11:40:36 AM
 
Seth T. Gudmundson 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:21:17 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:21:17 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:21:17 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:21:17 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:21:17 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Decent lens, although the clarity cannot match a cannon. The CCD has hot pixels, so most of my night shots are ruined. There are only 3 iso settings and they dont go beyond 400. The lens is not removable, although it does allow a good range of zoom and good macro focusing. Shutter speed is limited to a max of 8 seconds or 30 in bulb mode, and is limited to a minimum of 1/640 sec, so fast sports shots are not the same crispness you get out of a faster shutter. Goes from f2.0 down to f11, but no smaller... It has RAW mode which is nice. It is slow to write files but does have a memory bank for 4 images at a time. Relatively slow sequence shooting. I have taken some amazing photos with this camera, but there's too many limitations with it. That's why I'm upgrading to a Canon 20D this summer.
5/22/2006 7:21:17 PM
 
Kelvin E. Hargrove
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 10:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 10:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 10:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 10:06:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 10:06:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Pro features. 4 meegapixel. My first serious still camera.
3/1/2006 10:06:35 PM
 
Trae Robson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 12:52:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 12:52:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 12:52:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 12:52:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 12:52:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera the 1st day it was available, I think it was 1999 or 2000 just before xmas. Its a dinosaur, but has served me well.
2/24/2006 12:52:41 PM
 
Katy A. Atkinson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 8:16:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 8:16:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 8:16:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 8:16:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 8:16:56 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was a great little camera that I used while in photography school.
2/7/2006 8:16:56 AM
 
Scott Dysinger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:09:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:09:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:09:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:09:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:09:36 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Olympus E-10 is a well built camera with a great feel but it doesn't focus well in low light situations.
1/14/2006 10:09:36 AM
 
Janet J. Houston 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:56:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:56:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy using this camera. It takes great pictures. It's very reliable. The only drawback I can find, is that it doesn't have interchangable lenses. You can, however, use lens extensions.
1/11/2006 11:56:27 AM
 
Duane Keeling
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:17:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:17:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:17:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:17:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:17:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great, easy to use, 4MP camera. Nice weight and balance. Excellent lens for most situations but it is not intchangeable.
12/28/2005 8:17:16 PM
 
Connie P. Moses 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:15:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:15:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:15:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:15:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:15:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use, fairly intuitive.
12/20/2005 10:15:31 AM
 
Harald Deis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:53:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:53:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:53:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:53:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 10:53:08 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not exactly bad but not good anymore. The E-10 came out in 2001 and was a top of the list real SLR digital camera. Today, compared to some of the Nikons or Canons, the E-10 produces rather bad results. Firts thing to hit the eye is a significant noise in the blue channel. Wide- and tele-positions produce distortred images, which have ro be corrected by the provided Camedia Master Software.
7/26/2005 10:53:08 AM
 
Joanne I. Netland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 4:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 4:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 4:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 4:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 4:37:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The first Polaroid book of Carr's that I bought was Polaroid Manipulations and I practically inhaled the whole thing it was so rich with how-tos and creative examples. I easily taught myself, from her book, how to do Polaroid transfers and manipulations with the right equipment. Then I bought this book, which she wrote first, and it too became an inspiration and has similar information. If you can read well-written how-tos you can do this stuff. And it becomes very addictive. The examples alone will turn you on to this highly artistic Polaroid artform. Have fun!
Joanne Netland
3/15/2004 4:37:11 PM
 

First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist