Cyber-shot DSC-V3 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-V3 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 7.2-megapixel resolution for photo-quality 15-by-20-inch prints
  • 4x optical zoom Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar lens
  • Easy composition with 2.5-inch LCD monitor, the Hologram AF
    illuminator, multi-pattern measuring, and live histogram display
  • Capable of recording images on to both Memory Stick PRO media
    and CompactFlash Type 1 media
  • Powered by rechargeable InfoLithium battery; supplied AC-LS5
    adapter/charger provides stable power for USB transfer

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


31 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Brandi J. Neithamer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 12:03:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 12:03:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 12:03:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 12:03:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 12:03:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE MY CAMERA!!!
6/24/2006 12:03:50 PM
 
Joshua Hazel 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 11:21:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 11:21:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 11:21:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 11:21:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 11:21:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the camera. It takes great photos with minimum effort. Great for a novice like myself.
6/13/2006 11:21:24 PM
 
Dhruba J. Sen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/26/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 10:02:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 10:02:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 10:02:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 10:02:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 10:02:35 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
with all user level controlls this is a good learning digital camera for enthusiasts but smaller CCD and small lenses have their own limitations. Overall a good camera.
5/27/2006 10:02:35 AM
 
Laura A. Torres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:43:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:43:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:43:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:43:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:43:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, it takes great pics.
4/20/2006 11:43:36 PM
 
Laura A. Torres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:39:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:39:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:39:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:39:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 11:39:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, it takes great pics.
4/20/2006 11:39:03 PM
 
Gionnek Gionnekson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 12:58:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 12:58:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 12:58:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 12:58:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 12:58:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think is a fair camera considering the price-picture quality situation. My personal favourite ability choosing a camera is the picture quality, which in Sony V-3, i cannot say that iam completely satisfied. Also i believe that to obtain a desirable result, is a must that an SLR type lens may used. V-3 has not a very big and lightey lens, but has one of the best lenses ive met so far, in a compact digital camera.
4/6/2006 12:58:04 PM
 
Alissa N. Sanderson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 3:25:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 3:25:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 3:25:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 3:25:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 3:25:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have only had this camera for a few months, but I love it. It's user friendly for those of us that aren't pros, and it takes really nice photos.
3/18/2006 3:25:15 PM
 
Fernando  S. Gaytan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:49:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:49:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:49:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:49:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:49:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i like this cam because of de lazer focus function, you can shoot at zero light and it gives you a perfect image with the very good flash. Its very fast when shooting and the focus also is very fast for the cameras of its type.
1/27/2006 2:49:44 PM
 
Mario Perez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 2:52:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 2:52:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 2:52:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 2:52:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 2:52:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good picture quality, it is a camera for serius amateurs.
1/10/2006 2:52:03 PM
 
Mary  E. McCabe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:27:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:27:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:27:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:27:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:27:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera - a gift, have had it almost a year now and really like it. Am ready to upgrade, probably to the Canon 5D when I get the bucks together. Did not find the Sony customer service people on line to be particularly knowledgeable.
12/6/2005 10:27:15 AM
 
Martin Stafford
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/10/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 1:32:19 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 1:32:19 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 1:32:19 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 1:32:19 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 1:32:19 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Like the facilities in general - it's easy to use and can produce some good results - handy for hoildays when fully loaded with the dual memory cards BUT quickly wanted to upgrade to be able to take landscape so bought Canon EOS 350D
9/12/2005 1:32:19 PM
 
DONNA M. HUFFER-ARONOW 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 6:46:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 6:46:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 6:46:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 6:46:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 6:46:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the camera, alot of bang for my buck. Only wish I was able to add different lenses, like an SLR.
8/22/2005 6:46:26 PM
 
Shawna Pennington 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 4:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 4:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 4:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 4:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 4:42:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. In 4 months, I have taken over 3000 pictures. From the ease of the snap & shoot, to the more advanced features, I am still learning,it is perfect for the intermediate photographer.
7/30/2005 4:42:33 PM
 
Tom Schaefer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 11:30:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 11:30:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 11:30:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 11:30:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 11:30:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome camera loaded with features.
7/19/2005 11:30:45 AM
 
Jackie G. Almeida 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 4:04:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 4:04:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 4:04:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 4:04:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 4:04:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As much as I liked my V1 I find the V3 easier to get into the settings, the battery life is longer and it has black and white setting which V1 does not have. The only dissapointment is that the lens that I bought for the V1 do not fit. This is my fifth Sony and they all took very good pictures even the one mpg.
6/26/2005 4:04:45 PM
 
Kristy Boyette 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:36:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:36:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:36:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:36:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:36:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for me to learn with - great pic's.
6/19/2005 8:36:34 PM
 
Kristy Boyette 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:35:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:35:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:35:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:35:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 8:35:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just learning but this is a great one to learn on - love the pic's it takes.
6/19/2005 8:35:24 PM
 
Victor A. Vesuna 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:16:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best digital camera that I've ever owned , it functions like a DSLR with few limitations
5/31/2005 8:16:15 PM
 
Victor A. Vesuna 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:05:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:05:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:05:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:05:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 8:05:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best cameras that I ever owned, it will take a long time before I will replace it, it works just like a DSLR with very few limitations
5/31/2005 8:05:33 PM
 
Laura Clay-Ballard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 12:21:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 12:21:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 12:21:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 12:21:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 12:21:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only had this camera for 3 days. So far so good! The manual is easy to follow and the camera is easy to use. I shot my first 100 photos with it .. just testing out this and that.. and am amazed at the clarity of the image. Sharp. Precise. The size is small, but I'm use to film 35mm's so it is just a matter of getting use to it.
5/31/2005 12:21:14 PM
 
Shashwat Nagpal 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 4:50:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 4:50:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 4:50:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 4:50:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 4:50:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For a semi-pro range I think this is the best camera for a amature like me.. :)
4/27/2005 4:50:22 AM
 
Shashwat Nagpal 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:29:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:29:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:29:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:29:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:29:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After a lot of research I recently bought this camera and more than happy with the output clarity this camera offers... I found this camera to be among the best for its usablity and features... price is also reasable as compared the compitition who are still offering similar features with 4 MP & 5 MP and with similar pricing...
4/26/2005 3:29:06 AM
 
Shashwat Nagpal 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:27:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:27:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:27:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:27:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 3:27:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After a lot of research I recently bought this camera and more than happy with the output clarity this camera offers... I found this camera to be among the best for its usablity and features... price is also reasable as compared the compitition who are still offering similar features with 4 MP & 5 MP and with similar pricing...
4/26/2005 3:27:16 AM
 
OldShoe Photo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:14:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:14:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:14:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:14:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:14:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is the best camera goes to 5mp
4/24/2005 6:14:55 PM
 
Kimberlee  D. Revis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:19:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:19:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:19:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:19:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:19:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera. It is an upgrade from a Canon A-40. For the sony, I find the users manual hard to use and I'm not overly stupid. To be fair, I don't know much about the camera but am taking my first class ever. The sony takes amazing photos in pitch black and in natural light the photos rival pictures taken on husband's Canon 20D.
4/6/2005 10:19:10 PM
 
Carol M. Rose 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 10:52:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 10:52:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 10:52:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 10:52:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 10:52:01 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's easy enough for me to take pictures I can show off to my friends.
3/20/2005 10:52:01 PM
 
Maria A. Fernandez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:54:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:54:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:54:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:54:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:54:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought this camera recently and took with me on vacation. So far I love it, I also own Sony's previously released DSC-V1 which I also love. DSC-V3 has more of a SLR feel to it but still small enough to carry around with you everywhere. I'm still shooting on Auto settings to see what the camera can do.
1/30/2005 6:54:17 AM
 
Erin C. Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 10:39:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 10:39:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 10:39:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 10:39:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 10:39:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE this camera!
1/23/2005 10:39:47 PM
 
The  Italian  Eye
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/13/2004
Contact The
The 's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 12:39:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 12:39:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 12:39:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 12:39:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 12:39:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's an amazing camera that takes surprising very good photos, the hologram system make it focus on a very low lit subject; the only backdraw is the delay between shots in Raw mode (only)....9 seconds on a fast card. other then that it shines!
1/19/2005 12:39:59 AM
 
Emma Wagstaff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:33:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great
1/4/2005 5:33:37 AM
 
Emma Wagstaff 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:27:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:27:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:27:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:27:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 5:27:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great clarity on photographs, easy to use, small and compact.
1/4/2005 5:27:19 AM
 

31 Reviews  

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-V3 Digital Camera  from Amazon.com