BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Tlb 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

moments with momm...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dennis J. Lenard

member since: 12/26/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera over 20 years ago as a used model, still have it. Agree with other posters, it is rugged as a tank (except when you drop it in a lake as I once did). Very good camera not just for learning about photography, but I find it fast and dependable. By the way, you can find the manual at:
http://butkus.org/chinon/canon/canon_tlb/canon_tlb.htm
12/26/2007 1:11:53 PM
 
Bob Dobolina

member since: 6/11/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A recent gift.not even sure if it works. I'm going to get out there and take a test roll and let you all know how it goes. Any one have the orig. manual for this camera. Desperatly want to know all the details.
6/11/2005 9:29:16 AM
 
Robert Adams

member since: 1/17/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I received the Canon Tlb in 1972 as a Christmas present. I've run more than 1000 rolls of film through it. For a time I worked as a professinal camera repair technician and know this camera at the nuts and bolts level.

It is ruggedly built. You could use itto drive nails. The mechanism is simple which leads to its robustness. I've compared the resolution of the optics and found it to be equal to top of the line equipment of its time. The shutter speeds are even and accurate with no bounce.

This is a no frills camera. It has a simple spot meter, shutter and apeture selection. That's it.

If you want to learn the basics of photography, it is a great camera to work with. It's what I learned on, and now my son is using it in a film photography class at the local community college.

1/17/2005 4:02:45 PM
 
Robert Adams

member since: 1/17/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I received the Canon Tlb in 1972 as a Christmas present. I've run more than 1000 rolls of film through it. For a time I worked as a professinal camera repair technician and know this camera at the nuts and bolts level.

It is ruggedly built. You could use itto drive nails. The mechanism is simple which leads to its robustness. I've compared the resolution of the optics and found it to be equal to top of the line equipment of its time. The shutter speeds are even and accurate with no bounce.

This is a no frills camera. It has a simple spot meter, shutter and apeture selection. That's it.

If you want to learn the basics of photography, it is a great camera to work with. It's what I learned on, and now my son is using it in a film photography class at the local community college.

1/17/2005 3:58:55 PM
 
Greg A. Moon

member since: 12/6/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I would rate the quality of the lens as the same as my canon ae1's. Its just an older version of the fd lens. Its all mechanical, just a battery for the meter. But shutter speeds only go up to 500th of a second. I may keep it as a backup.
12/7/2004 8:15:23 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.