PowerShot SD300 (Ixus 40) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Crossroads
F 2.7
...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD300 (Ixus 40) Digital Camera

Features:


  • The ultra-sleek, ultra-slim Canon PowerShot SD300 delivers 4.0
    megapixels of resolution--enough to make photo-quality 11-by-15-inch
    enlargements
  • New large 2.0-inch LCD screen for easy image preview and
    playback
  • First in the PowerShot line to use a DIGIC II Image Processor
    for even faster processing speed, excellent image quality, and crisp vibrant
    colors
  • New Scene Modes including Digital Macro Mode to widen shooting
    capabilities
  • Print/Share button for effortless one-touch direct printing and
    downloads

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


36 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Abelardo F. Guiterez XV 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 8:02:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 8:02:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 8:02:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 8:02:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 8:02:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is AWESOME I love it n there is nothin else like it!!! :D
9/11/2008 8:02:49 AM
 
Richard FA Warmer 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:58 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Really good for quick shots
9/11/2008 7:07:58 AM
 
Jean N. Macgregor 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:16:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:16:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:16:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:16:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:16:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the size of my camera. It can take video clips too. There's different special effects too. I don't really know much about cameras...this is my first one. I wish it would zoom more though.
4/8/2006 4:16:58 PM
 
Jean N. Macgregor 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:14:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:14:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:14:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:14:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 4:14:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the size of it. I don't really know much about cameras, this is the first one I've ever had. I wish it would zoom in more though.
4/8/2006 4:14:37 PM
 
Lucas R. Durrer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:55:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:55:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:55:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:55:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 8:55:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Small, Fast, Beautiful Color. I've owned kodak's and minolta's competitors. Canon is definatly my favourite so far.
4/4/2006 8:55:26 PM
 
JOSE L. CHAVEZ 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:05:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:05:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:05:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:05:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:05:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The feature I like most about the SD300 is its size (about the size of an Altoids box), I always have it with me when I travel and I can easily take it out of my pocket and snap a few photos quickly. it takes really good pictures as well. The only downside is since it is very small, the zoom is only 3x optical.
4/3/2006 10:05:00 PM
 
Carlos Victoria 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:35:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera for Point & Shoot. Very portable (light & small), excellent battery. I always keep it with me so I can capture any moment.
4/3/2006 11:35:14 AM
 
Ray W. Beaudry 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 4:49:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 4:49:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 4:49:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 4:49:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 4:49:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great little Camera
3/14/2006 4:49:01 PM
 
Fatima Mussa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 3:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 3:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 3:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 3:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 3:13:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Im not a pro with digital cameras and this one is my first. I find that its reall good especially now that ive read the manual, but im not sure that i can rate it fairly.
2/21/2006 3:13:01 PM
 
Brian Cecca 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 6:58:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 6:58:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 6:58:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 6:58:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 6:58:34 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Pocket size, no excuse not to take with you. Good for fun and family pictures on the Go
2/7/2006 6:58:34 PM
 
Agnete Maria Nielsen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 12:36:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 12:36:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 12:36:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 12:36:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 12:36:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use.
1/17/2006 12:36:12 PM
 
Lua Yang 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:41:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:41:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:41:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:41:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:41:51 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
All I want to say is that thank my teacher,Susan J.Allen.She Brings me in a wonderful world i've never ever been--Photography.Thank you more then I can say!my dear teacher.
12/29/2005 5:41:51 AM
 
Kessiah A. Ray 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 9:22:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 9:22:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 9:22:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 9:22:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 9:22:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this is a good camera. If you are not into indepth photograhpy, this might be for you. Point and shoot is all you have to do. The zoom isnt very detailed. I upgraded to the Canon EOS rebel XT SLR. this camera is good for the money tho.
12/26/2005 9:22:38 PM
 
Lua Yang 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:20:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:20:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:20:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:20:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:20:41 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
ok
12/21/2005 10:20:41 PM
 
Ivo Dujmovic 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 1:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 1:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 1:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 1:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 1:13:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Compact, small, easy to use, sharp pictures, good quality night pictures
11/29/2005 1:13:09 PM
 
Patricia J. Mesanko
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/22/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:27:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:27:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:27:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:27:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:27:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had two other digital cameras. I really like the pictures it takes. Plus, it is easy to use and its manual is easy to understand. Because os this, I find myself trying new features. also, it is easy to carry, very compact. People I know are amazed a camera that small, can take great pictures.
10/22/2005 8:27:48 AM
 
Justin T. Fitzgerald 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 1:18:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 1:18:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 1:18:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 1:18:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 1:18:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like all the features it has for the compact size of it. Everything is good, including great battery life except the delay in taking the picture after the button has been pushed.
10/8/2005 1:18:01 PM
 
Amber D. Ehart 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 8:45:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 8:45:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 8:45:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 8:45:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 8:45:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera. It is the nicest digital camera I have owned. It is great for beginners. It is very easy to use and the display is very clear. I do have a hard time in dark conditions, but that may just be the user.
10/4/2005 8:45:34 PM
 
Summer M. Floyd-Harvey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 12:59:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 12:59:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 12:59:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 12:59:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 12:59:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the images are great and really colorful. very fast, and small and easy to use.
9/30/2005 12:59:02 PM
 
Kasey  L. Kinney 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 7:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 7:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 7:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 7:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 7:56:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just got it for my birthday and its been good so far. The best camera I've worked with or so to say slick and small as it can be. Kasey
9/4/2005 7:56:48 PM
 
Marzena Krusinska 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 12:12:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 12:12:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 12:12:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 12:12:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 12:12:07 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It takes very clear shots
9/4/2005 12:12:07 PM
 
Laurence Godefroy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:02:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:02:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:02:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:02:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:02:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. I love the size and the quality of the pictures I get is amazing.
8/29/2005 7:02:33 PM
 
Susan J. Allen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2005
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 1:00:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 1:00:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 1:00:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 1:00:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 1:00:46 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first camera, six months old, so not a judge! Wish it had more powerful telephoto capacity as, being a foreigner in China, it is difficult for me to be unobtrusive. My mere presence often causes havoc and it's hard to get sneak portraits of people in the street. Camera shake is a problem as it's small. Still hard to get well-focused indoor shots--but it's probably me.
8/21/2005 1:00:46 PM
 
Joshua J. Kunze 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 11:28:33 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 11:28:33 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 11:28:33 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 11:28:33 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 11:28:33 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This camera is small and looks nice, but takes lousy pictures. The only redeeming quality about this camera is the fact that it takes amazing video clips. My much older Sony DSC F707 takes much better pictures.
8/3/2005 11:28:33 AM
 
Jessica E. Reimer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 6:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 6:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 6:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 6:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 6:30:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera!
6/28/2005 6:30:48 PM
 
Jose O. Gayoso 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 7:09:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 7:09:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 7:09:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 7:09:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 7:09:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for its price and size. Downloading's easy. Can't download .tiff, i don't think, just .jpg. About as good quality as 4mp can get.
6/26/2005 7:09:07 PM
 
Joshua A. Young 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 1:35:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 1:35:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 1:35:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 1:35:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 1:35:16 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Bought early april of 2005 to take pictures of my niece and other unique things.
6/24/2005 1:35:16 PM
 
Diana Lynn  Ihrig 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:41:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:41:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:41:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:41:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 9:41:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LIKE THE FACT THAT I CAN TAKE MINI VIDEO'S AND THERE IS NO PAUSE IN THE PLAY BACK> I LIKE THAT I CAN DO SO MANY DIFFERENT THINGS WITH IT AND PRINT THEM OUT WHEN I WANT AND DELETE THE ONES I DON'T WANT.
6/21/2005 9:41:41 AM
 
Jeffrey M. Johnson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 11:35:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 11:35:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 11:35:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 11:35:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 11:35:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great small camera. Only thing better would be the SD 500
5/16/2005 11:35:01 PM
 
Chris Macer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:18:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:18:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:18:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:18:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:18:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great point and shoot digital. Very small, but huge LCD. 4.0megapixles. Takes SD to help reduce physical size of the camera. Not as many manual modes as other PS series canons. The images are a little more grainy than some of the other Canons that I have used, ie Power Shot 70 @ 3.2 megapixel
5/16/2005 8:18:42 AM
 
Allie N. Grant 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:21:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. It is my first digital camera and it very reliable. The only issue I have is the poor zoom.
3/27/2005 2:21:40 PM
 
Ben Sept 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 7:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 7:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 7:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 7:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 7:40:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
small and compact, great pictures
3/23/2005 7:40:42 PM
 
Stephen R. Boyd 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 2:41:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 2:41:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 2:41:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 2:41:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 2:41:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like taking this camera with me everywhere. Most of my underwater photos are taken with this guy because I'm still not comfortable risking my DSLRs and Lenses in the salt water. I already lost one canon (S40)...sniff...
3/6/2005 2:41:26 AM
 
Shannon Tripp 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:16:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:16:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:16:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:16:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:16:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera!
1/31/2005 1:16:57 PM
 
Sergio Vazquez II 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 9:04:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 9:04:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 9:04:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 9:04:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 9:04:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Lightning Fast!
1/30/2005 9:04:26 AM
 
Joshua L. Brown 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:47:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:47:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:47:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:47:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:47:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cigarette pack sized camera with all the manual features of a full size point and shoot. 2.8 fps continuous shooting and every manual feature except manual focus. Exposure, flash, and focus locks.
12/30/2004 6:47:42 PM
 

36 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot SD300 (Ixus 40) Digital Camera  from Amazon.com