F6 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Dawn in Maine
View photos created with this camera

The F6 35mm SLR Camera

Features:


  • Type of Camera - Integral motor autofocus 35mm SLR (Single Lens
    Reflex) camera with electronically controlled focal-plane shutter.
  • Exposure Modes - Programmed Auto, Flexible Program, Shutter
    priority, Aperture Priority and Manual
  • Picture Format - 24mm x 36mm (standard 35mm film format)
  • Viewfinder - Fixed eyelevel pentaprism, built-in diopter
    adjustment (-2 to +1m-1)
  • Eyepoint - 18mm (at -10m-1)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


12 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
William Gardner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 3:22:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 3:22:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 3:22:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 3:22:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 3:22:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nikon user since the mid 80's. Went from an F4 to the F6. Never went to the F5 due to size and did not go digital due to the crop factor. Now that the D3 has been announced, that may change....

With all that said, I am very pleased with the performance of this model. I have been using this camera for nearly 2 years now. Tons of performance without the extra weight of the F5. Metering is great, auto focus is fast and accurate; the body is durable.

Absolutely love the feature that records all exposure data. I tie this (as a .CSV file) back to the metadata on the images. MUCH MUCH better than all the years worth of handwritten data sheets. My only minor beef has to do with the rewind crank. My thumb tends to hit the prism while rewinding, knocking the crank out of my hand. Yes, I manually rewind as it extends battery life in the field.

All in all, I would definitely buy this again. I carry a F100 as a backup and anytime I use it, I always wish I would have bought another F6 instead of keeping the F100.

10/2/2007 3:22:32 PM
 
Andreas Ioannides 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:15:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:15:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:15:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:15:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:15:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've only had this camera for 4 months now, but from day one, I knew it was the best camera i've ever worked with. The picture quality is great! With a good lens, this camera is capable of taking medium-format-quality pictures! YOU CANNOT TRICK THIS METERING SYSTEM. The auto-focus system is superb. Whatever it is, no matter how small or fast, it'll catch it. No if's or but's! It really has a beautiful feel, it oozes confidence, sinks into your hands in just the right way. It just feels indestructible. I could probably hammer a a nail into a concrete wall with this camera and nothing would happen to it. I raise my hands Nikon. Give yourselves a pat on the back. This is the best film camera ever, period.
12/12/2005 8:15:31 AM
 
Mohsen M. Al Dajani 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 10:08:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 10:08:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 10:08:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 10:08:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 10:08:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
just wonderful by all means. I can't describe my satisfaction with it. It is on top of the list when it comes to 35mm film camera.
11/10/2005 10:08:56 AM
 
Darryn Floyd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 3:16:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 3:16:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 3:16:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 3:16:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 3:16:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera. I dont have anything bad to say about it the shots are wonderful,I was shooting with the nikon d70 but i decided to go back to film after taking acourse and i had to use slide film instead of digital and after seeing the depth of my photo's with slide film i was overjoyed. so film is it for me. Now I will not rule out a d2x or higher mega pix camera but for right now my f6 is great
11/10/2005 3:16:14 AM
 
Sheri L. Wornath 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:40:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:40:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:40:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:40:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:40:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am still learning about it, so don't have anything negative to say at this point
10/6/2005 6:40:16 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:15:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:15:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:15:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:15:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:15:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned a F90X, F100, F5 and now I own a F6. The F6 is the best Nikon camera I have ever owned.
3/16/2005 2:15:54 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:13:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:13:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:13:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:13:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:13:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned a F90X, F100, F5 and now I own a F6. The F6 is the best Nikon camera I have ever owned.
3/16/2005 2:13:25 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:06:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:06:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:06:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:06:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:06:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned several Nikon Cameras. The F6 is by far the most Superior camera that Nikon has made.
3/16/2005 2:06:56 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:04:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:04:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:04:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:04:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:04:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned several Nikon Cameras. The F6 is by far the most Superior camera that Nikon has made.
3/16/2005 2:04:34 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:02:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:02:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:02:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:02:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:02:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned a Nikon F90x, F100, F5 and now a F6. The new Nikon F6 is by far the best film camera I have owned.
3/16/2005 2:02:37 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:00:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:00:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:00:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:00:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:00:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned a Nikon F90x, F100, F5 and now a F6. The new Nikon F6 is by far the best film camera I have owned.
3/16/2005 2:00:40 PM
 
Gary M. Lyons 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 1:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 1:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 1:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 1:58:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 1:58:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned a Nikon F90x, F100, F5 and now a F6. The new Nikon F6 is by far the best film camera I have owned.
3/16/2005 1:58:31 PM
 

12 Reviews  

Buy F6 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com