Online Photo Course - Understanding Digital Photography with Susan & Neil Silverman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Understanding Digital Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Susan and Neil Silverman
Understanding Digital Photography

Gain control and confidence in your digital photography - with both composition and exposure. This course is designed to help you appreciate the different functions, controls and options in the exciting digital dimension. We address good composition as well as the technical side and make the lessons fun and stimulating.

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 1 - Beginner
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Understanding Digital Photography


80 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marcy B. Reman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/1/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 10:51:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 10:51:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 10:51:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 10:51:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 10:51:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't believe how much I learned from this class. The lessons were well written and easy to understand. The assignments were designed to help understand the concepts. It was like all of a sudden a light bulb went on and I was making creative choices in my photography, not just hoping for that lucky shot. Thank you so much Neil and Susan, great course. I'm looking forward to taking your next course.
9/4/2012 10:51:32 PM
 
Marcy B. Reman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/1/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:08:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:08:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:08:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:08:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:08:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course has already helped me begin to control my choice of camera settings to intentially create photos. Just wanted to say thank you for your course. Although I still have lots to learn, I feel that each week my photos are getting a little stronger. I am so excited by this new hobby!
8/8/2012 9:08:38 AM
 
Jaimie C. Griffith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/26/2012
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 7:32:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 7:32:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 7:32:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 7:32:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 7:32:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Loved this course and the instructors. Very informative and learned so much! The only thing that really confused me was the website layout and getting used to uploading the pictures. I will be definitely taking more courses through BetterPhoto.
7/11/2012 7:32:20 AM
 
Jennifer Mercer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 4:05:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 4:05:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 4:05:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 4:05:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2012 4:05:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for a great course! I'm amazed at how much I've learned and how much more I can now do with my camera. ... all of the lessons and critiques were definitely educational and helpful. I now have a much better understanding of what I can do with my camera as opposed to what my camera can do!
5/10/2012 4:05:24 PM
 
Debra L. Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2012 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2012 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2012 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2012 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2012 12:45:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for all of the help you give in your critiques. I appreciate it so much. I also appreciate your words of encouragement. I love these lessons, and I am becoming more familiar with the different capabilities of my camera. ... This is such a fun and enjoyable course!
2/1/2012 12:45:20 PM
 
Shannon Whit
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2011
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2011 5:17:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2011 5:17:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2011 5:17:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2011 5:17:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2011 5:17:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Coming from learning in a traditional classroom setting, I was a bit apprehensive in signing up for an online class. But a photographer friend of mine recommended Better Photo to me. I must say I thoroughly enjoyed these eight weeks and really hate to see this class end. It is the first online class I've ever taken so the lack of face to face physical contact was a bit aggravating. Yes, I knew it was an online course. I'm just saying... I'm extremely visual and many times I wished I could actually "see" the concept being taught -- what button to press, how to hold the camera, what settings to make, etc. I caught on quickly, however. Whenever I had a question or further clearing up, my inquiries were answered. I was able to learn from the critiques given to me and to the others in the class. Based on the photos sent in, some individuals seem like they shouldn't have even be in the class. They seemed too experienced and I often felt like the "low kid" in the group. Overall, I enjoyed this class, would recommend it to someone I know is interested in photography and I would definitely take another class taught by the Silvermans. Thank you!!
10/26/2011 5:17:38 PM
 
Yvette  Mrs Copland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 5:43:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 5:43:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 5:43:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 5:43:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 5:43:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil are great instructors - their feedback is always honest and directed at helping you grow in your photographic skills. The course notes were easy to follow and then apply. I feel that I've grown immensely throughout the last 8 weeks, my attention to detail has been sharpened and my technical understanding has expended enormously. Thank you Susan and Neil for a wonderful 'first' BetterPhoto experience - I will definately be back to show you more of Australia!! xx
7/6/2011 5:43:45 PM
 
sue siluch 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 9:56:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 9:56:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 9:56:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 9:56:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 9:56:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found that Neil and Susan laid out a very clear and precise lesson plan with plenty of examples. I had no previous experience in photography and found that each lesson was easy to understand and "doable". I now feel comfortable having my camera on Manual mode....and I thought I'd never get there! I can say the more time you put into your lessons the more you will get out of them. Their critiques were helpful, thoughtful, and supportive. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them and this course. Thank you, Susan and Neil!
5/16/2011 9:56:34 AM
 
Prilla O 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2011 6:10:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil were terrific in every way. Their lessons were well written, their assignments were appropriately challenging and their critiquing was very helpful with both encouraging remarks and helpful suggestions for improvement. I just regret that I didn't have the time to dedicate to the last several lessons. But, I did learn a lot and have the bug to get better.
3/25/2011 6:10:11 PM
 
Sherylee R. Bassett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:54:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:54:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:54:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:54:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:54:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil, many thanks for your kind and generous comments throughout this course. I have gained much in confidence and can see that my photos have improved. The mistakes I am making now are more often because of experimentation rather than ignorance and I feel inspired to continue. I have appreciated your clearly written lectures and prompt responses. Also many thanks to everyone else in the class. I have learned much from our discussions and viewing the fabulous photos others have taken. I sincerely hope our paths cross again on Betterphoto.com!
3/8/2011 4:54:20 PM
 
Shawna L. Hampton-Riddle 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:52:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:52:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:52:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:52:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:52:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for the words of support. I really appreciate the positive way in which you both instruct students. I really enjoyed the class. Thanks!
3/8/2011 4:52:18 PM
 
Shevy Levy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2011 4:50:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks again for a powerful course. I feel today a bit more knowledgeable and, most important, quite hungry for more.
3/8/2011 4:50:16 PM
 
Sherylee R. Bassett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2011 7:46:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2011 7:46:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2011 7:46:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2011 7:46:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2011 7:46:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Silvermans are extremely supportive and helpful in their comments and always respond quickly to questions. Their critiques are prompt and detailed. They have a wealth of practical knowledge and experience which they readily share. I have gained enormously in confidence in using my camera as a result of this course. Go The Silvermans! :)
2/22/2011 7:46:51 PM
 
April S. Robinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2011 6:42:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2011 6:42:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2011 6:42:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2011 6:42:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2011 6:42:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was a great introduction to understanding the fundamentals of the important features of the digital camera. I now have a basic understanding of aperture, ISO, white balance, etc. upon which to build in future Better Photo classes. The Silverman's were very responsive and supportive in their critiques. Thank You!
2/17/2011 6:42:26 AM
 
Mirjam Langmann 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 2:20:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 2:20:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 2:20:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 2:20:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 2:20:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course. Very interesting lessons and assignments and I think all basic concepts of photography were covered. Critiques were helpful and the instructors definitely put some effort into helpful comments. However, I would say that comments were sometimes too general and could have a bit more ideas for improvements (especially for settings). Will definitely do more though! Thanks!
11/10/2010 2:20:45 PM
 
Shelly Rabb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 2:37:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 2:37:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 2:37:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 2:37:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 2:37:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course and feel like my photography skills have improved greatly. The instructors were very helpful and the lessons were easy to understand. I would highly recommend this course
9/8/2010 2:37:59 PM
 
Diana Ringquist
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2010
djrphotographygallery.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 11:05:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 11:05:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 11:05:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 11:05:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2010 11:05:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned A LOT in this class! I was worried that it would be difficult and complicated and I would be the worst student because I didn't know more than point-and-shoot. Starting out, I was totally intimidated.

Once I started the class - WOW! - it was fun, not complicated (the instructors broke it down wonderfully), and everyone was great and supportive of each other!

I highly recommend this class and these instructors! It has been life changing for me and my photography!!
9/8/2010 11:05:15 AM
 
Lenny de la Rosa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2010 7:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2010 7:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2010 7:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2010 7:29:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2010 7:29:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I highly recommend this course for anyone that wants to understand the basics in digital photography. I am so thrilled to know that it met by objectives.
I thought that I would never understand my SLR Manual....but finally I can read and understand/apply all the nomenclature to what I desire with a photo. Now I know how to adjust aperture, shutter speed, ISO, focus, white balance, flash, etc....even customize settings.
A+ to BetterPhoto and to instructors for this course...
Thank you very much...
Texas...
9/5/2010 7:29:46 PM
 
Jennifer Reynolds
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/22/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:28:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:28:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:28:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:28:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2010 1:28:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for all the awesome lessons! Money well spent for sure. I now shoot in Manual, confidently, all the time!
9/3/2010 1:28:10 PM
 
Lillian S. George 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:42:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:42:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:42:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:42:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:42:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil Silverman did an outstanding job with this class. I took it as a refresher course and it couldn't have been more helpful.
7/8/2010 1:42:27 AM
 
Jenny J. Sossamon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 9:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 9:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 9:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 9:43:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 9:43:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have gained a solid foundation of photography knowledge. I can see a difference in my how I think about what pictures to take and how to take them, which I believe will transfer into better pictures as I practice. I also enjoyed, gained insight from, and appreciated the Silverman's and fellow classmates critiques and suggestions.
5/17/2010 9:43:26 PM
 
Mary K. Stewart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 7:48:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 7:48:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 7:48:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 7:48:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 7:48:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned so much in this class about the technicalities of photography. I finished with a good understanding of how to use the artistic functions of my camera. I almost always shoot in manual now. The Silvermans have put together wonderful lessons, but getting out and doing the assignments is how I learned the most. I enjoyed and was encouraged by the student interactions as well. I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn how to understand and use the different functions of the camera.
5/12/2010 7:48:52 PM
 
Cheryl Winn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 4:25:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 4:25:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 4:25:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 4:25:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 4:25:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learnt so much more than I could ever have expected in the last 8 weeks. This class was challenging in the best posible way & I thouroughly enjoyed every moment.

Susan & Neils' critiques where encouraging & insightful & the assignments where the right balance of theory to match the practical application. I enjoyed & gained much from all of the students photos & critiques.

I look forward in participating in Susan & Neils' "Beyond the Basics" course soon.

5/12/2010 4:25:58 PM
 
Sandra E. Choy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 10:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 10:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 10:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 10:26:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 10:26:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to say that I really enjoyed the course and I now know more about my camera and digital photography than I would have if I had not taken this course. It is amazing how much you can learn in just 8 short weeks! It has been fun. Thank you for your feedback and very helpful comments!
3/2/2010 10:26:11 AM
 
Patricia Brignoli 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 9:44:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 9:44:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 9:44:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 9:44:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2009 9:44:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this class and I've learnt a lot of tools. Just need to prctice now.
Thank you for those 8 weeks, it was great!!
12/10/2009 9:44:21 AM
 
Theresa M. Hood 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2009 4:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2009 4:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2009 4:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2009 4:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2009 4:15:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned so much from this class. Susan and Neil challenge you to do your best and their critiques are informative, guiding and encouraging. They certainly helped to see the world through my viewfinder in a way that I had not done before. I would highly recommend this course for any new digital photographer.

Theresa Hood

12/9/2009 4:15:18 PM
 
Petra Hejzakova
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/24/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:47:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:47:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:47:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:47:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:47:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for all your critiques, they were very very helpful and I've learned A LOT from this course - my photos at this last lesson would hardly look that well without the previous classes and your critiques. At first, I felt a bit akward when I started taking pictures of strangers on the street, but at the end of the day I was really enjoying it and it wasn't that hard as I thought it would be.
This whole course was a great experience for me - it was actually my first photography course ever, and I'm definitely going to continue - we've just signed up for another course.
9/30/2009 1:47:56 PM
 
Carol Cromwell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2009 12:55:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2009 12:55:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2009 12:55:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2009 12:55:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2009 12:55:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this cousrse. The assignments were challenging but fun. The instructors were supportive and critical in helping me develop as a photographer. For anyone who is curious about beginning a journey into the world of photography, this course is an excellent introduction.
9/19/2009 12:55:21 PM
 
Ed Lee 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 8:49:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 8:49:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 8:49:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 8:49:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 8:49:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Really enjoyed this class. Get ready to be challenged. The instructors definetely have a keen eye in critiquing your photos and I value their opinions and ideas of how to create the perfect shot. This class has definetely given me and solidified my understand of the "manual" settings which I would have shunned/reluctantly used if not participated in this course. The enrollment of this class was originally just a simple small gift from my wife to me, turned out to be catalyst for something bigger. In it I have a new found appreciation for photography and couldn't be done without the help of Susan and Neil! Thank you so much!
9/1/2009 8:49:21 AM
 
Katie Bogdanski 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 6:53:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 6:53:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 6:53:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 6:53:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 6:53:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you are looking for a course to either brush up on all the basics and get off the auto mode of the camera this is the course for you. The instructors are wonderful and the lessons are well laid out and easy to understand. I really enjoyed this course and can't wait to take another one the one problem is figuring out which one to take next!
8/30/2009 6:53:59 PM
 
Heather Johnson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/15/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 8:20:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 8:20:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 8:20:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 8:20:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 8:20:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was so fun, and I learned a lot. Susan and Neil are wonderful instructors, and I hope I end up in another of their classes in the future. Absolutely, a wonderful learning experience. I would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about digital photography.
3/11/2009 8:20:16 AM
 
Debra N. Miller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/22/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 5:22:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 5:22:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 5:22:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 5:22:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 5:22:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I completely enjoyed this class and learned so much. I have a better understanding of what to look for and feel like I am more confident when taking a photo.
3/9/2009 5:22:00 AM
 
Cynthia Marra 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 2:04:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 2:04:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 2:04:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 2:04:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2008 2:04:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was terrific! I learned a lot, and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Cindy Marra
12/9/2008 2:04:55 PM
 
Charlotte R. Bellamy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2008 11:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2008 11:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2008 11:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2008 11:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2008 11:03:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A fantastic course to get me out of "auto" mode in my camera. Great lessons and weekly assignments that led me outside my comfort boundaries, resulting in a fast and positive learning curve. I am so much more confident now to play with my camera and forever find myself experimenting now with all my new found knowledge.
An excellent course - highly recommend.
11/7/2008 11:03:52 AM
 
Brandi Demel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 1:45:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 1:45:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 1:45:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 1:45:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 1:45:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to tell you that I have learned so much in this course (Jump Start). I am almost 100% totally on manual now and I and others have noticed that my photography has really grown.
9/15/2008 1:45:07 PM
 
Janet G. Dueck 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:38:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to say thank-you for teaching the class. I really learnt a lot about my camera and photography. It was fun learning how to use these different functions on my camera (white balance, ISO, exposure compensation ect.). I appreciated your critiques on my photos. Thanks again!
9/15/2008 9:38:15 AM
 
Sandy S. Parker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:32:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:32:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:32:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:32:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2008 9:32:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your kindness and encouragement has made this course and its related learning experience a near life-altering event for me. After just two weeks, I already "look" at the world differently.
9/15/2008 9:32:42 AM
 
Sandy S. Parker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 12:46:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 12:46:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 12:46:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 12:46:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2008 12:46:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course and it was exactly what I needed as it starts with the basics without being "simple" rather the lessons provided clear explanations and examples. It was much better, in my opinion, than any of the digital photography books I've tried to wade through. The class gave me the motivation to learn about my camera and to become comfortable using it in so many different situations. Fantastic!
9/6/2008 12:46:16 PM
 
Tahnee Steyn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 5:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 5:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 5:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 5:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 5:48:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course!!! I learnt so many lessons that I will take with me throughout life. I have discovered so many new things trough the gelp of the Silvermans THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
I truly recommend this course for anyone who really wants to get to know their camera and who is passionate.
=]
9/5/2008 5:48:57 AM
 
Janet G. Dueck 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:06:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:06:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:06:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:06:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2008 1:06:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to say thank-you for teaching the class. I really learnt a lot about my camera and photography. It was fun learning how to use these different functions on my camera (white balance, ISO, exposure compensation ect.). I appreciated your critiques on my photos. Thank-you again, I hope you have a great fall.
9/4/2008 1:06:36 PM
 
Brandi Demel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 12:02:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 12:02:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 12:02:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 12:02:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 12:02:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learned so much in this course. I am almost 100% totally on manual now and I and others have noticed that my photography has really grown. Thank you for that.
7/21/2008 12:02:54 PM
 
Megan A. Fitzgerald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2008 4:37:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2008 4:37:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2008 4:37:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2008 4:37:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2008 4:37:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a very good course to get you jump started into Digital Photography. Looking into one element each week helped make what could be very overwhelming and daunting more digestible. Critiques are a big part of learning so if you are going to take this course I invite you to dive in and give as much feedback as you can to your classmates - everyone benefits! It was good to have such a great group in my class.
7/10/2008 4:37:09 AM
 
Brandi Demel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 3:51:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 3:51:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 3:51:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 3:51:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2008 3:51:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am very proud and excited about this image because I really feel that it demonstrates what I am learning in this course.
7/3/2008 3:51:41 PM
 
Kaylyn Crandall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/7/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 12:10:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 12:10:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 12:10:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 12:10:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 12:10:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course and learned alot! I would highly recommend this course and the Silverman's...it really made you get out there and shoot!
7/1/2008 12:10:15 PM
 
Jane L. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/18/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 9:20:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 9:20:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 9:20:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 9:20:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 9:20:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am extremely thankful for all the new technology. I enjoy the freedom of taking hundreds of photos and coming home and viewing them right away. I love taking online classes and actually feel for this type of learning it is better than a classroom situation. I get to view other students work for as long as I want without someone looking over my shoulder.
6/24/2008 9:20:20 AM
 
Sherri Herren
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 12:43:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 12:43:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 12:43:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 12:43:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 12:43:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enjoyed this class. The exercises were educational in addition they were fun and challenging. I learned more about my camera even though I had already taken the class on my camera which was added bonus. I am happy that I took the camera class first though. It would have made the exercises much more of a challenge if I had to look up stuff in a manual to figure out how to accomplish all of the challenges. I would definitely recommend a camera class before anything else. I found the critiques very helpful and I enjoyed looking at everyone elses work. I would recommend this course to all my friends with a love for photography.
3/13/2008 12:43:14 PM
 
Sharon K. Edwards 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 7:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 7:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 7:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 7:19:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2007 7:19:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this class very much and feel I have learned a lot. I really have enjoyed... reading all the critiques. Thank you so much for your critiques and quick answers to the class questions. This has been a very enjoyable 8 weeks for me.
12/27/2007 7:19:08 AM
 
Erin L. Gathright
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 8:58:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 8:58:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 8:58:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 8:58:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 8:58:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks so much Susan and Neil. I have enjoyed the class so much I hate to
see it come to an end. I find myself looking at everything in a different
light so to speak. This class has given me absolute confidence with my
camera. I feel like I can really drive my camera and enjoy all the buttons
instead of worrying about each buttons function. I have really enjoyed
seeing everyone's pictures
12/6/2007 8:58:49 AM
 
Vanessa  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 1:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 1:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 1:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 1:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2007 1:40:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you so much! I have to say I have learned so much from this class. I've started taking pictures that I never would have never been able to take before. It feels so good to see images that turn out well. I have a long way to go, but this class has been a great start.
11/27/2007 1:40:01 PM
 
Valeh Levy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2007 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2007 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2007 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2007 12:45:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2007 12:45:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you both for your great course. I really appreciate all you do and how you have encouraged all of us to communicate with you and with one another as well. One thing I must tell you both is that the way you explain concepts in the written text of the lessons is by far the most "readable" and enjoyable approach to the basics that I have ever read. The writing feels very personal and your encouraging words are heartfelt obviously from your own passion for finding so much of beauty and interest in the world. I have truly enjoyed reading the lessons over and over. It has never felt tedious or too technical which is a testament to your sensitivity towards your audience.


Three cheers for the Silvermans!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HIP HIP HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11/1/2007 12:45:20 PM
 
Annette Allan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/17/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 9:35:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 9:35:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 9:35:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 9:35:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 9:35:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fantastic class, especially if you are new to photography. I have learned something from each lesson. Neil and Susan are great teachers and are quick to respond if you have any questions. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in learning about the basics of photography and wanting to improving your photography skills.
9/6/2007 9:35:45 PM
 
Deb Koskovich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 8:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 8:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 8:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 8:52:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 8:52:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Using my new knowledge of ISO and my also-new love of night photography, thanks to this class!
9/4/2007 8:52:24 AM
 
Ellen Mitchell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2007 8:45:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2007 8:45:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2007 8:45:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2007 8:45:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2007 8:45:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's great to know I'm on the right track w/ the bounce flash. ... Thanks for the encouraging input.
Perhaps you both have been told this before but you both are certainly gifted teachers! I mean that sincerely b/c I have had those teachers that certainly know there subject matter but for whatever reason have trouble conveying that knowledge. It is refreshing to experience "natural" teachers. Its amazing to look back to the beginning of the course when I was hesitant to take my camera off automatic settings. I feel very appreciative to you both for doing such a good job in assisting me forward. ... I am looking into your next suggested class in April. Thank you, Ellen Mitchell
3/19/2007 8:45:40 AM
 
Pamela Koch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/21/2006
Contact Pamela
Pamela's Gallery
pamela-koch-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 2:16:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 2:16:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 2:16:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 2:16:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 2:16:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this course and feel that I have a better understanding of my camera and what to look for in a photograph. Thank you so much! ..... Thanks again for a great course.
3/6/2007 2:16:08 PM
 
Angela C. Wood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2006 12:25:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2006 12:25:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2006 12:25:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2006 12:25:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2006 12:25:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would strongly recommend this class to anyone who is getting the urge to move beyond the auto setting of their camera! After only 8 weeks of lessons, Susan and Neil have opened up a whole new world of photography to me. Where, before, I never would have touched that mode dial, I now have enough confidence to experiment and practice the new techniques I've learned.
Susan and Neil offer a great course. The lessons are easy to read and full of information. The assignments are well thought out and fun to complete. Their critiques, while offering advice for improvement, are also very positive and encouraging for new photographers.
I'm definitely hooked on photography now, and have signed up for two more courses with Betterphoto.com ( Another one with Neil and Susan!)
12/7/2006 12:25:11 AM
 
Joni M. Romero 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 11:59:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 11:59:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 11:59:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 11:59:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 11:59:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil, I didn't know what to expect from my first on-line course, but I am SO glad that I enrolled in your class. Photography is a great medium to study on line.

More than anything, I now have confidence that I am capable of learning how to operate my camera - it's just going to take some time for it all to become second nature.

I really liked the way you broke down each feature or operation on my camera into "do-able" lessons - not too difficult, but still challenging and stimulating. Your critiques were very helpful. I hope you remind your students to take the time to read all the critiques - not just the critiques of one's own photos - because there's a wealth of information in there.

Again, thanks so much! I'm sitting out this session, but plan on being back the following session. "See ya" soon!

Joni

9/15/2006 11:59:19 AM
 
Pattie Anthony 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 7:40:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 7:40:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 7:40:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 7:40:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2006 7:40:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to let you know that I am back from vacation (earlier then expected) and I have uploaded all my photos for the last lesson. Thanks for a great course, I learned a lot and appreciate all your feedback!
9/14/2006 7:40:39 AM
 
Denise M. Powers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 6:33:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 6:33:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 6:33:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 6:33:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 6:33:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought the course, instructors and fellow students were great. It really got me to know my camera and encourage me to take pictures. I did some summer trips I may not have taken if not for my "homework" and wanting to share some of New England. I currently am taking pictures for a calender for our locla golf course that I would never have thought of before. I am getting great shots thanks to this class!!
9/12/2006 6:33:08 PM
 
Karen Phillips 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 8:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 8:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 8:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 8:47:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2006 8:47:35 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This course was very informative; just what I needed to have the courage to leave the "auto" setting on my camera. I truly enjoyed working with the other students. It got to the point where I couldnít wait for people to upload their assignments and see their styles and interpretations. The Silvermanís were prompt but I must say I was hoping for more insightful and stimulating feedback. I was hoping to grow from their critics. That was my only disappointment with this course, otherwise I love it!
9/12/2006 8:47:35 AM
 
Pattie Anthony 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2006 7:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2006 7:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2006 7:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2006 7:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2006 7:23:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Neil and Susan:


Just wanted to let you know I am back from vacation early and have uploaded my lesson 8 photos. Thanks for a great 8 weeks, I learned a lot of valuable technical aspects...your information improved my camera understanding way beyond my expections and I can't thank you enough!

9/9/2006 7:23:37 PM
 
Paula G. Verdu
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 4:12:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 4:12:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 4:12:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 4:12:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2006 4:12:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
You inspired me to enroll in the Portraiture class, so I will see you both there! Yipee! Would love to keep in touch with everyone...Great group dynamics! Susan and Neil you both have been exceptional as instructors and I would not hesitate to take another class or recommend another class from you! (Hopefully in the near future, I will get brave enough to take one of your field classes...). Thanks to everyone for your input, encouragement and support! Cheers to you all!
9/5/2006 4:12:32 PM
 
Gina G. Esguerra 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 2:00:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 2:00:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 2:00:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 2:00:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 2:00:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Susan and Neil - Thanks so much for the encouragement and insightful critiques. I truly enjoyed this class and appreciate that you guys take the time to share what you know with others. Bless you!
8/30/2006 2:00:39 PM
 
Miriam Borg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/6/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 12:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 12:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 12:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 12:56:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 12:56:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course it was a great learning experience and the instructors were wonderful, really helpful and patient. I would not hesitate in recommending this course, in fact I already have!
6/9/2006 12:56:14 AM
 
Stephane Varoquier 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:14:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:14:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:14:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:14:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:14:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you very much for your kind words and encouragement. This course has been great and a motivated me even further to make many projects.
6/7/2006 8:14:26 AM
 
Stephen Kennedy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:05:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:05:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Susan and Neil,


Thanks again for your detailed comments, not only on this but on my other photos. (I've cropped and re-submitted this one, per your suggestion, and, yes, I think it has a much better impact). I really feel like I'm learning a lot here, and I've now convinced three of my colleagues at work to sign up for courses too! I've also enjoyed seeing your comments on other students' photos.

5/25/2006 10:05:40 AM
 
Stephane Varoquier 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:14:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:14:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:14:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:14:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:14:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for the valuable comments.
5/23/2006 8:14:08 AM
 
Shannon M. Hicks 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:48:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:48:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:48:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:48:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:48:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kudos to Susan and Neil
I just want to say that I truly appreciate Susan and Neil and their critiques and suggestions. I would encourage all of us to spend time looking at the other students pictures and critiques--it has taught me as much looking at other pictures as my own.

Just wanted to say a big THANK YOU!

5/22/2006 7:48:24 PM
 
Amy A. Durham
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 11:59:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 11:59:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 11:59:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 11:59:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 11:59:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learned so much is such a short time from this course. I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to take their interest in photography to the next level, and make their photographs more creative, impressive and fun. The assignments break down techniques into easy-to-manage steps, and allow for creativity while also giving very helpful and specific assignments.

Unfortunately, having a little one under age 1 did not allow me as much time as I had hoped to join in some of the discussions among students. But I will be continuing my journey to better photography with this site and hopefully more classes with Susan and Neil.

Thanks!

3/27/2006 11:59:49 AM
 
Sue Ross 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 9:27:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 9:27:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 9:27:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 9:27:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 9:27:13 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was a great start for a beginner. Susan and Neil were encouraging, inspirational and VERY patient with our limited skills. They have given me a good solid foundation for understanding the fundamentals of photography. Thank you for the opportunity for bringing us together!
3/8/2006 9:27:13 AM
 
Raul R. Goncalves
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:22:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:22:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:22:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:22:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:22:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just to say thanks for this wonderful course. I enjoyed to learn a lot, to have your weekly critiques and to be able to understand that I still have so much to learn... And I should also say thanks for your enthusiasm that stays with me for the next step on this hobby.
3/7/2006 1:22:50 PM
 
Guenther Koch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:08:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:08:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:08:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:08:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:08:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The weekly lessons are very well done and easy to understand. As I am a beginner I have learned alot and now I have some ideas what all the settings on my cam are for. Susan and Neil took their time to critique the weekly assignements, and gave some further inputs. Unfortunatelly there has not been lot of discussion among the students, so I give the course only a 3.5 note. I have expected more discussion. But I really can suggest every beginner to join in to this course.
3/7/2006 1:08:16 PM
 
Gala Vaisberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 5:00:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 5:00:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 5:00:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 5:00:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 5:00:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wouldn't even imagine before to take on-line class in photography. Only after I met Susan and Neil I decided to try and it was an eye opener! Very interesting, interactive and inspirational learning experience and quite convenient in terms of time flexibility too. Many thanks to the Silvermans.
12/13/2005 5:00:09 PM
 
Dee  Johnson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 1:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 1:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 1:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 1:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 1:13:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks to Susan and Neil for providing a fun, educational, and interesting class. While reluctant to take an on line course at first I found it to be very helpful in learning my new camera, its functions, and providing me with direction in my photography pursuits. Thanks again!
12/13/2005 1:13:19 PM
 
Thomas Mcshane 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 11:36:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 11:36:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 11:36:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 11:36:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 11:36:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course . I feel that I am not afraid of experimenting with the camera and I am always looking out for a good photo.
12/13/2005 11:36:54 AM
 
Kathleen R. Struckle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2003
Contact Kathleen
Kathleen's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 5:55:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 5:55:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 5:55:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 5:55:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 5:55:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for the wonderful class.Susan and Neil are wonderful instructors and always available to help.
This is my third class with them and they have taught me so much.
12/12/2005 5:55:58 PM
 
Donna C. Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 4:44:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 4:44:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 4:44:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 4:44:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 4:44:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I feel so confident when using my Canon 20D now. I think this course was amazing and am so glad that I decided to just go for it and take the course. I appreciated the feedback from the kind students, the patience of the instructors and the community that formed.
12/12/2005 4:44:08 PM
 
Rosemary Sampson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2004
Contact Rosemary
Rosemary's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 11:43:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 11:43:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 11:43:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 11:43:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 11:43:44 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the class and learned a great deal about my camera and how to take a better photo. Previously I was reluctant to take an online class as I am a visual learner. However the instruction was well written and given the time I was able to work through them and take better photos as a result. Thanks for all your help
12/12/2005 11:43:44 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The lessons are excellent quality and the exercises really help you see what your camera can and can't do. A heavy workload in the run up to Christmas meant I couldn't finish all the assignments, but the lessons will enable me to do this at my own pace in the New Year. The Silverman's are very helpful and respond quickly to all questions you may have. It's also useful to see how other's in the class approach the exercises.
12/12/2005 9:09:02 AM
 
Mary Iacofano
MARYIACOFANO.COM
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:31:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:31:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:31:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:31:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 8:31:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great learning, fun experiance. Far surpassed all of my expectations for this course. The Silvermans are great instructors, always willing to help by answering any questions.
Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge and skill.
Mary Iacofano
12/12/2005 8:31:59 AM
 
Sue Martin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:00:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:00:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:00:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:00:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 10:00:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for a great course! I feel that I have learned a lot more about digital photography and photography in general. Thanks for making it easy and fun to learn.
12/8/2005 10:00:08 AM
 

80 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist