BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 4200 Digital Camera


Nikon

Cabin in the Cove
View photos created with this camera

Major features include:

  • 4-megapixel
  • 3x optical zoom with ED element (38-114mm in 35mm equivalent)
  • 5-point autofocus with low-light AF-assist illuminator
  • Program AE ... and 15 pre-programmed Scene, Portrait, Landscape, Sports, and Single, Continuous, 5-Burst Buffer, Multi-Shot 16, and QuickTime Movie modes
  • Macro focus (as close as 1.6 inches)
  • Night Portrait exposure modes
  • Automatic shutter speeds from 1/2000 sec. to 4 seconds
  • Built-in flash with auto, fill, slow sync, and red-eye reduction
  • 256-segment Matrix metering with center-weighted and spot options
  • TTL Auto White Balance, 5 presets and custom set
  • 12MB internal memory and SD memory card slot

    © Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com


    First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Average Rating: 4 out of 5

    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Saoirse Cogan
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 3/10/2006
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    We have a Nikon Coolpix 4200 and it only took OK pictures until we found out how to use all the other settings it has! It's great at taking pictures of flowers and also of pets (see my gallery, everything I take is on this camera). Always Always Always use the flower setting when you are taking close ups of things! It works like a wonder. Also when you are on flower setting do NOT use zoom or it won't work! You have to get down and dirty with the lens right next to the object, and hold down the button to get it to autofocus and then it is very clear! I would definately reccomend this camera if you could find it. We got ours on sale for a very low price after our HP had a breakdown and it was still under warranty though it was out of making. So we got this camera..... but it wasn't even on this lists here! If you get it, be sure to contact BP to get it added on your list! I rate this camera 4.5/5. Not perfect but once you learn how to use it, it's very reliable! Also very compact.
    3/27/2007 8:15:46 PM
     
    Kelly E. Harcus
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 3/10/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I have had this camera for nearly two years. I have had it on hand for opportunities that would definitely have been missed with a bigger camera, and yet the print quality is comparable with a bigger machine. I was immediately disappointed with the zoom however, and I find I have to adjust the settings alot to get the picture I want. In many ways, it showed me that I was ready for a digital SLR, but I will still keep it in my bag for those spontaneous shots.
    4/5/2006 1:31:31 PM
     
    Raneil A. Ibay

    member since: 11/28/2005
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Cool! You can use this camera as back-up for your digital SLR. Shoot in situations where you can't use your bulky SLR like in the car. Drawbacks though would be camera shake and focusing.
    1/13/2006 1:06:48 AM
     
    Mary K. Strauss

    member since: 8/28/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is the best camera I have ever used. I like it also because it is so small it fits in my pocket so I take it everywhere I go. It has been 100 percent reliable for me. The battery life is the longest I've experienced with a digital. It is easy to use, and my results are so satisfying.
    9/9/2005 7:41:05 AM
     
    Vonda B. Magill
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 6/20/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I love this thing. It's small but makes great pictures. I keep it in my purse just in case I might someday make that MILLION dollar picture.
    7/27/2005 3:51:45 PM
     
    Martha J. Ellenberger

    member since: 4/2/2005
    2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    Great camera for a little thing. I take it when I do not want to carry a SLR
    7/19/2005 2:24:19 PM
     
    Santiago C. Fernández Aguilar

    member since: 4/12/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I got this camera as a trade in for a Coolpix 4300 that developed a misterious ailment (wouldn't power up). I immediatly noticed it's way more portable than the 4300 (being substancially lighter, smaller and quicker powering up), and it still manages to feel more solid than my previous camera.

    I still have a lot to learn, but I'm generally pleased with the picture quality, and I agree with Jennie G. in that you need to know how to use the picture modes and other submenus to get the picture just right.

    Also, video capture was above my expectations.

    4/15/2005 1:29:18 PM
     
    A.T. Kucukbezirci
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 3/28/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    for take flower pic very good, i enjoy my machine. very small very nice and quality submit...
    3/28/2005 5:06:10 AM
     
    Sanjay CR
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 2/12/2005
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    nice camera, very easy to use.
    2/13/2005 2:32:06 PM
     
    Jennie G. Day

    member since: 11/27/2004
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    It takes great pictures as long as you know how to use the features. I will say that flash/no flash, pictures taken inside still come out somewhat dark even with lights on. It works great outside, I recommend it for nature lovers.
    11/27/2004 10:00:00 PM
     
    Donna L. Palmlund
    BetterPhoto Member

    member since: 1/21/2003
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I haven't had it very long and am just learning. I'm having a lot of fun with it so far. I love that it is so compact!~
    11/9/2004 2:53:08 PM
     

    First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Add your own review

  • Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.