Coolpix 8800 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Color Of Wind
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 8800 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 8.0 Effective Megapixels for photo-quality prints beyond 20" x
    30"
  • 10x Ultra Telephoto Optical Zoom-Nikkor ED 35-350mm Lens (35mm
    equivalent) for wide-angle, telephoto, and macro shots
  • Vibration Reduction (VR) System helps you take sharper handheld
    shots in low light and other conditions
  • D-Lighting improves images shot with strong back lighting or in
    shadow
  • 15 Scene Modes automatically adjust controls for great pictures
    instantly

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 99 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
m. schwendener
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/29/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 4:29:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 4:29:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 4:29:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 4:29:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 4:29:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Production discontinued.

Manuela

8/10/2006 4:29:18 AM
 
Mary Kahl 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Camera for someone who like to take great pictures, easy to use.
7/6/2006 12:01:49 PM
 
Mary Kahl 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 12:01:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Camera for someone who like to take great pictures, easy to use.
7/6/2006 12:01:48 PM
 
Kimberly A. Given 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:27:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:27:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:27:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:27:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:27:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera. I just got it but I love it. It takes great pictures and I just expect to get better.
6/15/2006 8:27:31 PM
 
Ingo D. Neufeld 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:38:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:38:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A little slow when zooming and unzooming but other than that it has been great. It takes a fantastic picture and having the option of zooming out to a 350 mm equivalent at an 8 mp photo size in a package that small is brilliant. I love my Nikon 801S but my idea of the perfect digital camera is an all in one package that gives me all the options of my 801S. Thats exactly what this camera has given me.
6/13/2006 5:38:10 PM
 
Richard Evans 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:49:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:49:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:49:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:49:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:49:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The positives are legend, particularly the quality of the lens, the macro setting, & the swiveling monitor (essential for nature photography!). The deficiencies do not outweigh the positives, but the deficiencies are important: 1) The manual focus feature is useless. It jerks up the focal length ladder in a manner that defies proper focusing. 2) The low-light focusing assistance is useless beyond 4-5 ft. The lack of a manual focusing option makes this double trouble in low-light conditions. 3) The infinity focus setting (an over-ride feature) has never worked, period. Even for sunsets I have to focus on another distant object to assure proper focus (really!). Richard Evans
6/3/2006 4:49:36 AM
 
Sheryl D. Clark 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:55:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:55:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:55:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:55:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 6:55:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Does very well in almost in any situation.
5/25/2006 6:55:05 PM
 
Mary Ann Dawkins 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 4:26:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 4:26:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 4:26:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 4:26:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 4:26:53 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Takes great quality pictures with ease, the zoom and pixel power allow for cropping of photos that retain good clarity. Drawbacks are slow in loading when turning on and after shooting a photo, and not reliable for taking sports or action shots.
5/24/2006 4:26:53 PM
 
Mohammed Bahrawi 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 10:38:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 10:38:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 10:38:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 10:38:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 10:38:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i love this camera coz it's really looks like pro and it's work like pro
5/22/2006 10:38:38 PM
 
Jan Walker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 5:39:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 5:39:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 5:39:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 5:39:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 5:39:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've enjoyed my Nikon Coolpix 8800. When I first bought it, I was wavering between the 8800 and the D70. Wish I could have purchased them both!
4/22/2006 5:39:21 PM
 
Blair Freeman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:05:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:05:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:05:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:05:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:05:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 8800 is a good camera for most situations. It takes very good pictures and is relatively easy to carry around. The down side is that the camera is very slow to copy images to the CF card and the camera. It is also pretty much useless if you are looking for a camera to use at sporting events. However the camera performs admirably when used for nature and landscape type pictures.
4/12/2006 5:05:31 AM
 

First 10 of 99 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Coolpix 8800 Digital Camera from Amazon.com