Online 4-Week Short Course - Mastering Macro Photography with Brenda Tharp

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Mastering Macro Nature Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Brenda Tharp
4-Week Short Course: Mastering Macro Nature Photography

Spring, summer, winter, or fall, macro photography opens the door to a wonderful new world of photo opportunities. With instructor and author Brenda Tharp as your guide, this course will show you ways to use your existing camera gear to make spectacular macro photographs. The close-up world is a magical place full of pattern, color, and abstract imagery. Flowers become abstract works of art; rusty doors become textured canvasses; stones becomes polished gems; butterflies and other insects can become sci-fi monsters!

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Mastering Macro Nature Photography


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michelle D. Allen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 5:59:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 5:59:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 5:59:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 5:59:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2010 5:59:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Brenda Tharp's course was exceptional! Her comprehensive lessons, thorough responses to questions, and guiding critiques of student work helped me grow as a photographer more than I would have thought possible in four short weeks. What an experience! Definitely one you won't want to miss!
3/1/2010 5:59:10 AM
 
Jon M. Lamrouex
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/10/2005
Contact Jon
Jon's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2009 4:37:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2009 4:37:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2009 4:37:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2009 4:37:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2009 4:37:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Anyone interested in Macro photography will gain significant additional insight in creating superior macro photographs.

Brenda shares her knowledge without limitation and provides great lessons showing how macro photography can create amazing images.

A class worth taking!

8/11/2009 4:37:26 PM
 
Pam Bosch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2006
pamboschphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2009 9:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2009 9:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2009 9:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2009 9:00:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2009 9:00:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Brenda is a great instructor; good, clear and to the point critques that encourage growth. Although I've been in photography a long time, I felt that I learned a great deal in this class. It challenged me to see better! Thanks Brenda and my great classmates.
6/1/2009 9:00:31 PM
 
Janice M LeCocq
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2007
Contact Janice M
Janice M's Gallery
janice-lecocq-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2009 8:41:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2009 8:41:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2009 8:41:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2009 8:41:21 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2009 8:41:21 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Brenda Tharp is one of the most creative, artistic and talented photographers among the stellar instructors at BP.com. She takes you to a new level in teaching all the artistic aspects of macro photography. She is very analytical in discussing why an image works or what doesn't work. She also goes the extra mile with hints and "extras", and is a very detailed and constructive critic. I would recommend any of her courses with enthusiasm, knowing what the student will experience.
5/28/2009 8:41:21 AM
 
Doug M. Solis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 9:05:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 9:05:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 9:05:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 9:05:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 9:05:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my third course at BP and I was not disappointed. Brenda has an unusually gifted eye that shows through in not only her photographs but more importantly in her review of our photographs. Macro photography is not all about getting in as close as you can and taking the picture, there are compositional elements that I had never considered that I learned in this class through the lessons but also Brenda’s feedback. I feel my photographs are much more "rounded" after this class.

I highly recommend this course to any one interested in learning or improving your Macro skills.

3/12/2009 9:05:34 AM
 
Sharon DeHayes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:32:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:32:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:32:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:32:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:32:13 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Absolutely recommend this course without reservation. I've taken a number of BP courses, and this was my favorite. Brenda's lessons and critiques were very helpful, and she makes the course fun with interesting assignments.
11/29/2008 8:32:13 AM
 
Pat Harry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/26/2006
Contact Pat
Pat's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2007 8:49:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2007 8:49:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2007 8:49:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2007 8:49:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2007 8:49:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course! I've had an interest in macro photography, but very little knowledge in this area. The lessons were great, and I've walked away with what I feel like is a very good foundation. The 4th lesson was really outside the box for me, and I loved it!
8/5/2007 8:49:24 PM
 
Guerry H. Dalrymple 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2007 1:28:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2007 1:28:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2007 1:28:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2007 1:28:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2007 1:28:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second class I have taken from BetterPhoto.com. I was not pleased after the first class and was giving the system another chance. Thanks to how impressed I am with Brenda and her class I am getting ready to sign up for a third class.
4/28/2007 1:28:40 PM
 
Stephanie Halstead
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2005
Contact Stephanie
Stephanie's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 2:28:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 2:28:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 2:28:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 2:28:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 2:28:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Brenda gives detailed critiques and challenges you to improve even the tiny details that make your photo even better. I appreciated her tips on equipment and ways to do things inexpensively.
10/31/2006 2:28:49 PM
 
Eugene B. Steinberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2006 5:58:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2006 5:58:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2006 5:58:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2006 5:58:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2006 5:58:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second course that I have taken with Brenda Tharp. Aside from her being an awesome photographer, her ability to honestly critique a photo and offer suggestions as to how the shot could have been better, is fantastic. You learn not only from her comments of your photos, but also from her critiques of your fellow classmates photographs. I know that you will benefit from taking this class, and if you have the time, take her eight week course on adding Visual Impact to your photographs and you really will be able to see how much your photgraphic ability has improved.
10/28/2006 5:58:19 PM
 
Barbra Bergstrom 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:10:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:10:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:10:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:10:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:10:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class! Definitely worthwhile, and fun, too! It focuses on what to look for and how to manipulate the camera to make great macro images. Brenda's lessons were well written and packed with information. They also included plenty of photo examples, which really helped. The assignments were varied and provided real learning opportunities, and Brenda's feedback was prompt, constructive, and meaningful.

I also really enjoyed interacting with the talented (and global) community of photographers taking the course. They offered real encouragement and inspiration!

3/7/2006 11:10:14 AM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist