BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Creative Close-ups with Kerry Drager

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Creative Close-ups Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Kerry Drager
4-Week Short Course: Creative Close-ups

Find out how close-at-hand subjects can result in larger-than-life images. Detail photos provide the accent that can set a mood, reveal pattern, line, and shape, and add visual variety to your collection of photographs. As instructor and author Kerry Drager will show you, the more intimate view can often reveal more about a subject than the broader scene! This class will show you how to use either everyday camera gear or specialized macro equipment to capture great close-up (and sometimes abstract) images of just about anything - nature subjects, still life scenes, architectural details, close-up portraits, etc.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Creative Close-ups


46 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kalena Randall
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kalena
Kalena's Gallery

member since: 9/13/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry Drager is a excellent instructor. His lessons are clear and concise, yet very informative. All of the sample photos help to demonstrate the concepts in each lesson very well. I learned a bunch by looking and comparing each photo as well as Kerry's teaching of the concepts.

The evaluations were completely positive. They helped me enjoy the class and gave me a strong desire to accomplish the next lesson.

Kerry's additional tips in each lesson were great in helping me get what I needed for each photo I took. His insights also helped me to develop the habit of constantly looking around me for a photo to take even if I didn't gave my camera - a great habit to develop!

I would recommend his classes and articles to anyone who wishes to advance their photography skills. I'm looking forward to taking his 8-week course.

2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM
 
Jan Marshall

member since: 12/30/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learnt so much on this course .Even though I had read about some of the different aspects of this course
I really began to understand so much more.Kerry gave very supportive and helpful critiques and wouldn't hesitate to do another course with him. I have gained so much more confidence in the last four weeks.
10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM
 
Ralph McBride IV
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/2/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great class and would recommend to anyone. I look at every scene differently after taking this class and see photo opportunities everywhere. Mr. Drager provides great feedback and is willing to answer any question and will supply supplemental reading to strengthen his feedback. GREAT CLASS!!
9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM
 
Joan M. Reuben
Contact Joan
Joan's Gallery

member since: 1/3/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
"I really enjoyed being a part of your Creative Close-ups class. It was fun and I really learned a lot of valuable information. The thing that stands out the most is your emphasis on light while taking close-ups. This has opened up a whole new world of photographic possibilities for me. Now I long for cloudy days!! I hope I will able to take other classes with you in the near future. Thank you again, Kerry!
9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is such a good course and Kerry is fantastic. If you can only ever do one more bettephoto course in your life, do this one. Kerry has an amazing way of engaging with the class. He was quick to respond and we had long ongoing conversations as a group that helped me to learn far more. I cannot praise this class - and especially its instructor - highly enough.
6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM
 
Janice Carter
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Janice
Janice's Gallery

member since: 9/23/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an amazing course. The sidebars that Kerry gives are worth the price of the course by themselves. He is so helpful and his critiques are very spot-on. He tells you what is right and what is wrong with the photo and explains how to make it better. The technical aspects of the course are very easy to understand and to put into practice. You get so much more for your money with this one! I strongly recommend this course; I only wish it were 8 weeks...it is worth 8 weeks!
6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM
 
Carol A. Grady
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Carol
Carol's Gallery

member since: 8/23/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This review is late as I just got back from vacation.

Kerry Drager is the BEST! This is the second course I've taken from him. All I can say is that I have taken many courses from many different instructors, from many different sites. His instruction, tips and techniques, and believe it or not - his voice is in the back of my head telling me how to get that perfect shot. His critiques are gentle, but right on. His instruction is clear and precise. His recommendations for a better shot after the critique show you how you can improve. Need I go on? Take this course.

You will not be sorry.

Carol Grady
Another pleased that I took another course from BP student!

9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM
 
Rebecca  West

member since: 3/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course. I learned so much about composition, lighting, and creative ways to shoot in macro. Kerry's critiques were very helpful, too. Highly recommend this course! Rebecca West
7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM
 
Maureen M. Reschke
BetterPhoto Member
maureen-reschke-photography.com

member since: 12/26/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Creative Close-ups with Kerry Drager has been a remarkable class. Because of the close- nature of the assignments, I became more comfortable with my camera, my tripod, and even began using a remote shutter release. I also began to really analyze my focusing and learned how to readjust for close-up situations. Most importantly, I began to find art everywhere, and now my eyes find a great photo opportunity every day in the most ordinary circumstances. Whether macro is your thing or not- this is a great class that re-energizes your love of photography. Thanks, Kerry!
7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM
 
Sandra Oliver

member since: 8/2/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This course encourages the participant to look at the world in a different way. It was both interesting and informative. The teacher was positive in his manner of judging the work done by the students. He answered question immediately. I recommend the class.
6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM
 
Henrik Herskind
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I felt very inspired during this course.

I can get better on making macros, but the whole "closing-up" thinking is extremely valuable for making better photos. I even managed to do a wideangle close-up that I didn't imagine would be part of this course!

I missed some more interaction between the students themselves. But never feel shy coming to one of Kerry's courses! He will lead you the way gently and very thouroughly. And be prepared for the day the course ends. You're gonna miss it!

/Henrik

5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM
 
Carolyn Morgan
BetterPhoto Member
endment.com

member since: 5/11/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This has been a fun and challenging class. Kerry is a good teacher he has opened my eyes to a new and exciting world of photography. His critiques are excellent - his suggestions provide the tools to capture better images and to see what is directly in front of me in a new and more creative way! I highly recommend this class.
5/5/2011 5:33:27 AM
 
Carla Maddox

member since: 6/29/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a good course for new students to close-up photography. Kerry was very kind and provided some great ideas in movement around the subject. This course does include a macro session, but you don't need a macro lense to learn the skill.
5/2/2011 3:07:31 PM
 
John C. Sun
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course, fantastic feedback from a supportive instructor. I learned a tremendous amount, and it has gotten me hooked on closeups and macros. Highly recommended.
4/8/2011 12:29:59 PM
 
Kayla D. Stevenson
BetterPhoto Member
kaylastevenson-photography.com

member since: 8/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was everything I had hoped for and much much more. Kerry provided little extras along the way, links to related articles & bonus material. I couldn't wait to get each week's lesson and get shooting. He is a great motivator, providing thoughtful and thorough critiques of each submission. I would recommend this course for anyone wanting to delve deeper into closeup photography.
3/3/2011 1:32:11 PM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This Creative Close Ups course with Kerry Drager is a course to go for. I can really recommend it.

This was my 11th course, so of course I had heard about a lot of the things to go for in photography-the light, the aperture and so on, but Kerry writes it in another way - a way I really like, and it is very important "stuff" if you want to improve, so I loved the repetition.

At the same time he adds some very inspiring thoughts about going close, so you can't wait to go out shooting after reading his lessons.

For me,the critique is the most important thing, and he gave a fine and honest critique, and what I loved was that I got the critique before the next lesson/assignment, so I could benefit from this critique before I shot the next assignment.

2/24/2011 12:11:35 AM
 
Linda Lavey

member since: 4/9/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry Drager is awesome. His assignments have shown me how to take photos in a variety of lighting settings. He gives great feedback and answers any questions or thoughts you may have promptly and gives you great suggestions. Loved this class. I looked forward to critiques and the next lessons eagerly.
6/30/2010 7:41:25 AM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member
searlphotography.com

member since: 7/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to add to comments that I have already made in the Student Q & A section of the course that I loved this course. It combined all of the things that I have learned previously into a great course on looking at the world "close-up". I see things now that I would not have seen before this course and I have continued to experiment with close-up photography after the classes concluded.

I especially like the fact that Kerry chooses one photo for each student that he considered to be the best for that individual student for the week. This caused me to want to improve on my techniques and interests - not to compare myself to others in the class - as much as to advance my own understanding and skill. It was such an encouragement for me to continue to improve each week.

A great course that I would recommend very highly!
Shelia Earl

5/16/2010 2:18:00 PM
 
Gary Rutledge
BetterPhoto Member
garyrutledge-photography.com

member since: 11/14/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Kerry has a great eye for detail, and he has a way of makeing you very aware of the detail required in close up and macro photography. He presents you with the tasks of closeup phtography to include composition, lighting, depth of field, etc.. with each and every assignment. The only way to improve this course would be to make it an 8-week course. Great course.
5/11/2010 6:09:09 PM
 
Sue Bishop

member since: 9/29/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second course with Kerry and I wish I could take another one. His assignments were challenging and informative. His critiques were positive, encouraging and helpful. He offers specific feedback about how to improve every submission. Kerry provides lots of info that go beyond the scope of the class. Great class, great instructor!
5/1/2010 11:15:06 PM
 
Bob Fisher

member since: 11/14/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Kerry puts a tremendous amount of effort into his work. The additional information he issued was at least as useful as the official course material.

Very supportive with great and valuable critiques.

I feel I have benefited greatly from this course and am looking forward to the next one!

4/30/2010 4:15:48 PM
 
Wendy Mrs Trollip

member since: 12/11/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this course for anyone interested in close up and macro photography. The course information was well compiled and the assigments interesting! All the assignments were punctually and constructively critiqued. In addition Kerry supplied really interesting reading in the campus square. Definitely worth it!
4/8/2010 5:32:32 AM
 
Susan J. Feulner
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery

member since: 4/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
What can I say. I agree with all of the above!
3/31/2010 2:37:15 PM
 
Judith F. Stone

member since: 12/12/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry is a great teacher - patient,kind yet thorough. He gives you so much additional information other than just the Lessons. I would certainly take another course from him.
2/1/2010 8:41:39 AM
 
Cathryn Gallacher
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Cathryn
Cathryn's Gallery

member since: 1/6/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was top-notch. Kerry is an inspiring teacher, and his feedback was unfailingly helpful and motivating. I would recommend the course to anyone interested in learning more about close-ups -- or indeed about photography generally.
12/3/2009 9:05:33 AM
 
Mike Bachman
BetterPhoto Member
mbachmanphotography.com

member since: 5/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Despite the fact that it was a short 4 weeks, I learned a great deal.
Kerry provided solid lessons that were well illustrated. He often provided extra material from other photographers that was very informative. He is quick to provide answers to student questions. His criticisms were on time and very positive with praise when it was due and suggestions for improvement.
This course was well worth the cost and I would not hesitate to recommend or take a course from Kerry again.
Mike Bachman
12/2/2009 3:24:28 PM
 
Kelly McNaughton

member since: 4/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This course is a great introduction to the world of closeup photography. I learned to take pictures of subjects I never would have thought to be "photo worthy" and ended up with some unusual but spectacular shots. The instructor, Kerry Drager, is extremely knowledgeable about the topic area, and provides honest and fair critiques of assignment photos. Photos were reviewed as they were posted (i.e. there is not one specific day of the week that assignments photos are looked at). As well, Kerry is very open to students posting non-assignment work and having it critiqued. The online discussion section of the course is active with lots of students posting feedback and comments. If a question was asked, the instructor posted a reply right away. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in closeup photography, plus I also highly recommend this instructor for any BetterPhoto course.
10/5/2009 10:48:09 AM
 
Cyndi Bane
cyndismemorykeeper.com

member since: 8/4/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second class with betterphoto. Ierry's class is so helpful. He doesn't just critique my photos but also give ideas on other ways to work the Picture.
I have learned so much from Kerry's class. I would love to take another class from him.
9/23/2009 7:12:33 PM
 
AEK 
Contact AEK
AEK's Gallery

member since: 6/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
just a slight correction of my testimonial. Reading it again, it should say - at the end "A tireless instructor" - and a great online experience.
6/6/2009 10:09:07 AM
 
AEK 
Contact AEK
AEK's Gallery

member since: 6/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Please read my review of Kerry Drager's 8 week course, Creative Light and Composition. That this is my second course with Kerry, won't be a surprise. I can't imagine a better instructor. His lessons are jam packed with information, the assignments are critiqued by a person who's a master photographer with a gentle touch. They're detailed, personalized and - his energy continues to astound me. It's common practice when working with Kerry to find him revisiting his critiques and giving further advice if you have a question or six or ten. A tireless, extraordinary online experience. He just sets that bar too high and I wish he'd teach a few more courses. Thank-you, Kerry, for another amazing experience. You are the best.
6/5/2009 3:47:09 PM
 
Joanne  A. Puyat
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/29/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is for me one of the BEST courses here in BetterPhoto. It has changed my angle of perspective and has brought out my creativity!

Kerry is such a great teacher! :)

3/30/2009 6:13:01 PM
 
Salwa  Afef
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Salwa
Salwa 's Gallery

member since: 10/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry Drager is a marvelous instructor :)
I was so lucky that iíve started my first course with him .
Heís serious,kind,very generous and helpful .
His lessons are easy to catch and detalid to satisfy my questions with alot of examples and sidebars or bonus lessons.

His words and advices are effected because of that I remember them when I go out to take photos .

He gives very helpful suggestions in his critiques of the students photos,and he has a gentel way to lead you to improve your own ideas in the photos.

I didnít want this course to be over ,so for sure iím joinig to his next course " Creative Light and Composition ".
Thank you very much Kerry ,Salwa Afef :)

12/3/2008 7:00:06 AM
 
Kathleen Paton

member since: 7/13/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Kerry Drager's course and learned so much from his thoughtful and detailed critiques.
7/4/2008 5:54:55 AM
 
Erica Murphy
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Erica
Erica's Gallery

member since: 9/25/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my 7th BP class. Kerry Drager was one of the best instructors I've had here. He was possitive, enthusiastic, informative and had good communication with the class. His cc was thoughtful. He always found something possitive and something to help me improve. I feel like my close up skill improved from this class. I would seek out another class taught by Kerry Drager because so often it is the instructor that makes the class.
7/3/2008 9:15:33 AM
 
Kiril D. Kirkov
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kiril
Kiril's Gallery
kirilkirkovphotography.com

member since: 7/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Since I'm very interested in macro photography , this course was very important to me . I can say that Kerry's lessons are more than enough to understand , and to learn all the nesessairy techniques for shooting the small world around us . What next - your imagination , and your sense of art !
4/27/2008 9:41:51 AM
 
Anonymous 

member since: 10/16/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was a great experience. I learned so much not only about close ups but also about light, equipment and effective composition.

Kerry gave special attention to every single image that was submitted and every single question.

Last, but not least, what is really special about this class is that in his critiques, Kerry gives suggestions for improvement but also clearly explains why an image 'works' -a great learning experience.

Thank you Kerry!
Lilia

2/19/2008 6:46:55 PM
 
Philip Burdick
philburdickphoto.com

member since: 1/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry's course was excellent! He made very helpful suggestions in his critiques of my photos. He let me know what I did well and where I needed to improve. Thank you Kerry for a very informative and fun class.
Phil Burdick
11/20/2007 5:20:41 AM
 
Toni Vavra
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/26/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed taking this course. Kerry Drager is a great teacher. His critiques were most helpful and he always answered questions very quickly. I hope to take another course with him in the near future. Thanks, Kerry.

Toni V.

10/30/2007 5:27:13 PM
 
Barbara Sharts
BetterPhoto Member
barbarasharts.com

member since: 6/9/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this, my first BP class. Kerry assigned challenging assignments, and gave helpful feed back so I could become a better photographer. I also learned a lot, not only from my photo's and feedback, but from the feedback Kerry gave others as well.
I once avoided and overlooked macro/close-up photography, but I have found another new passion. Kerry helped me to see things in a better, more interesting view.
Thank you for a wonderful learning experience.
Barbara Sharts
10/3/2006 9:48:14 PM
 
Susan Fox
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery

member since: 7/27/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry's class was my first at Betterphoto and it exceeded my expectations. It was a wonderful start to learning photography.

The class lessons were lengthy and well thought out. The assignments were fun and pushed you to take better photos.

Kerry is a great instructor. He was always accessible for answering questions and offering help. His critiques were timely, thorough and very helpful.

I highly recommend taking his class.

10/1/2006 9:52:54 AM
 
Geraldine E. Lefoe
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course Kerry, really appreciated how you went the extra mile to answer our questions and provide feedback.
6/10/2006 2:31:46 PM
 
Susan Eginton

member since: 3/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry Drager is a fine instructor. He gives explanations suited to the novice photographer as well as those more experienced. He even includes "bonus lessons" and sidebars to give more detailed explanations of some basic concepts which beginners need help understanding. His critiques are helpful and always encouraging, even when there are obvious mistakes made by the novice photographer (like myself!)His course helped me become more aware of details and of how more interesting and dynamic a close-up photo can be. I highly recommend his course.
2/11/2006 3:06:39 PM
 
Cathy Jo Wheeler

member since: 7/6/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the third Betterphoto course I have taken.

Kerry gives, by far, the best constructive critiques. His critiques are
detailed and he explains why something is good as well as how it could be
improved. I am very impressed by the amount of time he spends evaluating my
photos and others in the class. I have learned so much from his critiques of
all of the shots during the course. His lessons are detailed, but written
simply enough that a beginning photographer can understand. He gives great
information in his sidebars.

I will definitely take another of Kerry's courses. I would highly recommend
them to other students.

12/29/2005 4:30:00 PM
 
Jay Wadley
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jay
Jay's Gallery
betterphotojay.com

member since: 9/13/2000
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry is the best!
12/8/2005 1:54:48 PM
 
Betty Sartori

member since: 5/31/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I find I look for Kerry Drager's Betterphoto courses. His critiques are always thorough, thoughtful, and verrrry helpful. Whether you are an experienced or inexperienced photographer, Kerry makes you look at your images, think of how you might have captured the same scene differently, and you find yourself really thinking before you shoot.
12/1/2005 8:56:46 AM
 
Su Taylor
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Kerry,
I really enjoyed your class. You created great assignments, and gave wonderful feed back to each photo, and my never-ending questions.
And you are fun!!!
When I am out taking photographs now and I can't find anything that looks interesting I just zoom in, and WOW! I am able to find that photo! I would have never thought of taking photographs this way before taking your class. You are a very generous photographer, and instructor. You went way beyond what I expected.
I wish you taught more classes at BetterPhoto.com. But maybe later?
Thank you again for a wonderful learning experience.
Su Taylor
3/8/2005 11:58:02 AM
 

46 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.ģ All Rights Reserved.