BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses

The EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens

Good, long range telephoto zoom for doing everything from portraits to wildlife photography. The image stabilizing feature is a huge help for those times you are stuck without a tripod.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael 

member since: 12/6/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great lens for the price! I had one for 1 1/2 years (unfortunately, my budding photographer daughter has misplaced it), using it predominantly for shooting wildlife (mostly birds) and sports (indoor basketball, volleyball of my daughters).

The IS makes this lens stand out...definately worth the extra moolah, especially at this price point. As far as picture quality, I can honestly say that next to my L-series 70-200 (non-IS) lens, there is not a big drop-off in picture quality. Pictures are a little more grainy, which will be more of a factor if you're planning to enlarge a lot of your shots. Otherwise, this lens stands up very well...nearly perfect for this price point.

12/6/2006 6:27:07 PM
 
Brian D. Shema
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After two months, I love this lens! I do mostly bird photography, and being that I could not afford the L series lenses, this was my best option. I'm thrilled with the results. Clarity is good, IS feature a huge bonus, and at f/4 to 5.6 this lens is capable of producing nice photos in a variety of lighting conditions.
I'm sure I'd be quite thrilled with an L series lens, but at a fraction of the cost, I think I got the best of both worlds with this one.

Recommended to anyone looking for an affordable, versatile, quality lens!

It is, BTW, a 70-300mm not 75-300mm as the description above implies.

3/25/2006 6:31:15 PM
 
Chris M. Rembold

member since: 5/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am concerned about battery life when keeping this lens on the camera for fast shots. I went through 2 batteries in one afternoon, something that never has happened with my 28-135 IS! I guess because of the long zoom the auto focus requires alot of power, let alone using the IS! Great sharp photos otherwise I guess a battery grip is in order!
5/22/2005 3:40:53 PM
 
Melissa J. Miller
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/2/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just bought this for a birthday present and am looking forward to using it soon. If a lens can be called a work of beauty,this is the one. It is my first telephoto lens and I am anxious to see how different my photos will be using it. I will report back when I have christened it!
4/27/2004 12:23:51 AM
 
Brad Lambert

member since: 10/26/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this lens for about four months now. So far I have had good results as far as image quality is considered. But I do have to admit there are a few downsides to this lens. This biggest thorn in my side about this lens is the fact that the front of the lens rotates. It can be distractive and reveling when wildlife are very close. They usually can't hear the lens move (the USM is incredibly quiet) but they can see it move. Also it is not as fast as I wanted (f/stop) but for the price, it's just fine, considering to get into the 2.8 300mm range it would about five times what I paid for this lens. Over all I would say I am pleased with this lens and would recommend it to anyone condsidering to purchase it.
11/21/2003 7:06:42 PM
 
Merv D. Petralba

member since: 9/12/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Mary I agree. This lens is amazing! This is a must have. Well worth the extra money for the Image Stablizer feature. I found the lens at a low price from www.canogacamera.com. I need to try the 12mm extension tube! Thanks for the tip!
9/12/2002 11:16:28 AM
 
Mary 

member since: 5/4/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Can't believe I'm first to rate this wonderful lens, mine is 5yrs old and is used in most of my photography. I have great Everglades, Bird photos and using a 12mm extension tube I can take frame filling flower and butterfly pictures, all without a tripod. Canon's IS lenses have been the first in this field, I also now have the 23mm to 135mm IS by Canon, no more tripods are being dragged around the world by this person.
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.