EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Fixed Focal Length Lenses

The EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael W. Lowe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/22/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 1:52:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 1:52:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 1:52:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 1:52:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 1:52:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
After many reviews I picked this lens up. I got a chance to take it out this weekend and finally play with it. The first thing I noticed was the different between the Mark I and the Mark II was that it is a plastic body. With the price of this lens though that is easily over looked. If you perfer a metal body for $340 you can get the f/1.4 instead which has 7 elements in 6 groups. All in all I am very impressed by this lens. This lens is way better then the kit lens that comes with the rebel series and the colors and sharpness that it produces is amazing for such a low price tag. I would definetly recommend it to anyone. Also even though it is a plastic body if you manage to break it you can pick another one up for the fraction of cost of the F/1.4 model
2/25/2008 1:52:29 PM
 
Andrew Laverghetta
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 10:25:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 10:25:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 10:25:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 10:25:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 10:25:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great lens! I don't mind having this on my Rebel GII or 20D. Normal 50mm on the Rebel, more like 80mm on 20D. It's pretty sharp especially since it's a fixed focal length lens. Being fixed, it also makes you think more about composition. The only thing that could be improved upon is adding more aperture blades which would probably up the price, but it's not a problem most of the time.

If you like to shoot using avalable light more than flash, this would be a great lens for you. You just have to watch and be extremely careful when you focus.

9/14/2005 10:25:48 PM
 
Bryan Yates
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:14:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great lens! Very bright and very fast. Great in low light situations! For the price you just can't go wrong with this one! At $79.00 newthis is the cheapest lens I own and it finds its way onto my camera time and time again! A great addition to anyones collection! Bryan
5/31/2005 2:14:00 PM
 
Bryan Yates
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:10:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:10:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:10:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:10:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:10:56 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great lens! Very bright and very fast! For the price you just can't go wrong with this one! ($79.00 new) A great addition to anyones collection!
5/31/2005 2:10:56 PM
 
Aline Levasseur 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:49:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:49:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:49:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:49:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 9:49:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The price is definitely right for this lens!

Light and small with a great aperature. A perfect general use lens, with awesome results.

Definitely a MUST for any Canon users!

My only complaint is that I would like it to be a little sturdier. I haven't had a problem with the plastic, but it would be nice if I could beat it up a bit!

9/10/2004 9:49:02 PM
 
Bill McFadden 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2003 1:32:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2003 1:32:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2003 1:32:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2003 1:32:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2003 1:32:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellant lens for the price. Does not have a professional appearence but I owned mine for years and did not have any problems with durability. Wish I had not traded it in now. Fits in any camera bag, provides fast fixed lens at a great price. I brought mine new for $100.00 but they are avaiable used at as little as $50.00. A budget lens that provides professioanl results.
1/4/2003 1:32:18 PM
 

6 Reviews