Digital Photography Unleashed: Capturing Wildly Great Pictures


Jim Miotke     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books

The Digital Photography Unleashed: Capturing Wildly Great Pictures

DVD with Color/Digital Sound; Multi-Region Encoding (NTSC).

Learn the basics of digital photography in Jim Miotke's new DVD, Digital Photography Unleashed: Capturing Wildly Great Photos.

This jam-packed DVD is over 2 hours long. Each of the four segments is just under a half hour, and helpful bonus materials are included as well. The four segments are:

  • Learning the Basics (with Andy the Mountain Lion)
  • Day at the Ranch (where we photograph horses, cowboys, branding, and more)
  • Mastering Further Techniques (with a variety of wildlife models)
  • Exploring Light and Shutter Speed (in Yosemite Valley)

Each segment has a variety of tips and techniques sprinkled throughout.

While enjoying an adventure photographing animals near Yosemite, California, you will:

  • Learn to see and appreciate light
  • Master the "Exposure Triangle"
  • Know how to choose the best ISO, shutter speed, and f-number
  • Understand file formats such as JPEG and Raw
  • Select the right white balance setting
  • Compose with the Rule of Thirds
  • Digital photograph any subject, whether it is your child, a scenic, a close up flower, your favorite pet, your friends and family, and more...

This exciting and dramatic DVD is fun to watch even for non-photography enthusiasts. With the help of Triple "D", we explore the universal tips and techniques while photographing wildlife models, cowboys, colorful horses, and Yosemite Valley.

This dramatic and helpful DVD is divided into four shows and is packed with all you need to know to take great digital pictures. The DVD includes additional tips from great photographers such Jim Zuckerman and Lewis Kemper. The DVD bonus materials include a digital photographer's Buyer's Guide, a collection of top tips for easy reference, and a short documentary on what goes into this kind of wildlife photo shoot.



See the back cover of the DVD


Watch sample of instructional photography DVD
View sample trailer

This trailer may take a few minutes to download but will give you a good idea of the high quality content you can expect on the DVD.

Order today!


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
ProHappy Jim Miotke
Contact ProHappy Jim
ProHappy Jim's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2012 3:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2012 3:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2012 3:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2012 3:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2012 3:23:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a product I'm really proud of. It was an adventure to create and has helped many people learn photography. Enjoy!
3/28/2012 3:23:38 PM
 
Marvil J. LaCroix
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 9:08:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 9:08:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 9:08:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 9:08:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 9:08:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Overall impression of the dvd is excellent. I have watched it one time and will watch it many times over to get the full benefit.
Expecially helpful was the comments about omitting the white sky which I was not doing.
Giving the shutter speed in one of the sections was very helpful.
I would like more indepth information on photography horses in motion.
You made reference to ISO but I don't recall you addressing what shutter speeds should be used.
I would like to know more about which mode is better for shooting horses eventing, TV mode or sports mode.

Excellent exposition on taking pictures the animals. You covered a vast amount of information.

thank you,
Marvil LaCroix

10/2/2007 9:08:45 PM
 
Jim Meyerhoff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 10:59:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 10:59:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 10:59:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 10:59:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 10:59:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
-
9/11/2005 10:59:50 PM
 
Bruce Prevett 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 10:21:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 10:21:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 10:21:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 10:21:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 10:21:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Digital Photography Unleashed is an excellent DVD to watch for beginner to
intermediate photographers. It focuses on key points such as lighting and
artistic perspectives and gives the user a lot of great tips and tricks for
shooting in various conditions. If you have a digital camera and often
wondered how all the rest of the gadgets work, this is a great way to find
out. Jim Miotke presents a very interesting and in-depth look at your
camera. It may not be the same make or model, but the areas that are
covered will at least give you a good starting point to explore the rest of
the features. This is a must have for any budding digital photographer's
library.
6/14/2005 10:21:59 AM
 
Diane Dupuis-Kallos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2004 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2004 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2004 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2004 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2004 5:04:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this DVD. It was great to meet and see Jim in action. I found his advice to be very informative. It is definitely aimed at beginners, and covers all the basics very well. I truly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone just starting out in photography and needing a "short course". Now if only I lived near any of the places he went to!!
11/27/2004 5:04:22 AM
 
Karen-Jane Mrs Dudley
k1photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:42:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:42:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:42:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:42:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:42:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A massive thanks for the DVD! It is totally awesome and I am so pleased that I purchased a copy. First class tutorials that will benefit not only newcomers to digital photography but even the more advanced users so many many thanks and congratulations on such a superb production.

Once again many thanks, keep up the superb and stunning work.

11/19/2004 11:42:06 AM
 
Wayne Nolting
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:35:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:35:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:35:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:35:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:35:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just received your Digital Photography Unleashed DVD today and could not wait to "spin it up! I was glued to it for quite a while and will have to finish it as well as revisit it many times.

The content is excellent and applies to photographers at all levels. It is never too late to revisit the basics of photography as well as grasp them as a new student of the art of light and to understand how the camera sees vs. the human eye.

It is a great training tool for amateurs to reinforce the basic of digital and film photography learned in class like I did a year ago.

I am planning to use your video as one of the Central Connecticut Camera Club upcoming activities and it will get many other uses.

My grade is A+

11/19/2004 11:35:47 AM
 
Barbara S. Dungan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2004 12:45:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2004 12:45:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2004 12:45:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2004 12:45:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2004 12:45:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just finished watching Adventures in Photography and wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it.

I found the DVD to be very informative. Really helped me to see and understand things more clearly.

11/14/2004 12:45:24 PM
 

8 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist