BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot G6 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lavender fields
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot G6 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 7.1 Megapixel PowerShot digital camera with a fast f/2.0-3.0,
    35-140mm (35mm equivalent) lens in a compact body
  • New ergonomic design includes an enhanced SLR type grip for
    better handling and 2.0-inch LCD panel
  • 9-point AiAF for precise and accurate focusing
  • 12 EOS-based Shooting Modes, Photo Effects, Custom Modes,
    enhanced Super Macro Mode, Wide-area FlexiZone AF/AE and spot metering
  • Print directly to Canon photo printers or any
    PictBridge-compatible printer

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 54 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Spraky J. Dean

member since: 9/11/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
cool
9/11/2008 7:07:37 AM
 
Anzheleeka Rozenfeld

member since: 8/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I used to have point and shoot Sony Cyber shot 5.1 Mgp camera and hated that it offers almost no control over apperture and shutter speed (or so I thought!) - now I absolutely love this camera and quality of images it produces- in good hands they are not worse then pictures shoot with SLRs!!!!!
I think the best feature is raw format, rechargable batteries with many hours of shoting anf CF format of media card- the cheapest one on a market now! I absolutely love this camera!!!
8/31/2006 11:32:04 AM
 
Mary Ann Vazquez

member since: 6/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great macro.
6/8/2006 3:37:40 PM
 
Laura  E. Baxter
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/28/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
If I had to fault it it would be size, otherwise it is great. Need to understand more of the programmable functions.
5/5/2006 7:07:52 PM
 
Art Kuntz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/5/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I learned on this camera. It has picture quality that is very close to my Rebel XT in quality. It also has most of the features of Digital SLR. Great Macro shooting camera. I like the macro photos from this camera better than the rebel xt. I hate the lens limitations and the issues with narrow Depth of Field.
4/9/2006 11:56:53 PM
 
Scott A. Walmsley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/3/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love the camera. great pictures. A little noisy,but one of the better I've seen in it's class. Focus a little funky in low light
4/3/2006 3:43:43 PM
 
Tracy Stiles

member since: 3/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
High megapixels, 7.1; rotating lcd screen; ergonomic slr-style grip; 2-inch lcd monitor; powerful optical zoom.
3/14/2006 9:09:48 PM
 
John P. Cox

member since: 1/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good point and shoot. Flash seems to wash out color.
1/14/2006 1:25:28 PM
 
Stephanie Beyer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/10/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm really quite fond of the Canon PowerShot family. This one does get a bit heavy after a while though. But, the discomfort is worth it after you see how wonderful the quality of the pictures are.
1/10/2006 10:16:33 PM
 
Steven Brys
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best point and shoot ever created. Near DSLR quality photos in p&s convenience.
12/5/2005 7:02:21 PM
 
Daniel  R. Welch

member since: 12/3/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I can't complain about the 10D, period. I love it. As for a point&shoot, I haven't enjoyed anything more than I do my G6. I do a wide variety or shots from action to night to portrait to studio. When I need something good but not extravagant, I grab the G6. The downside is that it's not an SLR...but can we really compare them? I think not. I've owned/still own: Minolta, Olympus, Canon, Nikon.
12/3/2005 1:22:37 PM
 

First 10 of 54 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot G6 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.