Mavica FD-83 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Before - flea mar...
View photos created with this camera

The Mavica FD-83 Digital Camera

The Mavica stores images on a regular floppy disk, making transfer of files extremely easy. Using a rechargeable battery, it will save you a bundle on battery expenses. Although you can record MPEG movie shorts and audio clips, the keyword here is "short" - after all, how much can one fit on floppy.
The cool camera offers black & white, sepia, negative, and solarized special effects and will work on both Windows and Mac.

If you are looking for simplicity with good quality, this is the digital camera for you.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


14 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Vicki M. Ellis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:49:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:49:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:49:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:49:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:49:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
What I like about it is it gives you three options for photo size and you can do videos with sound. What I don't like about it is the zoom is only 6x.
5/25/2005 10:49:32 AM
 
Vicki M. Ellis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:48:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:48:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:48:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:48:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 10:48:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
What I like about it is it gives you three options for photo size and you can do videos with sound. What I don't like about it is the zoom is only 6x.
5/25/2005 10:48:39 AM
 
Toby Crocco
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 4:01:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 4:01:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 4:01:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 4:01:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 4:01:36 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is good for simple shots on the fly and is easy to operate through the different menus. The "old" floppy disk format is sometimes a burden especially when shooting high resolution being that you only get a couple of shots on a disk. This means you must lug around a ton of disks for storage if you plan on doing any serious volume of pictures.
12/17/2004 4:01:36 PM
 
Chris Hansen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 6:32:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 6:32:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 6:32:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 6:32:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 6:32:11 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A very good entry level camera for a true digital beginner. Easy to operate and takes good pictures for it's size.
10/18/2004 6:32:11 AM
 
Lynn  Shatswell 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2004 9:19:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2004 9:19:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2004 9:19:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2004 9:19:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2004 9:19:01 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the ease of use in this camera, but hate the delay between taking pictures. Makes it almost impossible to take movement pictures.
8/3/2004 9:19:01 PM
 
Gillian Hamilton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 8:33:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 8:33:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 8:33:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 8:33:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2004 8:33:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great digital for taking snap shots, but useless for action pictures. Eye piece is difficult to sight a picture with, I find I have to revert to the show screen. I like the video option but editing can be a real pain.
4/30/2004 8:33:05 AM
 
Kyle S. Dusang 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:47:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:47:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:47:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:47:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:47:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera but hate using floppy discs
1/28/2004 8:47:34 PM
 
Beth Benton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:51:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera and easy to use with a lot of features. It's larger than most but I like that, as I'm afraid I'll drop a small one or hit the wrong button. The floppy disk makes it easy to upoad photos to or on any computer without having to keep up with a "interface". Its great especially for starting out and just playing with the art of photography.
1/2/2004 4:51:12 PM
 
Pamela S. Butler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 11:54:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 11:54:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 11:54:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 11:54:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 11:54:57 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The shutter speed is to slow. The pictures are very good quality but it is hard to determine what they will turn out like when sun is shining on the viewer.
10/25/2003 11:54:57 AM
 
Elissa Kadell-Haden
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2003
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:42 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:42 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:42 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:42 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:42 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
Awful Colors... Hard to focus. Low picture quality
9/16/2003 12:37:42 PM
 
Elissa Kadell-Haden
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2003
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:14 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:14 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:14 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:14 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 12:37:14 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
Awful Colors... Hard to focus. Low picture quality
9/16/2003 12:37:14 PM
 
Judy A. Carley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:41:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:41:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:41:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:41:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:41:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera - my only complaint would be the fact that it uses floppy discs. Still kicking since new in 1998! On second battery...
9/6/2003 3:41:51 PM
 
Judy A. Carley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:40:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:40:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:40:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:40:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 3:40:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera - my only complaint would be the fact that it uses floppy discs.
9/6/2003 3:40:55 PM
 
Marsha A. Jolly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2000
Rating: 4 out of 5
I purchased my Sony about 6 months ago. This truly is the most fun I have had with a camera in years. The ease of use is outstanding. The results are great. Instant gratification not only for the photographer but for the photographed as well. I especially like the floopy disc. Instant satisfaction from your shoots is very gratifying. The camera is very sturdy, user friendly, ( I even let the smallest children have a go at snapping photos). They love the results. Indeed my favorite "gadget" in a long time. My only regret: I spent $799.00 on the camera (I would do it all over again) and now I understand Sony has a new digital Mavica that utilizes a Super disk. I take so many pictures that I sure could use this option. I just have Invested so much money already in this one that I will just have to drool for the time I can obtain the Mavica with the superdisk capability. Fantastic photos that anyone can do. One of the most entertaining cameras that I have ever used. I never use a camcorder anymore. I am a Picture-a-holic and this fine camera suits my every need and desire. Its like getting the best of everything in one small easy to use package. I absolutely love my camera.
1/23/2000
 

14 Reviews  

Buy Mavica FD-83 Digital Camera from Amazon.com