ZX-50 (MZ-50) 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Dark Days
View photos created with this camera

The ZX-50 (MZ-50) 35mm SLR Camera The ZX-50 (MZ-50) 35mm SLR Camera

Compact 35mm SLR with super quick autofocus mechanism, sophisticated metered system for dead-on exposure, and manual override. Features full viewfinder information (tells you which mode you are in, all exposure info, etc.).

Kit includes Pentax AF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 F Zoom Lens, 2 Batteries, Strap, Pentax Camera Bag, Pentax USA Warranty.


First 10 of 30 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John W. Flynn 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:41:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:41:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:41:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:41:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 5:41:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
replaced my K/frame with this camera (could not find parts for repairs). Dropped first ZX50 off table replaced with this one (protection plan). I still shoot film when the mood strikes. Infact I shoot a roll Wed., takes geat pictures
3/30/2006 5:41:21 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:46:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good camera, fully auto/manual. Lightweight, yet durable camera. Good advanced amateur camera. Used in my studio for a couple years.
2/17/2005 9:46:00 AM
 
Ronald D. Gilmore Jr. 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:20:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:20:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:20:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:20:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:20:27 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use.
2/9/2005 7:20:27 AM
 
Adrianna Province
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 11:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 11:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 11:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 11:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 11:06:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Super value SLR. My first camera because I found the manual very easy to follow and the body was light. I put it through probably 6,000 exposures and it delivered every time. Very tough, reliable work horse that shot everything from football to weddings. Highly recommend.
2/1/2005 11:06:09 PM
 
SANDY J. YEATTS 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:55:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:55:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:55:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:55:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:55:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera. Has all the features I want on it and has performed very well for me.
10/5/2004 7:55:42 PM
 
Richard G. Gardner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:27:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:27:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:27:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:27:29 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:27:29 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent picture taker. I use this camera with a pair of Sigma consumer autofocus lenses. I don't like the crippled mount of this camera which precludes the use of older manual lenses.
9/22/2004 8:27:29 AM
 
Chris Barrow 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 9:31:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 9:31:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 9:31:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 9:31:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 9:31:29 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like my Pentax, I have an older Pentax K1000 that I have had since I was 16. When I was looking for a newer camera I wanted an auto focus with flash and some other options. The zx-50 is a really good camera for someone who is just starting out. It has trouble auto focusing when you have something like a tree branch in the frame but your subject is farther away. But if you turn off auto focus it is fine. I really enjoy using both my Pentax cameras.
9/7/2004 9:31:29 AM
 
Oscar R. Arias 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:40:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:40:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:40:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:40:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:40:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very light, great quality. very simple.
7/15/2004 9:40:21 PM
 
KC Pagano
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 5:37:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 5:37:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 5:37:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 5:37:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 5:37:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very reliable, easy to handle I would recommend it to those who are jsut starting out with 35 mm cameras
6/27/2004 5:37:44 AM
 
Barbara A. Davis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2004 4:00:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2004 4:00:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2004 4:00:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2004 4:00:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2004 4:00:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its an awesome camera, I have been really pleased with it, I just wish I could afford more lenses to take panoramics and super zoom ins!
5/22/2004 4:00:01 PM
 
Amy Lee Chinnick 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 4:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 4:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 4:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 4:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 4:40:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For the inital cost of this camera i would rate it a 10 for the results. I have taken some fantastic shots with the camera and it has helped me learn how to be a better photographer. Dont get me wrong i would love a top end Nikon or Canon but for the price bracket of this unit it is very good.
5/8/2004 4:40:14 AM
 

First 10 of 30 Reviews  (see all user reviews)