Lumix DMC-FZ20K Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Royal Light
View photos created with this camera

The Lumix DMC-FZ20K Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 13-by-17-inch enlargements
  • Leica DC Vario-Elmarit 12x zoom lens combines with 4x digital
    zoom for 48x total zoom
  • MEGA optical image stabilizer; 2-inch TFT LCD screen; PictBridge
    Compatible
  • Store images on Secure Digital (SD) memory card (16 MB SD card
    included)
  • Powered by lithium-ion battery pack (included with charger)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 107 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lesley M. Hennessy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2008 2:01:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2008 2:01:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2008 2:01:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2008 2:01:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2008 2:01:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have just acquired this camera nearly new. I wanted a step up from my point and shoot but not yet ready to fork out on a DSLR for myself. Also the weight of the DSLR my husband has (Nikon D80) is offputting. I bought the betterphoto book to try to get the most from the camera. I like the range of controls and the high quality lens and I do seem to be getting good pictures for focus, colour etc that I am relatively happy with. To be honest, I feel the camera is well equipped but I am not yet experienced enough or confident enough to get the most from this camera. Here's hoping that the book helps!
8/28/2008 2:01:34 PM
 
Kerry W. Willis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/22/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 7:20:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 7:20:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 7:20:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 7:20:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2007 7:20:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am very picky about quality. This camera is awesome. I've used Hasselblads and Nikons, but this baby is the most bang for the buck I've ever owned. Unbeatable. Many of my friends have taken my recommendation and love the camera equally as much as I do. Get ready for quality. All joy, K.W.
4/19/2007 7:20:16 PM
 
Peter Pfandler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2007 5:19:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2007 5:19:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2007 5:19:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2007 5:19:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2007 5:19:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have this camera since April 2005. I've made about 8.000 photos since then. There are 2 main limits of this camera: The light conditions and the display with relative small resolution.

With this camera you can only make "still life" pictures in bad light conditions. Photographing persons or moving objects is not possible. The only usable ISO settings are 80 and 100.

About the display resolution: Sometimes when the picture is a little blurry (when the focus was incorrectly set), it can be seen only on the PC, but not on the built-in display.

I recommend this camera everyone who can accept these "rules" at photographing. I personally like this camera very much.

1/22/2007 5:19:15 AM
 
Kia R. Henderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 9:53:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 9:53:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 9:53:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 9:53:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 9:53:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera - it is very versatile and easy to use - I know at some point I will graduate to a camera with adjustable lenses etc.....but as a beginner, this camera is PERFECT.
7/6/2006 9:53:24 AM
 
James M. Spruill 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 5:48:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 5:48:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 5:48:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 5:48:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 5:48:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awsome Camera, powerful zoom and good wide angle capablity. AF light helps in the dark, and the flash charges in about 15 sec. Good pixel count and fast load rate. I do think that the camera should have a lable on it that says "objects on screen may bee lighter than they appear." All in all the best camera I have ever used, great for hikes and very versitle!
7/2/2006 5:48:08 PM
 
Ana G. Brenes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:42:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
a love a several things from it: is not heave, easy to use, and her GREAT Leica Lens, it has a really good quality!, great macro. what i don't like: i can't change the lens, i only can use its build-in flash, and it still having the problem of noise if you use an ISO higher than 200.
6/14/2006 3:42:46 PM
 
SUSAN A. O'BRIEN 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:59:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:59:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:59:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:59:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:59:33 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I no longer own the Panasonic FZ-20. Good macro capabilities. Shooting at full zoom was tricky because I couldn't get the shutter speed high enough, when shooting in Aperture priority, to always get a sharp image. To be fair to the camera, I don't have the steadiest of hands. I couldn't increase the ISO due to digital noise. Having said that, it was an enjoyable camera to shoot with.
6/8/2006 8:59:33 AM
 
Richard McGlothlin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 3:47:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 3:47:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 3:47:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 3:47:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 3:47:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. My friends with DSLR's ask me to take available light photos because they can't afford a lens as fast as my 2.8 Leica. The zoom is awesome, the batteries are great and it creates awesome pictures.
6/3/2006 3:47:22 PM
 
Danielle Jaworowski 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 1:54:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 1:54:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 1:54:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 1:54:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 1:54:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the best cameras I have ever owned
5/27/2006 1:54:16 PM
 
Daryn T. Fahlman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:50:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:50:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:50:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:50:14 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:50:14 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
love it, limitation on F stop settings.
5/22/2006 12:50:14 PM
 
ROGER D. BAUGHAM II 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 10:05:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 10:05:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 10:05:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 10:05:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 10:05:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LIGHT WEIGHT, EASY TO USE 12X ZOOM, LOW PRICE, GREAT BATTERY LIFE, GOOD FLASH RANGE.
5/9/2006 10:05:38 PM
 

First 10 of 107 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Lumix DMC-FZ20K Digital Camera  from Amazon.com