BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Cyber-shot DSC-P100 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

canola field
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-P100 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 5-megapixel sensor (2592 x 1944 pixels) for enlargements up to 20 x 30 inches
  • 3x optical zoom plus 2x digital zoom for 6x total
  • Carl Zeiss optics; 9-shot burst mode; high-resolution movie mode with sound
  • Compatible with Memory Stick and Memory Stick Pro media; includes 32 MB card
  • Powered by lithium-ion battery (NP-FR1); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 2.0

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


41 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Angela Collins

member since: 6/26/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera; fits easily into a pocket or handbag for activities where a larger camera would be in the way and takes great pictures.
7/6/2006 4:12:39 PM
 
Lynette R. Shiver

member since: 6/2/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my digital camera we take a lot of photos of our 3 small children they are growing so quickly.
6/2/2006 12:29:39 PM
 
Tim D. Vallery

member since: 4/20/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It works well, I am able to take fairly nice pictures with it. I was used to using a slr camera, i think i am ready to switch to digital slr
4/20/2006 9:51:08 PM
 
Nathan Peplinski

member since: 4/7/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Ease of use is good, althought I still need to learn to use the different setting types. Decent for shots that dont require too much zooming.
4/8/2006 12:07:26 AM
 
Abdullah Al-Shackarchi

member since: 4/3/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It Rocks specially With a Car Zeiss Lens Though its still not an SLR
4/3/2006 3:15:47 AM
 
Sheila Gupta

member since: 4/2/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great in the day but horrible for night shots, even int he night mode.
4/2/2006 11:07:58 PM
 
Tracie L. Archer

member since: 1/19/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Overall I really like my camera. The only thing that I don't like about it, is that I sometimes get camera movement and I cannot tell that the image is blurry on the screen. When I upload my photos is when I realize the image I captured did not come out very clear. This does not happen all of the time, only minimal. Aside from that, I truly enjoy having this camera.
1/19/2006 4:34:16 AM
 
Senthamaraikannan PG

member since: 1/12/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
its very nice
1/12/2006 4:52:33 AM
 
Georgia D. 

member since: 12/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera. User friendly, takes great pictures (even driving down the road), good for taking videos if you have a big enough card.
12/27/2005 4:07:10 PM
 
Arielle R. Milstein
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I absolutely adore my camera. There is only one thing wrong with it, and that's a tiny scratch on the lens, which was not fixed when it was sent away to be fixed. Oh, well, it only shows up in pictures of a blue sky. Other than that, my P-100 is a darling.
12/2/2005 1:05:17 PM
 
Dipak Rai

member since: 11/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
its a deadly 4 its price .
11/18/2005 12:04:45 PM
 
Dipak Rai

member since: 11/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
its a deadly 4 its price .
11/18/2005 12:01:01 PM
 
Rachit Jain

member since: 11/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like this camera because it can take photo up to 5 miga pixels.my father gave it to me as a birthday present
11/16/2005 2:11:41 AM
 
Rachit Jain

member since: 11/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this camera is the best as it can shot upto 5 mega pixels.this is my persnal camera and my father gave it to me.
11/16/2005 1:50:06 AM
 
Brianna D. Hafen

member since: 11/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a very amateur family friendly camera. My first one and has worked good. Although the focus seems to be going bad.
11/9/2005 9:13:07 PM
 
Audrey K. Kanekoa-Madrid
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/25/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful picture quality, but slow shutter time.
11/5/2005 2:56:40 PM
 
V _Aqua

member since: 10/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
In my opinion, the SONY DSC-P100 is the BEST 5Mpixel digicompact camera. SONY have done an excellent job in integrating the optics, the electronics and marketing. I was looking for a perfect performance digital camera within my budget. I could say a lot more about it...easy operation mode, manual mode, spot metering, styling, etc. The only thing I dislike about it (and most digital cameras) is the location of the USB2 interface that is obstructed while using my tripod. Do check availability of accessory VCL-D2630 (2.5x zoom) lens attachment before purchase, to ensure you will have a decent optical zoom of around 7.5x (improvement over 5x zoom in SONY DSC-F717). I haven't tested this lens; since SONY World doesn't allow customers to open the sealed packing (a demerit?), but I have this lens on my wish-list.
11/2/2005 12:42:03 PM
 
V _Aqua

member since: 10/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
In my opinion, the SONY DSC-P100 is the BEST 5Mpixel digicompact camera. SONY have done an excellent job in integrating the optics, the electronics and marketing. I was looking for a perfect performance digital camera within my budget. I could say a lot more about it...easy operation mode, manual mode, spot metering, styling, etc. The only thing I dilike about it (and most digital cameras) is the location of the USB2 interface that I am unable to use when mounted on my tripod.
10/31/2005 3:02:32 PM
 
Harry F. Olmstead

member since: 10/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the versitility, handiness, length it holds a charge, the image quality, the color saturation and contrast, the lens quality, the options available, how compact it is, and the overall durability of the camera. It sold me on digital photography after my first shots taken.
10/23/2005 12:48:20 AM
 
Chad D. Estes

member since: 10/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderful point-and-shoot. My main interest in a camera of this style is that it turns on quickly and focuses fast. This camera does both, and takes great pictures. The manual functionality is a definate plus as well, as the smaller lenses of these cameras is great for macro with good depth of field.
10/21/2005 6:36:43 AM
 
Manoj De Mel
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
worth for the price
9/29/2005 1:05:42 AM
 
Kristin Franke
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The DSC p100 is great for snapshots since you can throw it in your purse or pocket. It takes nice pictures and is easy to use but offers little in the way of manual creativity. The best feature is the super compact size.
9/8/2005 9:26:57 PM
 
Bonnie Cohen

member since: 8/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes excellent pictures
8/15/2005 3:37:50 PM
 
Susan M. Gerardi

member since: 7/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've been able to take great photos with this camera it is lightweight and easy to handle.
7/31/2005 2:59:45 PM
 
Marisa Yearta

member since: 7/29/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is a good camera for the money. I like the size, but in exchange get limited performance.
7/29/2005 11:26:57 AM
 
Jesse J. Leblanc

member since: 7/28/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
best $300 i've ever spent. i recomend it to everyone.
7/28/2005 5:36:56 AM
 
Ganesh S. Gharmalkar

member since: 7/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good Camera in medium budget
7/19/2005 1:17:01 AM
 
Margaret Sullivan

member since: 7/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera is very compact and light. The red eye works very well, better than other cameras I have dealt with. The only problem I have found so far is that the lens is very close to the edge of the camra so there is not much room for your fingers when holding.
7/3/2005 7:09:10 PM
 
Prabodhan Potdar
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cool camera & Slim Piece
7/2/2005 5:17:39 AM
 
Dodie Pajer

member since: 6/11/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy using this camera because of its size and ease to carry around in my purse or tote (in a protective case, of course!). There is so much to learn about using it, which I am working on.
6/12/2005 11:17:00 AM
 
Karim F. Kassem

member since: 6/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
5 Mega pixel 3x Optical Zoom
6/8/2005 10:26:52 AM
 
Mick T. Jackson

member since: 4/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The PC100 takes 1.5mp still as well as digital video. It has been superceded now and the newer model shoots 3mp stills. I have both cams and am pleased with them both.
4/12/2005 5:46:00 AM
 
Mick T. Jackson

member since: 4/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Sony PC 100 is a digital video camera with a Carl Zies lens and a 1.5 mp still image capacity via a Sony Memory Stick. It has been superceded now the newer model having 3 mp still capacity. I have both cameras and they have both been very good.However it is so very good to get back to shooting with a Nikon.
4/12/2005 5:39:36 AM
 
Alexis G. Patterson

member since: 4/9/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think this is a wonderful camera, and if I use the right settings, it captures the details I want perfectly. I gave it a 4, because I really would love to get a Nikon sometime soon!!
4/9/2005 12:32:11 AM
 
Mandi B. Relyea-Voss
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/31/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good little digital camera. I prefer my manual...but for pictures I want to manipulate on the computer it's a great tool. And it's also good to be able to see the pictures right after you take them...to determine if they are worth keeping or need to be re-shot.
3/31/2005 6:32:40 PM
 
Reena  Singh

member since: 1/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is easy to handle. Lots of options. But it works best with a tripod and if put on timer it snaps great photographs.
1/21/2005 10:10:04 PM
 
Patrick Blochle

member since: 12/30/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
First digital camera so not sure what to compare it to, however, pictures do come out way better than my film photos! Many different settings to choose from, the manual mode is great. Interesting shutter speed options. I have the DCS-P120, which is a special edition black 100 that comes with case and extra battery, bought on amazon.co.uk
12/30/2004 8:04:29 PM
 
Melvin  Tan Lik Chern

member since: 9/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very trendy and for normal use. Small and handy, so that you can carry it wherever you want. Some of the best shots are taken when you lease expected.
9/28/2004 6:23:17 AM
 
Billy Smoke

member since: 9/13/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its a good compact point and shoot!
9/25/2004 2:39:09 PM
 
Sara Lynn Greenwalt

member since: 9/15/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Sometimes turns out blurrier than you expect.
9/21/2004 7:49:06 AM
 
Darren Alexander
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/27/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just got the camera and am completely happy with it! Used to use a Cybershot DSC-P31.. 2 mp and switching to the 5 mp has made a huge difference in clarity and quality! Plus it's got the Carl Zeiss lens AND has movie mode, WITH sound! Very worth your money @ $399 US Oh yeah.. plus you can but affordable attachments for it. Such as wide angle lens, telephoto lens, polarizer, etc.
6/3/2004 2:08:45 PM
 

41 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-P100 Digital Camera  from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.