PowerShot S60 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Different view of...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S60 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 13-by-17-inch enlargements
  • UA wide-angle 3.6x zoom lens
  • Slim design with sliding lens cover; 9-point AiAF autofocus
    system;
  • Store images on Compact Flash (CF) cards (32 MB CF card
    included)
  • Powered by rechargeable battery pack NB-2LH (included with
    charger)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


18 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Barbara Stanbro 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:09:27 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera takes excellent pictures with vibrant colors. It is compact and fits easily into my purse or pocket. Great camera for hiking.
5/23/2006 5:09:27 PM
 
Ben E. Neubauer 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 3:53:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 3:53:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 3:53:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 3:53:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 3:53:26 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Camera has great portability and durability. Not so great for taking creative photos, but it works. Manual settings are a plus, but i dislike the slidding lens cover and the buttons have strange placements.
4/3/2006 3:53:26 PM
 
David Tong 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 8:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 8:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 8:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 8:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 8:08:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Compact yet useful
2/27/2006 8:08:10 PM
 
Deborah Liperote
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:38:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:38:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:38:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:38:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:38:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a cute little camera. Takes sharp picture and I love the little movies it takes. I'm not into video. I don't feel like luggin 2 cameras, so this is a great option. I hate the delay it has in taking the picture. Sometimes I miss the moment!
2/9/2006 12:38:46 PM
 
Bryce Mobley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 9:23:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 9:23:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 9:23:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 9:23:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 9:23:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera has a solid feel,easy to hold steady. I love the pro settings ability. Produces very nice pictures for the price.
10/29/2005 9:23:10 PM
 
Arthur Yu 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 7:10:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 7:10:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 7:10:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 7:10:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 7:10:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes very high quality pictures. Wide range of manual options. Average iso noise. Slower than comparable cameras in picture taking and viewing.
9/14/2005 7:10:52 PM
 
Helen Ellis 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:05:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:05:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:05:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:05:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 3:05:03 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my "light pack" camera - I use it when I can't carry the big equipment - Get lots of pictures I would completely miss otherwise, and for the most part, they are pretty good. I use it mostly on automatic, which is the whole point - quick and easy.
7/21/2005 3:05:03 PM
 
James E. Nelson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2004
jenelsonphotography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 6:30:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 6:30:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 6:30:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 6:30:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 6:30:03 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Like: Raw capability, Manual controls, Compensation Dislike: Write speed, Shutter lag, Front cover slide has failed once right out of the box
6/16/2005 6:30:03 AM
 
Claire Fontaine 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 5:42:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 5:42:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 5:42:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 5:42:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 5:42:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good image quality for the pixels, lots of custom controls for a point and shoot
5/3/2005 5:42:59 PM
 
Jim Hafft 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 2:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 2:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 2:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 2:49:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 2:49:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Reliable, sharp, clear point and shoot 5 megapixel point and shoot. A real assest on field trips.
3/26/2005 2:49:34 PM
 
Manny Underberger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 9:45:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 9:45:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 9:45:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 9:45:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 9:45:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Mini version of my Canon's G5. Has all the same features.
2/23/2005 9:45:43 AM
 
GEORGE T. GANNAWAY 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 12:53:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 12:53:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 12:53:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 12:53:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 12:53:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
MAKES GREAT PICTURES . . ON AND OFF SWITCH IS NOT HANDY
2/8/2005 12:53:54 PM
 
Marilyn L. Amick 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2005 2:14:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2005 2:14:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2005 2:14:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2005 2:14:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2005 2:14:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far, I like everything about this camera. It's very handy for carrying in my purse so I always am prepared for the unexpected "Kodak moment". It's not an SLR, however, so doesn't have a few things I would like to have. Maybe someday.....
2/6/2005 2:14:39 PM
 
Lisa Winzeler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:17:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:17:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:17:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:17:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:17:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great little camera for the price. It has a great zoom lens and a lot of options for a tote around camera. I bought this camera for vacation and it really took some amazing shots.
1/7/2005 2:17:30 PM
 
Randi Rose
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 8:47:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 8:47:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 8:47:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 8:47:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 8:47:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's new so I am still learning but so far it's great!
1/4/2005 8:47:14 PM
 
Aidan Ward 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 1:45:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 1:45:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 1:45:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 1:45:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 1:45:11 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great quality photos, enough manual control to begin with. Pity it doesn't have a flash foot. Nice compromise between compact and pro camera.
12/20/2004 1:45:11 AM
 
Vicente P. Nogueira
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 3:31:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 3:31:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 3:31:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 3:31:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 3:31:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera given its size. You can carry it anywhere and has great manual controls and picture quality
11/2/2004 3:31:26 PM
 
Carol J. Marsh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/8/2003
Contact Carol
Carol's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:05:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:05:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:05:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:05:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:05:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Much better battery life than Coolpix 3100. Larger screen, manual controls, sharp pictures.
9/14/2004 5:05:48 PM
 

18 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S60 Digital Camera  from Amazon.com