EOS 20D Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras

Windmill
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 20D Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 8.2-megapixel sensor captures 3504 by 2336 pixel JPEG or RAW
    images
  • Body only, EF mount compatible with all Canon lenses in EF and
    EF-S lineup
  • Direct printing with PictBridge printers
  • Store images on CompactFlash memory card
  • Powered by rechargeable BP-511A 1390mAh battery pack


© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 1208 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michelle J. Jones 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2009 7:57:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2009 7:57:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2009 7:57:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2009 7:57:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2009 7:57:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Itís my first digital camera and I love it. I could not be happier with the action photos I able to get.
1/9/2009 7:57:33 AM
 
Britani  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like my camera alot.
9/11/2008 7:10:48 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2007 8:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2007 8:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2007 8:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2007 8:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2007 8:58:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera and my first Canon. However, I've had numerous film SLR, including Nikon, and Twin Lens Reflex cameras over my lifetime.

Due to injury, I've had to take point and shoot digital for travel, but there is nothing like the Canon EOS 20D, which is the best camera for the weight and price out there.

Newer models have some of the same functions with upgrades, but they are also heavier and cost more. I wanted a camera that was durable --well built; allowed me to go up to 3200 ISO when needed; and had an external sync for studio lights, as well as wonderful metering capability. This model camera has it. The only thing that I wanted which this model did not have, was the spot meter, but the partial meter works for most of what I capture.

I highly recommend the EOS 20D.

12/17/2007 8:58:50 AM
 
Tim  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2007 4:12:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2007 4:12:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2007 4:12:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2007 4:12:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2007 4:12:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had a Canon EOS 20D for a couple years and I must say it was excellent, ergonomically very easy to handle, I used a vertical grip on it which I would recommend, particularly if you're doing wildlife photgraphy which is my particular hobby.

The picture quality was outstanding, I never ever worried about not getting the result I wanted because of the camera. If you want further proof take a quick look through my galleries, I reckon they may just persuade you:

http://www.photovisionstudios.com/wildlife_photography_gallery_index.html

RED FOXES
http://www.photovisionstudios.com/red_fox_photographs.html

7/10/2007 4:12:22 AM
 
Sheri L. Lefty
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:52:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:52:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:52:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:52:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:52:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera, it works well and is built well. It has many customizable options, that allows the photographer to take full control of the camera. I upgraded to this from my first digital, a point and shoot, and my old Minolta X700, I am so glad I did!
6/22/2007 3:52:20 AM
 
Brian Ellefritz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 7:16:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 7:16:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 7:16:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 7:16:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2007 7:16:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My fourth digital (3 purchased and one borrowed from work). I've come up through the Canon ranks with a G2, then a Powershot 95 - I expected great pictures and got them. Saw comments here about the 20D not as sharp as a point and shoot - true; those sharpen in the firmware while the 20D needs to be sharpened, but I've learned to enjoy that exercise. I bought this to get good sports shots of my growing kids and it's been a wonder for that. If you're a hobbyist like me and don't use all the features, take a class (I am - thank you BetterPhoto!) and learn to drive this camera. It's fun and exciting to use it all. Have the 28-135 IS lens which I use almost full time; just got the 580EX flash and so far am delighted with it. Very few complaints after a year; the power switch isn't easy to snag if you want a fast shot (so I leave it on); the screen is too small (30D solved that). And every once in awhile it'll freeze on me but turning off and removing battery allows it to "reboot" I guess. I've sold a bunch of these to friends who have tried mine (either 20D's or XT's for the more budget minded). If I get a bad picture... well, it's pretty much my fault.
1/11/2007 7:16:17 PM
 
Dean Burke
Contact Dean
Dean's Gallery
designsbydeanburke.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2006 7:18:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2006 7:18:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2006 7:18:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2006 7:18:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2006 7:18:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera will be rememberd as the digital tool that has everything an artist would ever need. Cannon once again shows they understand how to, "Draw with light" !!!!

Dean

11/15/2006 7:18:17 PM
 
Georgeanne McIlveene
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2006 11:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2006 11:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2006 11:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2006 11:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2006 11:19:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fantastic camera. It does everything I want it to do and would do allot more if I knew more about it. The lens selection is amazing and really means more than the camera. My photographs have never looked this good with any other camera I have ever used.
11/5/2006 11:19:01 AM
 
Char Gordon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 3:14:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 3:14:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 3:14:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 3:14:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2006 3:14:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic camera. Auto setting is great...it is much like my 35mm camera (Olympus OM2, yeah an oldie but a GOODIE) and all settings are very workable. The quality of the photos is unbeatable!!!!
11/2/2006 3:14:57 PM
 
John W. Thaxton III
jaythaxton.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 8:57:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 8:57:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 8:57:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 8:57:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2006 8:57:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the camera because most photos are great, but sometimes my flesh tones have a very magenta look.
10/31/2006 8:57:35 PM
 
Kathy Cline
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/29/2006
Contact Kathy
Kathy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:48:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:48:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:48:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:48:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 6:48:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
MY FAVORITE CAMERA IN THE WORLD...ALWAYS A CANON!!!
9/1/2006 6:48:19 PM
 

First 10 of 1208 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS 20D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com