PowerShot A85 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Gdańsk at ni...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

Features:


  • High-performance 4.0 megapixel digital camera with 3x
    Optical/3.6x Digital/11x combined zoom
  • 1.8" LCD monitor for easier image previews and reviews
  • Exclusive Canon XImage Processor and iSAPS Technology for faster
    processing and excellent image quality
  • New Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloads
  • 9-point AiAF with Special Scene Modes for spectacular shots in
    special situations

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 72 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gavin C. Davies
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/12/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2008 1:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2008 1:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2008 1:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2008 1:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2008 1:17:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great digital camera for both beginners and more advanced users. Easy to use - it can be used as a simple point and shoot with excellent results and also has lots of features for more control.
3/7/2008 1:17:06 PM
 
Brenda Mount 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 9:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 9:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 9:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 9:42:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 9:42:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. Easy to use. Make a mistake, erase and re-do. Always have it ready for taking pictures of my kids and grandkids! That is what grandmas do!
9/11/2007 9:42:33 PM
 
D G
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/31/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 8:44:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 8:44:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 8:44:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 8:44:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 8:44:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What can I say, this was and still is my first camera. If you know your way around PS (for sharpening and dyanmic range adjustments), this is a compact phtographic wonder. Yes, it is slow (I always use static subjects and a tripod), it does get noisy from ISO 100 upwards (very smooth ISO 50, though), but it has outstanding image quality & a superb lens. If you care to view some of my shots, visit my gallery or, for a comprehensive portfolio shot almost exclusively with the A 85, try www.photo.net/photos/momente.
7/31/2006 8:44:17 PM
 
Dana Trimble 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:17:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:17:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:17:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:17:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:17:16 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Takes good pictures. Trouble with the autofocus on occassion, but in general I am very happy with this camera. Easy to use, lots of features.
6/29/2006 9:17:16 PM
 
Senay Shana Gucer 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 1:28:50 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 1:28:50 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 1:28:50 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 1:28:50 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 1:28:50 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
My camera is a compact one. So I can some trouble to shoot sky. Usually overexposing when I try to shoot it.
6/16/2006 1:28:50 AM
 
Khaled Backshish 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 9:10:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 9:10:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 9:10:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 9:10:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 9:10:40 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I enjoy using my camera as it is my first Digital Camera, it provides many features that could give flexibility compared with my previous Canon EOS regular camera. I admit I prefer cameras with bigger grip but they are still expensive. I am also enjoying being a member in Betterphoto, and looking forward to join competetion.
5/30/2006 9:10:40 AM
 
Sharon R. Hamilton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 1:32:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 1:32:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 1:32:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 1:32:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 1:32:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It really liked the camera. It was light weight, fit into my purse, takes great pictures. It also has a few settiings but not overwhelming. When I zoomed it was grainy and blurry. I did not like that feature. This camera recently broke and I since have bought another camera, a NikonD70s. I will enjoy all the features it has and the versitiliy that the point and shoot has and lots more.
5/5/2006 1:32:09 PM
 
Stephanie Marie Stephenson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 10:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 10:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 10:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 10:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 10:10:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am very happy with my camera.
4/30/2006 10:10:00 AM
 
Mary G. Scafaro
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:09:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:09:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:09:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:09:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:09:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i do love my canon powershot85 for the convenience. it does take wonderful shots and is very easy to use. it is a great camera to keep on hand at all times. what i don't like about it is the slowness of the camera. it takes awhile for the shutter to actually function! maybe i need new batteries!!
4/14/2006 7:09:30 PM
 
Michel M. Loiselle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 11:30:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 11:30:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 11:30:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 11:30:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 11:30:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent no nonsense point and shoot camera. Good grip, many modes and good macro mode. Also purchased wide angle and telephoto lens for this model.
4/12/2006 11:30:32 AM
 
Katherine E. Cullen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:21:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:21:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:21:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:21:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:21:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my very first digital camera and I think it's great for beginners, like myself. Has a lot of user-friendly features, but also has a lot of more advanced features that are always fun to play around with and learn from.
3/23/2006 7:21:11 PM
 

First 10 of 72 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy PowerShot A85 Digital Camera  from Amazon.com