Dimage Z3 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Little Elf Sheila
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage Z3 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 11-by-15-inch enlargements
  • Konica Minolta GT APO 12x optical zoom with CCD-shift anti-shake
    system; combines with 4x digital zoom for 48x total zoom
  • Fastest autofocus in its class (May 2004); captures movies with
    sound; PictBridge compatible
  • Store images on Secure Digital (SD) memory cards; 16 MB SD card
    included
  • Powered by 4 AA-size batteries (alkaline included, rechargeable
    NiMH recommended)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


53 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Songbird Cline
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/7/2007
Contact Songbird
Songbird's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It's terrific for almost everything. If you want a great zoom, get a SLR & long lens, but this is still my favorite for most things. The macro is great, I use it over my Nikon D40X for macro and I get great shots. It's lightweight with a good lens, and a great choice for a point and shoot. Of all the many digital camera's I have had, this is the best in it's class.
9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM
 
Keith Procter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Since my last review I have managed to figure this camera oput more. I noticed someone is having trouble seeing the picture playback on the screen. to see your pics better look through the viewfinder press the qv button and it will show the pic you just took, you can zoom into the pic with the zoom lever. just press menu to go back to taking pics.
One of the things I have also found is if you put the camera on M function then click menu, scroll down to white balance and put it onto the sun symbol in bright sunlight and cloudy, if its dull. Auto seems to not work as you would expect. also for good clear pics I find that the portrait function (head) seems to be the best for super macro in bright daylight left click the wheel to -3.
7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM
 
Gillian Oren 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love the zoom, it is quite light weight, has lots of manual controls but find it difficult to get used to finding things in the menus. Previously had an HP digital camera and felt more comfortable with that and my photos came out more to my liking.
7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM
 
Ruth Healy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful quality, nice zoom
6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM
 
Brian Auer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good mid-level camera with very descent optics. Good step up from a typical point-and-shoot.
6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM
 
Sandrine Nakata 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good value for a first camera. Easy to use for a beginner. Not great for indoor photos.
5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM
 
Eric K. Farewell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent camera for the money.
5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM
 
Lynn  Margason
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/9/2006
rhemaranchphotography.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've just started using this z3. I've been using the z1 for two years and really like it. Haven't gotten the z3 to take as sharp of photos as the z1, yet. Working on it. The difference is that the z3 takes bigger photos which give me more to work with after the fact; but, I prefer the originals in the z1. They are also very transportable (easy to email). I am hoping with time that I'll like the z3 as well as the z1. Not sure yet. The settings and buttons are all in the same place which helps. The LCD is harder to see (not because of size, something about the display). The body is exactly the same except the z3 is black (gets hotter in my hand). Supposedly, the z3 should be able to handle low light better (that's the weakness of the z1), but thus far, I haven't found that to be true.
5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM
 
Naomi M. Bush-Siemens 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Borrowed from husband, not bad, but poor in comparison to the A200
5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM
 
Zoltán Rab 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
best macro(1 cm), 12x zoom
4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM
 
Keith Procter 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the Dimage Z3 its pretty good on the auto side and quite good on the manual side too. If doing something small use super macro then only slightly zoom into your subject :).
Only drawback is for a beginner its quite a complicated camera. I particularly like the flash which gives you many features.
4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM
 
Kristin Ray 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 8:18:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 8:18:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 8:18:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 8:18:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 8:18:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the zoom on the Dimage Z3, but focusing is difficult -- sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't!
3/20/2006 8:18:20 PM
 
Shannon McLauchlan 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 8:00:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 8:00:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 8:00:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 8:00:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 8:00:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The camera is hard to control aperture because of sooo many menus- I miss the interchangable lens as well...
3/11/2006 8:00:49 AM
 
Melissa Hinton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:23:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:23:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:23:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:23:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:23:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really love my camera. I think it aids in my creativity, and takes great pictures. I love all of the options available to me. The only thing I don't always like is the built in flash.
3/2/2006 8:23:47 PM
 
Klaes Sřrensen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 1:46:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 1:46:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 1:46:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 1:46:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 1:46:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its a good camera if you are in the middle state betwen compact digital camera and a DSLR camera.

It has The Manual Program and it has a good Zoom (12x).

I my camera is only 3 months old now and has already shoot over 6000 photos with it. Its a Good starter Camera.

1/27/2006 1:46:35 PM
 
Pedro Arturo Angeles 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 8:17:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 8:17:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 8:17:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 8:17:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 8:17:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is a great camera, but it´s a digital camera not a SLR digital camera, but it´s a really good camera.
1/16/2006 8:17:28 PM
 
Erin K. Clark 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:49:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:49:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:49:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:49:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:49:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it's very user friendly
1/16/2006 3:49:36 PM
 
Kathy Radford
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2006
Contact Kathy
Kathy's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:45:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:45:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:45:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:45:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:45:34 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love the camera but wish I could afford a high pixel digital SLR.
1/3/2006 11:45:34 AM
 
H Dillon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 2:13:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 2:13:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 2:13:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 2:13:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 2:13:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use. Good at both zooming and doing macro. The biggest drawback is there is no manual focus which make taking pictures of things like spiderwebs very dificult.
12/18/2005 2:13:22 PM
 
Ashvin  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 1:59:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 1:59:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 1:59:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 1:59:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 1:59:09 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love the Super-macro mode. Hate the noise in long exposures.
12/15/2005 1:59:09 AM
 
Irma Rode 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 3:18:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 3:18:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 3:18:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 3:18:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 3:18:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
the long zoom helps to be more flexible in framing objects but the image quality not too satisfying for me. What i like the most from Z3 is the macro feature :D
11/5/2005 3:18:10 PM
 
Taska L. Martin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:50:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LIKE THIS CAMERA IT LETS ME DO THE BLACK AND WHITE THE SEPHIA AND REGULAR COLOR PICTURES WHEN IM TAKING THE PICTURE SO I DONT HAVE SO MUCH TO DO ON MY COMPUTER.
10/25/2005 6:50:03 AM
 
George D. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:19:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:19:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:19:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:19:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:19:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Is a good digital camera, with a good 12X optical zoom and 4MP resolution. What I don't like is the night shots.
9/23/2005 11:19:57 AM
 
Scott J. Veix 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 9:34:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 9:34:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 9:34:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 9:34:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 9:34:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good digital and love the 12X optical zoom. Wish it had a waterproof case (for kayaking) and waiting on getting my 7D for my Maxxum lenses.
8/18/2005 9:34:30 AM
 
Luke JF Moffett 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 11:29:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 11:29:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 11:29:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 11:29:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 11:29:20 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Z3 is a really good camera although limited in some areas its excellent for amateur photography especially for myself just starting off!
8/15/2005 11:29:20 AM
 
Rocky Funk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 6:22:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 6:22:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 6:22:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 6:22:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 6:22:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the Zoom! Overexposure in bright sunlight in Auto mode.
8/8/2005 6:22:48 PM
 
Michael Eyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 10:41:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 10:41:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 10:41:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 10:41:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 10:41:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Does everything I need; bright, cloudy, low, and night light? Not a problem. At near/maximum zoom however, sometimes it struggles for focus.
7/29/2005 10:41:17 PM
 
Robert N. Wise 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 6:48:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 6:48:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 6:48:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 6:48:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 6:48:31 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera for my needs. However the more I pursue model photography will probably buy a higher end camera but still use the Z3 for other shots... all in all a beautiful little camera
7/12/2005 6:48:31 AM
 
Allison D. Campbell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 9:49:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 9:49:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 9:49:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 9:49:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 9:49:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera!!!
6/25/2005 9:49:28 PM
 
MICHELLE B. CHRISTOPHER 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:23:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:23:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:23:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:23:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:23:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this camera is exceptional- it takes wonderful photos & has several options eg: B & W , sepia,& color as well as many different file size options.can be used manually or automatically as well as being a movie camera too.
6/7/2005 8:23:47 PM
 
Mike Slaughter
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 10:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 10:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 10:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 10:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 10:56:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Quick response, good color in daylight, great zoom lense, terrific macro, decent flash, grainy in low light, small and easy to carry.
6/3/2005 10:56:31 AM
 
Danny Friedman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:11:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Ok, when I first saw this camera I was impressed of its design. I have say that this is a very beautiful camera.
This camera is not hard to operate - it took me no more than 10 minutes in order to configure it and make it work in the way that I will be satisfied.
The 12X optical zoom is very neat feature (to be based on the fact that this is semi-professional camera) that combines very well with the optical AS that makes even the most furtherest objects look great!
The Macro shots in this camera are almost perfect, I have never seen this kind of detailing in a semi-professional camera (Go to my gallery and see for yourself).
BUT THAT ALL! beside this the camera sucks!
The indoor shots are one the worst shots I have ever seen, the outdoor are average (don't forget - semi-pro),the night scenes are way below average and the LCD is so small (1.5") that you can't see anything.
4/23/2005 2:11:22 PM
 
Danny Friedman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:10:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:10:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:10:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:10:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 2:10:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Ok, when I first saw this camera I was impressed of its design. I have say that this is a very beautiful camera.
This camera is not hard to operate - it took me no more than 10 minutes in order to configure it and make it work in the way that I will be satisfied.
The 12X optical zoom is very neat feature (to be based on the fact that this is semi-professional camera) that combines very well with the optical AS that makes even the most furtherest objects look great!
The Macro shots in this camera are almost perfect, I have never seen this kind of detailing in a semi-professional camera (Go to my gallery and see for yourself).
BUT THAT ALL! beside this the camera sucks!
The indoor shots are one the worst shots I have ever seen, the outdoor are average (don't forget - semi-pro),the night scenes are way below average and the LCD is so small (1.5") that you can't see anything.
4/23/2005 2:10:29 PM
 
Melissa Scholl 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 7:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 7:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 7:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 7:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 7:22:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I just got my camera and I like it, but I am still really learning how to use it!
4/5/2005 7:22:09 PM
 
Amanda C. Coggin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:31:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:31:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:31:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:31:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:31:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It's a great high-end point and shoot, great step before purchasing an SLR. Only thing I don't like is it only shoots JPEGs. Good for me for now.
4/4/2005 4:31:42 PM
 
Neil Baunsgard 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 10:26:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 10:26:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 10:26:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 10:26:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 10:26:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love 10 fps shooting and macro lense dont like battery life
4/2/2005 10:26:26 PM
 
Kelley May
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 7:13:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 7:13:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 7:13:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 7:13:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 7:13:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is categorized as a high end point and shoot. I am overall pleased with the quality of the camera for taking outdoor shots of all kinds. I am not pleased with indoor action shots or indoor shots overall. Flimsy memory card cover.
4/1/2005 7:13:53 AM
 
Sam J. Norris
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:53:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:53:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:53:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:53:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:53:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Advantages,Camera has excellent capabilities. Anti Shake in the body is wonderful. Can shoot in the museum shots without flash and tripod, when others are putting their cameras away. Shoots solid sharp no shake images handheld at 420 mm. 35 to 420mm zoom great, very fast response time for all functions and rubberized coating on body make it hard to scratch and easy to carry in your hand. Disadvantages, does not perform well on "Automatic" setting with contrasty images. A bit slow in repeated flash situations. All in all, a wonderful travel camera!
2/28/2005 10:53:20 AM
 
Tony C. Coble
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 8:15:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 8:15:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 8:15:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 8:15:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 8:15:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera performs well in all program modes, while allowing the user to use manual settings if desired.
2/1/2005 8:15:43 PM
 
Ken  Walker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 4:49:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 4:49:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 4:49:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 4:49:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 4:49:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Still learning it's unique properties but up to now I have been nothing but impressed.
1/23/2005 4:49:31 PM
 
Kevin S. Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/10/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 9:40:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 9:40:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 9:40:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 9:40:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 9:40:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fabulous combination of features in this little camera. Debated over and over regarding which camera I really wanted in this category and eventually the Z3 won out. The image quality may be average, but the rest of the camera excels. The 12X optical is fabulous - and the anti-shake really does work. I have a shaky hand and the tripod has always been my best friend. While I think you still need a tripod to really benefit from having a zoom like this - the AS helps in all situations. I enjoy photoshop so image quality out of the camera isn't a huge negative for me. Besides - its not bad, above average perhaps, but simply not outstanding. The 12X optical on this camera allows you to create some fabulous prints despite being limited to 4MP. Less cropping after the shot has been captured! All the manual features are a big plus for me - just like my non digital SLR. As well, you are faced with a plethora of auto features that will bring out the best in any class of photographer. While its still essentially a point and shoot - it acts much bigger. Im not a professional photographer by any means but I certainly am an enthusiast and this camera has brough back some of the passion I had been missing!
Last thing - not too many people touch on video in these reviews but the Z3 has excellent capabilities - coupled with a high speed 1 gig SD card and you can shoot some great little movies with audio. Clear, bright and without shaky hands!

Biggest pluses:
start up time
focus speed (wanders in low light though)
anti-shake
12X optical
progressive capture (just hold the shutter til youre sure youve got the shot)

1/15/2005 9:40:19 PM
 
Alicia A. Harper 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:47:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:47:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:47:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:47:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:47:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, a bit sensitive when using zoom. Marvelous features, flexibility, just a little hard to get used to.
1/9/2005 6:47:05 PM
 
Alicia A. Harper 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:45:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:45:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:45:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:45:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 6:45:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An extremely sensitive camera, especially in zoom. Many features, but takes a while to get used to them and the camera.
1/9/2005 6:45:14 PM
 
Cherie Palmer 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:54:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:54:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:54:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:54:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:54:19 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera does take great shots, but in low light it's almost useless. At a wedding this weekend I missed some critical shots because of the shutter delay and flash recharge. For nearly $500 it should perform better than it did. I'm returning it.
1/5/2005 2:54:19 PM
 
Tammi J. McDonald 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:15:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:15:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:15:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:15:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:15:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
just got it
1/5/2005 7:15:51 AM
 
peter milosevic 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:01:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:01:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:01:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:01:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 3:01:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cool camera. Great macro & optical zoom!
11/22/2004 3:01:59 PM
 
John H. Abels 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 11:15:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 11:15:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 11:15:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 11:15:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 11:15:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought it because it has a virtual SLR.
10/30/2004 11:15:08 PM
 
Lynette M. Barrett 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:53:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:53:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:53:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:53:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:53:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best camera I have ever owned, very easy to use , takes Great pics.
10/18/2004 9:53:34 AM
 
Lynette M. Barrett 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2004 9:48:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best optical and digital camera!!
10/18/2004 9:48:15 AM
 
Courtney A. Craver
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 9:32:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 9:32:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 9:32:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 9:32:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 9:32:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a wonderful digital camera for beginner digital photographers.
10/5/2004 9:32:31 AM
 
David A. H. Doherty 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 2:49:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 2:49:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 2:49:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 2:49:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 2:49:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
As you get to know this camera things get better. The antishake is not really usefull as it does not really work. It could also do with MORE mega pixels.. say 8+ and it would be the one to have, but its ok as far as the price goes.
9/15/2004 2:49:44 AM
 
David A. H. Doherty 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 6:57:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 6:57:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 6:57:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 6:57:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 6:57:12 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
so far still testing as I only got it 3 days ago
9/1/2004 6:57:12 PM
 
Terry Bromfield 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:19:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:19:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:19:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:19:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:19:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's my least expensive digital by a few dollars, but I love it when I don't want to carry a lot of accessories.
8/12/2004 8:19:07 PM
 

53 Reviews  

Buy Dimage Z3 Digital Camera from Amazon.com