BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage Z3 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Little Elf Sheila
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage Z3 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 11-by-15-inch enlargements
  • Konica Minolta GT APO 12x optical zoom with CCD-shift anti-shake
    system; combines with 4x digital zoom for 48x total zoom
  • Fastest autofocus in its class (May 2004); captures movies with
    sound; PictBridge compatible
  • Store images on Secure Digital (SD) memory cards; 16 MB SD card
    included
  • Powered by 4 AA-size batteries (alkaline included, rechargeable
    NiMH recommended)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Songbird Cline
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Songbird
Songbird's Gallery

member since: 8/7/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It's terrific for almost everything. If you want a great zoom, get a SLR & long lens, but this is still my favorite for most things. The macro is great, I use it over my Nikon D40X for macro and I get great shots. It's lightweight with a good lens, and a great choice for a point and shoot. Of all the many digital camera's I have had, this is the best in it's class.
9/27/2007 9:47:33 AM
 
Keith Procter

member since: 4/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Since my last review I have managed to figure this camera oput more. I noticed someone is having trouble seeing the picture playback on the screen. to see your pics better look through the viewfinder press the qv button and it will show the pic you just took, you can zoom into the pic with the zoom lever. just press menu to go back to taking pics.
One of the things I have also found is if you put the camera on M function then click menu, scroll down to white balance and put it onto the sun symbol in bright sunlight and cloudy, if its dull. Auto seems to not work as you would expect. also for good clear pics I find that the portrait function (head) seems to be the best for super macro in bright daylight left click the wheel to -3.
7/7/2006 3:13:56 PM
 
Gillian Oren

member since: 7/4/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love the zoom, it is quite light weight, has lots of manual controls but find it difficult to get used to finding things in the menus. Previously had an HP digital camera and felt more comfortable with that and my photos came out more to my liking.
7/4/2006 3:02:05 PM
 
Ruth Healy

member since: 6/13/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful quality, nice zoom
6/13/2006 12:59:25 PM
 
Brian Auer

member since: 6/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good mid-level camera with very descent optics. Good step up from a typical point-and-shoot.
6/9/2006 7:32:38 PM
 
Sandrine Nakata

member since: 5/27/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good value for a first camera. Easy to use for a beginner. Not great for indoor photos.
5/27/2006 6:04:22 PM
 
Eric K. Farewell

member since: 5/23/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent camera for the money.
5/23/2006 10:26:46 AM
 
Lynn  Margason
BetterPhoto Member
rhemaranchphotography.com

member since: 3/9/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've just started using this z3. I've been using the z1 for two years and really like it. Haven't gotten the z3 to take as sharp of photos as the z1, yet. Working on it. The difference is that the z3 takes bigger photos which give me more to work with after the fact; but, I prefer the originals in the z1. They are also very transportable (easy to email). I am hoping with time that I'll like the z3 as well as the z1. Not sure yet. The settings and buttons are all in the same place which helps. The LCD is harder to see (not because of size, something about the display). The body is exactly the same except the z3 is black (gets hotter in my hand). Supposedly, the z3 should be able to handle low light better (that's the weakness of the z1), but thus far, I haven't found that to be true.
5/19/2006 6:50:24 AM
 
Naomi M. Bush-Siemens

member since: 5/12/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Borrowed from husband, not bad, but poor in comparison to the A200
5/12/2006 9:23:01 PM
 
Zoltán Rab

member since: 4/6/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
best macro(1 cm), 12x zoom
4/6/2006 9:45:17 AM
 
Keith Procter

member since: 4/3/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the Dimage Z3 its pretty good on the auto side and quite good on the manual side too. If doing something small use super macro then only slightly zoom into your subject :).
Only drawback is for a beginner its quite a complicated camera. I particularly like the flash which gives you many features.
4/4/2006 7:05:40 AM
 

First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Dimage Z3 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.