PowerShot A310 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Music-color
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A310 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.2-megapixel captures enough detail to create photo-quality
    10-by-14-inch enlargements
  • 5.1x digital zoom
  • 5-point autofocus; VGA movie mode; PictBridge compatible
  • Store images on Compact Flash Type I memory cards (32 MB card
    included)
  • Powered by 2 AA-size batteries (alkaline included, rechargeable
    NiMH recommended)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


28 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2006 12:03:42 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2006 12:03:42 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2006 12:03:42 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2006 12:03:42 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2006 12:03:42 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
when I first got the camera, it was great, it was my first digital camera, I was 13. then when I really got into taking alot of pictures it didnt do much good. I had to wait forever to take the picture, and then I would lose the shot I was trying to capture.with all new cmeras out there get one of with better zoom, and a little quicker when taking the shots. so I do not reconmend this camera, maybe for 8-13 year old cuz they dont really care, but spend your money else where.
9/30/2006 12:03:42 PM
 
Maura  1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 11:19:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 11:19:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 11:19:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 11:19:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 11:19:51 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
This camera is a total nightmare. The batteries have to be replaced if you take 8-9 flash pictures in a row. When trying to take pictures there is a several second delay while you hold the button down. I DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS CAMERA TO OTHER PEOPLE!!
8/10/2006 11:19:51 AM
 
Sara Morano 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 12:21:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 12:21:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 12:21:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 12:21:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 12:21:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i like the camera i use because the pictures i take come out with pretty good quality, really its only flaw is that it sometimes takes a few seconds to take a picture as you hold down the button...its a pain sometimes
6/26/2006 12:21:14 PM
 
Dara M. Brook 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2006 4:50:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2006 4:50:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2006 4:50:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2006 4:50:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2006 4:50:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good pictures in sunlight, but the button can be slow.
5/26/2006 4:50:55 AM
 
Debra L. Varela 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 12:54:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 12:54:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 12:54:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 12:54:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 12:54:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera, but it is only 3.2 mega pixels. The technology for these cameras increased quicker than my purchase. This camera is perfect for my needs.
5/1/2006 12:54:45 PM
 
Janice L. Aburadi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:04:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:04:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:04:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:04:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:04:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my canon digital, A310 power shot. I can take pictures in total darkness, and they come out perfect! And, the fact that I never have to buy film or batteries! I bought rechargable batteries, and a charger to recharge them. It is 3.2 mega pixels and there is a zoom, that you do manually. and after u take a picture, you can zoom in on the picture, after it is taken. This is an older camera, about 6yrs old, but, it is the best thing I ever bougt. I can also make videos, and has a digital chip that you can take out to get 4x6 pictures made. That is a pretty good size. I love photography. I would be lost without it. Also, I can download my digital videoes off the camera, to the computer, and make cd's, of all the videos, and pictures.
4/19/2006 5:04:51 PM
 
Janice L. Aburadi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:03:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:03:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:03:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:03:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 5:03:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my canon digital, A310 power shot. I can take pictures in total darkness, and they come out perfect! And, the fact that I never have to buy film or batteries! I bought rechargable batteries, and a charger to recharge them. It is 3.2 mega pixels and there is a zoom, that you do manually. and after u take a picture, you can zoom in on the picture, after it is taken. This is an older camera, about 6yrs old, but, it is the best thing I ever bougt. I can also make videos, and has a digital chip that you can take out to get 4x6 pictures made. That is a pretty good size. I love photography. I would be lost without it. Also, I can download my digital videoes off the camera, to the computer, and make cd's, of all the videos, and pictures.
4/19/2006 5:03:36 PM
 
John Mueller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:33:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:33:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:33:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:33:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:33:02 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the camera for the compactness.
4/17/2006 7:33:02 AM
 
Ajay `. Krishna 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:37:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:37:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:37:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:37:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:37:17 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Technicallay speaking about my camera i am very improper person. But i can say that it takes good photos. the closer objects the more good pictures. But the zoom provided in this camara I am very much unhappy with it. It gives very poor result.
4/2/2006 9:37:17 AM
 
Nicole M. Slaughter 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:02:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:02:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:02:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:02:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 1:02:12 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
what i like most about digital cameras is the ability to preview the picture immediately. i'm always experimenting with camera settings, lighting, and different perspectives and it doesn't always work out. because i experiment so much i have alot of photos and with my digital camera i can hook it up to my computer and store my photos on there instead of in albums and boxes.
3/1/2006 1:02:12 AM
 
Nicole M. Slaughter 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:58:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
what i like most about digital cameras is the ability to preview the picture immediately. i'm always experimenting with camera settings, lighting, and different perspectives and it doesn't always work out. because i experiment so much i have alot of photos and with my digital camera i can hook it up to my computer and store my photos on there instead of in albums and boxes.
3/1/2006 12:58:55 AM
 
Monyeen R. Samson 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 9:52:26 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 9:52:26 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 9:52:26 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 9:52:26 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 9:52:26 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
i regret that i bought this kind of cam... the zoom doesnt work well and i cant take consecutive pics in a matter of 5 or 7 seconds, it would waste time and u cant capture the movement u like.
2/13/2006 9:52:26 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:54:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:54:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:54:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:54:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 11:54:37 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a very good camera but the battery does not last long.
1/19/2006 11:54:37 AM
 
Stacy-Ann Hyde
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/11/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 1:56:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 1:56:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 1:56:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 1:56:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 1:56:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Versatile and easy to manipulate. Allows for creativity as well. CAn prove difficult if the settings are altered in a way not best for the pictures.
11/8/2005 1:56:58 PM
 
Sudheesh Satheeshkumar 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:45:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:45:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:45:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:45:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:45:09 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
the camera i sa very good one except that i learnt that it does not deliver very clear pictures when in zoom mode.otherwise,it is very good from an maateur'soint of view
10/14/2005 11:45:09 AM
 
Christina  Low 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:59:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:59:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:59:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:59:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:59:16 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
good basic camera.
10/1/2005 8:59:16 AM
 
Joćo Marcelo M. Campos 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 3:51:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 3:51:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 3:51:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 3:51:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 3:51:11 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice camera but doesnt have many options.
8/18/2005 3:51:11 AM
 
Amy  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 9:18:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 9:18:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 9:18:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 9:18:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 9:18:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the clarity
7/25/2005 9:18:32 PM
 
Dan Renfro 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:00:42 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:00:42 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:00:42 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:00:42 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:00:42 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Canon A310 does an excellent job in a variety of situations, but flash is not one of them due to very slow start up of the flash. This little camera also suffers a slow start up time in general, but if you're not doing action shots it's liveable. The lens is the usual high quality I expect from Canon and it's ability to focas to within 1.5" of the lens makes for some goos macro shots.
7/15/2005 6:00:42 AM
 
April D. Eisenman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 4:10:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 4:10:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 4:10:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 4:10:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 4:10:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i guess the only problem i have with it is that its hard to understand how to use it ...but then i haven't read the manual that came with either...it all seems like greek to me!
6/3/2005 4:10:59 PM
 
Mary K. Klose 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:10:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:10:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:10:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:10:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 8:10:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great pictures, nice size, uses the same CF media as my SLR.
5/24/2005 8:10:32 AM
 
Daian Gan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:18:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:18:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:18:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:18:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:18:55 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
What i like about my camera is that it is small and i can take it anywhere
5/20/2005 8:18:55 PM
 
Daian Gan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:34 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
What i like about my camera is that it is small and i can take it anywhere
5/20/2005 8:15:34 PM
 
Elizabeth Bagby Schooler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:04:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:04:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:04:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:04:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2005 10:04:18 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. I love the convenience of it... always ready to take a pictue. I do not like how pixelated the photos get when zooming.
2/28/2005 10:04:18 AM
 
Carlos H. Alfaro 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 5:17:14 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 5:17:14 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 5:17:14 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 5:17:14 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 5:17:14 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
it needs an optical zoom
2/25/2005 5:17:14 PM
 
Kathryn Castellanos 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 2:27:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 2:27:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 2:27:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 2:27:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 2:27:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love everything about it other than it takes too long to warm up for the flash....
2/10/2005 2:27:05 PM
 
Manda  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 10:29:25 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 10:29:25 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 10:29:25 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 10:29:25 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 10:29:25 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Complicated camera, but very nice quality
10/13/2004 10:29:25 AM
 
Steven Butterworth 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 6:47:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 6:47:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 6:47:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 6:47:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 6:47:00 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
New to digital photography, but definitely getting better results by having the camera set in manual. Neat camera for snapshots but I am not so happy for landscapes, I miss a zoom and I realize now digital zoom is nothing.
8/24/2004 6:47:00 AM
 

28 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot A310 Digital Camera from Amazon.com