BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Photosmart R707 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart R707 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor (2612 x 1968 pixels) for enlargements up to
    20 x 30 inches
  • 3x optical zoom plus 8x digital zoom for 24x total
  • In-camera red-eye removal; movie mode with audio at 30 frames
    per second
  • Internal 32 MB memory; compatible with Secure Digital (SD) and
    MultiMedia (MMC) memory cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery; connects to PCs and
    Macs via USB 2.0

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


38 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mike Valeriani
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Great to carry around. Many pics out of focus. Great the adaptive lighting technology. Too bad when it brakes HP won't fix it... they will just replace it with a used one for 2/3 of the price of a new one. People say "they never brake"... mine broke. People also told me video cameras do not brake... mine broke last year, and with what it cost me to fix I could have bought another one. Sometimes it's really worth investing in a professional camera... at least when they brake they fix'em!
1/26/2007 7:58:36 AM
 
Erika Lyn Smith
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/27/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the small size of the HP707, which allows me to keep it inside my purse and with me at all times. The preset features provide incredible flexibility and creativity for any situation I find myself desiring to shoot a picture. The macro and infinity features are quick and easy to flip between. This camera takes crisp, super clear pictures. I use a 1GB photo card and always take my pictures on the highest resolution and I still can get 398 pictures. The HP has an incredible long battery life. The camera comes with two batteries, so you always one ready to go. The only down fall for this camera is that it is a fixed lens and does not allow for the use of other lens or filters. This camera is very durable. I have fallen on it and with it several times and it has not affected the quality of my photos.
5/31/2006 2:31:51 PM
 
Andreea Tirpe
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/24/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It surprises me somethimes!
5/25/2006 12:46:25 AM
 
Jessica A. Eik
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/20/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm a beginning digital photographer and currently am just absolutely thrilled with the clarity, sharpness, and options available on my camera. However, I know from 20 years ago when I had my first Canon AE-1 SLR that it'll lead to more and more "have-to-haves!"
5/22/2006 1:26:43 PM
 
Tatum  Rene Little

member since: 4/24/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera doesnít catch colors very well. If I donít exaggerate the saturation, then my pictures look faded and bleached.
4/24/2006 10:05:33 PM
 
Chelsea Smith

member since: 3/10/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really compatible and easy the work with.
3/10/2006 12:31:57 AM
 
Naomi James
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/9/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The R707 is a good little P&S camera. Not at the quality of more expensive DSLR's of course but for a P&S its not bad. It does have a problem with noise in the skies depending on lighting, though neat image clears that up pretty good. When I am using the manual focus for really closeup shots it is very hard to tell if the focus is on or not.
3/9/2006 1:24:14 PM
 
Marlene Groennert
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/12/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great shots, easy use, compact
2/24/2006 5:36:56 AM
 
May-Ling  Haywood
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/12/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera has great features such as digital zoom, 5.1 MP resolution for sharp prints, focussing options etc.
2/12/2006 11:10:56 PM
 
Michael A. Moore
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/10/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice camera. Small compact size. Good pictures.
2/10/2006 12:23:53 PM
 
Tanya Nagar

member since: 1/28/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
As far as a simple digital camera goes, this is great. It's small and compact and easy-to-use. However, there are features that it lacks which would come in most useful for somebody more interested in artistic photography rather than for someone who just wants to take snapshots. Still, considering it's not very expensive, I'm pleased with it. In the near future I'm looking to buy a more sophisticated camera (a DSLR probably) so that I can experiment more and have more options/functions to choose from.
1/28/2006 7:19:24 AM
 
Lana A. Parent
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/22/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is a refurbished camera that was a replacement for my HP945. I find that it is more difficult to hold. Small view finder and LCD screen.
1/14/2006 4:24:30 PM
 
Carrisa L. Clifton

member since: 12/16/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I feel that my camera is a good middle-of-the-road camera. It does a great job, and the 'zoom' feature is VERY good. Although, I do look at other photos and acknowledge that my camera may not be able to capture the clarity that others may. Overall, I am very satisfied.
12/16/2005 10:32:38 AM
 
Gerry R. Lloyd

member since: 10/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I truly find this camera to be the most versatile & compact with amazing resoulution and the software that comes with it is quite extensive.
11/29/2005 5:11:54 AM
 
Susan 

member since: 11/8/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Well, what can i say its a good camera I guess! lol.. It has took a beating but still does a great job for what its limited to. But of course I might be wrong, I just see a nice picture!! I would like to upgrade to something a little more "proffesional" but don't know nothing much about the slr deal and stuff. So I'm stuck.. heh. It is really bad on the red eye, its software for removal inside the camera actually takes it out about 50% of time, usually its gotta go to Photoshop cs2 anyways.. :) It has 10 shooting modes, and a video capture mode.
11/8/2005 9:57:32 AM
 
robin k. porter

member since: 11/3/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like having a small point and shoot to take anywhere so i am always ready for a photo opertunity.
11/4/2005 6:43:32 AM
 
Catarina Clemente

member since: 8/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Best camera to learn the first steps. Good nocturn snapshots!
10/12/2005 9:20:02 AM
 
Marcia 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera and HP is really good about the warranty. I wore mine out within 8 mos., they sent me a brand new camera and another years warranty. I only wish I had more megapixels, especially when I use the Zoom feature
10/5/2005 10:51:04 AM
 
Dottie A. Harmon

member since: 9/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think that for my first camera, that I made a good choice to choose an hp digital camera, it has everything I need for a beginner, and it is easy to use, it has 5.1 MP, so I belive that I made a good choice.
9/17/2005 11:06:49 AM
 
Mohit Malik

member since: 9/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A really good camera for beginners. You can see that from the pictures that I took when I was in Canada. Some of the pictures unexpectedly came out to be very good.
9/7/2005 7:45:14 AM
 
Cameron Donaldson

member since: 9/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this camera for a beginner photographer that wants to do more then just point and shoot.
8/22/2005 5:54:08 AM
 
Christa G. Spickes

member since: 8/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is easy to use for a beginner.
8/18/2005 6:38:40 AM
 
Sarah  Hartley

member since: 8/9/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A wonderful multi-use camera. Lots of artistic settings that are easy and quick to set and simple auto modes that are good for casual photography. High quality pictures that are good to enlarge. Very compact for carrying everyday to capture that spontaeous inspiration or the "once in a life time" shot.
8/16/2005 11:58:08 AM
 
Anna Alexander

member since: 8/9/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I think this camera is good for beginners. However, I would not use it for concerts due to the slow reaction time, and it does break easily.
8/9/2005 11:03:47 PM
 
Frank A. Nielsen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
HP 707 is a very nice little camere - but not enough manual oppotunities. f.x. shutter/aperture. Very nice as no. 2 to my NIKON D70s.
8/4/2005 5:15:33 AM
 
Mike T. Schulz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a point and shoot camera it is excellent! there could be more aperture settings but I have still taken some good night shots.
7/27/2005 11:25:49 PM
 
Subha Nandi

member since: 7/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best that I can get in this range...
7/18/2005 5:49:08 AM
 
Anita Volz

member since: 5/30/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought brand new last year and according to magazine and consumers it's rates among the top three! Our family loves the quality and versatility!
5/30/2005 8:18:52 PM
 
Tammy Miller

member since: 5/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good inexpensive camera
5/9/2005 12:36:42 PM
 
Kevin P. Beavis

member since: 4/11/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is excellent for the price at only £200, but is still not exactly the professional quallity I want.
4/11/2005 4:20:13 PM
 
Silas W. Hanneman

member since: 3/4/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only way to make this camera better is to add MPs.
3/4/2005 9:57:13 AM
 
Michael Nicholson

member since: 2/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good basic camera
2/26/2005 5:18:48 PM
 
Michael Nicholson

member since: 2/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good basic camera
2/26/2005 5:17:58 PM
 
BOB WAGNER

member since: 9/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just received it for Christmas. Its going to take a little experence on it before I throw away my film camara. But so far It does well.
1/30/2005 12:34:20 PM
 
BOB WAGNER

member since: 9/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
JUST GOT IT FOR CHRISTMAS. IT WILL TAKE TIME TO SWITCH FOR FILM TO DIGITAL. BUT WHAT I'VE SEEN SO FAR LOOKS REAL GOOD. 5.1MP 34X ZOOM, WITH SOUND AND VIDEO.
1/29/2005 8:54:24 AM
 
Miguel A. Alvarez

member since: 10/20/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Neat little camera with lots of features
11/23/2004 7:42:48 AM
 
Raymond Lee

member since: 11/15/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Extremely easy to use. In camera red eye reduction. Instantly piece together a panoramic and view the whole thing. Photo tips tell you what's wrong with image and how to fix it. It also has a help system to explain each setting. This camera is excellent for the beginner photographers who just want to point and shoot. There is very little manual control. There are only a couple setting for aperture priority and no shutter priority setting. Surprising this camera does take very nice pictures.
11/15/2004 2:08:23 AM
 
Ron Bernardo

member since: 1/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good camera!!
8/1/2004 11:12:28 PM
 

38 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Photosmart R707 Digital Camera  from Amazon.com


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.ģ All Rights Reserved.