Coolpix 5200 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Wind Turbine
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 5200 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 13-by-17-inch enlargements
  • 3x Nikkor optical zoom lens combines with 4x digital zoom for
    12x total zoom
  • 1.5-inch LCD display; 15 Scene modes; movie mode with sound;
    PictBridge compatible
  • Store images in 12 MB internal memory or optional Secure Digital
    (SD) cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (included with
    charger)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Terry L. Lazar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:18:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:18:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:18:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:18:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:18:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is small, fits into my purse, and takes awesome pictures. I can't understand why it is not in your list of most popular cameras.
7/4/2006 5:18:37 AM
 
Janette C. Castle 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 7:47:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 7:47:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 7:47:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 7:47:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 7:47:12 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes high res. pics, but slow.
3/24/2006 7:47:12 PM
 
Travis Winstanley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 12:34:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 12:34:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 12:34:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 12:34:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 12:34:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is very good at macro. Takes quite a long time to take photos though - lots of time taken in focusing and stuff like that. Used to have an olympus 3.1m pixel camera - this is much better and about the same price. Has a good combination of scene modes (haven't used them all yet - mainly used the panorama mode which is great and the accompanying software is marvellous.) Loads of distortion around the corners - I haven't tried sorting it on the computer, but know software that can. Good start-up camera probably, and has options if you are starting up with the intention of stepping-stone-ing to something else. I hope that sort of makes sense
3/18/2006 12:34:44 PM
 
KATRINA KRAMER 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:10:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE IT--GREAT CLEAR PICTURES/CAN DO A LOT OF THINGS WITH IT - GREAT COLOR IN THE PICTURES - TAKES GREAT ACTION SHOTS
12/2/2005 8:10:54 PM
 
JOHANNNA G. LAKIN 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 7:31:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 7:31:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 7:31:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 7:31:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 7:31:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like my nikon 5200, it has several menue options to chose from so I can almost always find a mode to with the lighting I'm in. I do not like the way it takes inside pictures. They come out blury or the person looks pale.
10/16/2005 7:31:34 PM
 
Corrie Bramley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 8:55:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 8:55:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 8:55:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 8:55:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 8:55:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really love this camera. The size is great and the quality of my photos is always amazing. I am a beginner in photography and would like to upgrade my camera within time. For now, this camera does everything that I need it to.
10/5/2005 8:55:56 PM
 
Gustiano . 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:09:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:09:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:09:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:09:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:09:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I likes my camera because it has a feature of selecting whether to use an auto focus or manual focus. It gives an option also of the white balance adjustment. There also a digital zoom feature. The menu options are also user-friendly, so that very easy to find what we want. I prefer to use Nikon rather than Sony, somehow the photo result is different.
9/27/2005 10:09:23 AM
 
Thejas K. Rajaram 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 4:58:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 4:58:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 4:58:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 4:58:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 4:58:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera has a lot of features, for different kinds of lighting, and locations. The red eye reduction should be improved in the camera, and sharpness of the images could be worked on, by the manufacturer.
9/23/2005 4:58:56 PM
 
Bhupinder Pal Singh Gill 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 8:07:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 8:07:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 8:07:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 8:07:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 8:07:26 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good results and value for money
9/17/2005 8:07:26 PM
 
Alex Hofbauer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 1:15:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 1:15:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 1:15:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 1:15:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 1:15:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes Great Pictures
8/29/2005 1:15:24 PM
 
Stephanie M.  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 9:25:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 9:25:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 9:25:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 9:25:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 9:25:51 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's small and easy to hold. I like the plant feature on it. The settings are nice. It's relatively easy to use. A little hard to get to focus. I don't like how it takes forever to clear the screen after you've taken a picture, I need to be able to take a second picture quicker.
8/27/2005 9:25:51 PM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Coolpix 5200 Digital Camera from Amazon.com