BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Pronea S APS SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : APS Point and Shoots

House on the Twee...
View photos created with this camera

Feature Highlights:

  • Easy to use, SLR-style APS camera w/big and bright through-the-lens viewing
  • Ultra compact design is less than 15 ounces with the IX Nikkor 30-60mm zoom lens
  • Sleek, lightweight, and comfortable-to-handle body design that offers quiet operation
  • All the features and advantages of the Advanced Photo System, including 3 print formats and drop-in loading
  • Five comprehensive automatic exposure modes
  • New Auto-Servo AF automatically chooses to lock focus or activate focus tracking according to whether the subject is stationary or moving. This ensures sharp focus of stationary or moving subjects
  • Hide-away automatic flash with four versatile flash modes
  • Matrix Balanced Fill-Flash provides automatic balanced exposure of the foreground subject and background scene
  • Optional remote operation with ML-L1 Remote
  • CR2 (2) batteries not included

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Windle Barnes

member since: 4/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the versatility of the APS film and the quality is no less than 35mm. I have a wonderful 28-200mm Tamron lens that lets me take any picture that I want. I enjoy getting those tough shots and it is simple enough for the kids and wife to enjoy. Super light and small. A great combo of the smallest SLR with the smallest 28-200mm lens. Can live without it!
4/20/2006 4:04:16 AM
 
John S. Gill

member since: 3/11/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this old going out of date APS camera. Takes great photos and is extremely light in my backpack on multiday hikes.
3/21/2006 9:15:32 PM
 
Christina Nieuwoudt

member since: 3/31/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent snapshot camera, light to carry. Drawback is specific lenses. Not interchangable with other SLR lenses.
3/31/2005 8:29:22 PM
 
Sheila  W.  Howey

member since: 5/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am new at photography not sure how to rate my camera overall. I am totally satisfied with what I am learning about it so far. ANy critiques whether positive or negative will be ppreciated................just keep in mind i am a beginner and am learning, by trial and error.
2/20/2005 9:28:42 PM
 
Ron 

member since: 4/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Like the format choices and compactness and it takes great photos
10/20/2004 11:12:53 AM
 
Kevin J. Bakken

member since: 8/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great SLR from Nikon.
8/29/2004 11:51:40 PM
 
Jennifer Jarrell

member since: 1/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the first camera I have ever purchased. I was looking for a camera that was easy to use. I love panoramic so I wanted an APS camera but I also wanted to be able to change lenses because we go to alot of sporting events. I am really enjoy taking pictures but I am definetly an amatuer. This camera is perfect for me.
1/23/2004 10:48:12 PM
 
Michele C. Percival

member since: 11/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoy the versatility of this camera and the lens options of a SLR.
11/29/2003 12:03:09 PM
 
Raquel 

member since: 6/10/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What a fantastic camera! Takes great photos using APS film. Because it's lightweight, I use this camera more often when vacationing than my Nikon N80. I also use my Nikon zoom lenses on this camera with great results. I rarely use the IX lens it came with - I feel the other Nikon lenses I use with the Pronea do a much better job - but it still does take fine snap shots when I do. It's small, lightweight, and easy to use. It doesn't have the complete flexibility with setting both aperture and shutter speed at the same time, but one can set either aperture priority or shutter priority to get the effects one wants. It also doesn't have a built in light meter. Oh, well... Regardless, I have a lot of fun taking pictures with this camera. It's just a very fun, fun, fun camera.
6/21/2003 12:45:50 PM
 

9 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.