Exilim EX-Z40 Digital Camera


Casio

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Fountain Sunset
View photos created with this camera

The Exilim EX-Z40 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor (2304 x 1728) captures enough detail to
    create photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14
  • 3x optical zoom plus 4x digital zoom for 12x total
  • Includes docking cradle for charging battery/connecting to PC;
    2-inch LCD; long battery life
  • 9.7 MB internal memory; compatible with Secure Digital (SD) and
    MultiMedia (MMC) memory cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery; connects to PCs and
    Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marry Jane 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:10:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this camera is fun to use.. it takes easy shots of anything... I personaly own one.. I would recomened it to anyone
9/11/2008 7:10:12 AM
 
Miranda Kearns 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:49:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:49:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:49:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:49:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:49:49 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's easy to use . Most pituers come out good. lots of space for pituers on it. small so i can easly take it everywere all the time . Uplaods to computer easly
6/18/2006 8:49:49 PM
 
Hendrawan Hendra 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2006 12:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2006 12:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2006 12:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2006 12:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2006 12:47:16 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
i think casio exilim Z-40 can make to take a pictures good,cause it's simple to use. and if the macro condition, it can make the suitable condition to shot!it's my reason how i use casio exilim Z-40 to snap and shot :)
6/17/2006 12:47:16 AM
 
Justin Granados 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 4:11:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 4:11:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 4:11:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 4:11:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 4:11:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love this camera!
5/12/2006 4:11:25 PM
 
Lorena Elizabeth
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/18/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:47:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:47:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:47:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:47:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:47:30 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is small, compact and very handy, however it does not always grab the shot desired, it hesitates sometimes and that can be very frustrating. On the other hand it is incredibly user-friendly and has a fantastic "scene select" option which is very easy to use when compared to other cameras I checked out before purchasing this one. :) It's great for beginners such as myself...
5/10/2006 6:47:30 PM
 
Ron Ragonton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 6:03:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 6:03:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 6:03:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 6:03:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 6:03:40 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
at 4 megapixels, this compact camera can take decent photos. what i like about this compact point and shoot camera is that it's widest opening is at f/2.6 which makes it quite effective in taking close up shots. it doesn't take clear pictures under normal shooting conditions that's why i upgraded to it's newer sibling, the Z750.
12/24/2005 6:03:40 PM
 
Victor Alex Radulescu 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:25:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:25:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:25:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:25:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:25:28 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it's very nice because that it has large display and some interesting features like choosing the best layout depending on yhe light and enviorment. But it lacks the shooting speed as well as the only 17,4mm lenses. In a few words it is ideal for amateur photographers
11/21/2005 8:25:28 AM
 
Lee R. Huckaby 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:20:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:20:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:20:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:20:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:20:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great everyday camera. I wanted something that I could put in my shirt pocket and have with me at all times. I have had it about a year with no problems, Using it daily. I especially like the long battery life, I have yet to run it down, even in movie mode, I have used it for an hour and a half and still going. It has lots of features and easy to use. I have added a 1 GB Sd Card that lets me take all the photos I ever need at one time. No complaints.
11/18/2005 8:20:04 PM
 
Richard A. Baugham 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:48:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:48:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:48:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:48:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:48:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This Camera is Awesome for non-professional photographers that want to take professional looking pictures. It is very user friendly, and takes a great picture.
10/15/2005 6:48:39 PM
 
S ADA
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 11:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 11:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 11:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 11:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 11:21:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its cool to have a camera on your own
10/8/2005 11:21:02 PM
 
Melanie Crump 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:13:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:13:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:13:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:13:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:13:25 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm not a professional so I'm a little confused with all of the options! It is a pretty good camera, though.
7/20/2005 2:13:25 PM
 
John P. McConnell 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:14:08 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:14:08 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:14:08 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:14:08 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:14:08 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Summary
Bad Support, Fragile Camera

Pros
Easy to use, good quality pictures

Cons
had six months, didn't drop, lens locked, not covered under warranty

Bought the camera at Sharper Image in August of 2004. Have been very happy with the camera. Wife took the camera and wanted to take pictures one day, turned it on, the lens came out, it beeped a few times, and it never did anything else. Casio support says they'll look at it and see if it's covered under warranty (lens damage isn't, but manufacturing defects are). A week later I get an invoice for $207.95. Even though I called their support number (1.800.706.2534 option 1,1,then 2) several times (while the letter was in the mail) asking for a status they told me nothing and let the letter surprise me. They even said I'd have to pay to have it sent back to me after originally telling me I wouldn't have to. The support people were short and gave the impression they couldn't care less.

This was a birthday present for my wife and it lasted 6 months. Be wary of any of these small cameras as they say they have a 1 year warranty but most of the complaints I've read online deal with this same issue (and none are covered). Sharper Image offered a 'no questions asked warranty' for additional $$ that, in hindsight, I should have bought... if you're going to get one of these small cameras, don't make the same mistake.

4/15/2005 11:14:08 AM
 
John P. McConnell 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:13:22 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:13:22 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:13:22 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:13:22 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:13:22 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Summary
Bad Support, Fragile Camera

Pros
Easy to use, good quality pictures

Cons
had six months, didn't drop, lens locked, not covered under warranty

Bought the camera at Sharper Image in August of 2004. Have been very happy with the camera. Wife took the camera and wanted to take pictures one day, turned it on, the lens came out, it beeped a few times, and it never did anything else. Casio support says they'll look at it and see if it's covered under warranty (lens damage isn't, but manufacturing defects are). A week later I get an invoice for $207.95. Even though I called their support number (1.800.706.2534 option 1,1,then 2) several times (while the letter was in the mail) asking for a status they told me nothing and let the letter surprise me. They even said I'd have to pay to have it sent back to me after originally telling me I wouldn't have to. The support people were short and gave the impression they couldn't care less.

This was a birthday present for my wife and it lasted 6 months. Be wary of any of these small cameras as they say they have a 1 year warranty but most of the complaints I've read online deal with this same issue (and none are covered). Sharper Image offered a 'no questions asked warranty' for additional $$ that, in hindsight, I should have bought... if you're going to get one of these small cameras, don't make the same mistake.

4/15/2005 11:13:22 AM
 
John P. McConnell 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:11:25 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:11:25 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:11:25 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:11:25 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 11:11:25 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Summary
Bad Support, Fragile Camera

Pros
Easy to use, good quality pictures

Cons
had six months, didn't drop, lens locked, not covered under warranty

Bought the camera at Sharper Image in August of 2004. Have been very happy with the camera. Wife took the camera and wanted to take pictures one day, turned it on, the lens came out, it beeped a few times, and it never did anything else. Casio support says they'll look at it and see if it's covered under warranty (lens damage isn't, but manufacturing defects are). A week later I get an invoice for $207.95. Even though I called their support number (1.800.706.2534 option 1,1,then 2) several times (while the letter was in the mail) asking for a status they told me nothing and let the letter surprise me. They even said I'd have to pay to have it sent back to me after originally telling me I wouldn't have to. The support people were short and gave the impression they couldn't care less.

This was a birthday present for my wife and it lasted 6 months. Be wary of any of these small cameras as they say they have a 1 year warranty but most of the complaints I've read online deal with this same issue (and none are covered). Sharper Image offered a 'no questions asked warranty' for additional $$ that, in hindsight, I should have bought... if you're going to get one of these small cameras, don't make the same mistake.

4/15/2005 11:11:25 AM
 
MICHELE PIERCE 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 7:32:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 7:32:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 7:32:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 7:32:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 7:32:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LOVE THIS LITTLE BUT GREAT CAMERA. IT TAKES GREAT PHOTOS AND I LOVE THE COMPACTIBILITY!
3/29/2005 7:32:57 PM
 
Dan Shepherd 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:12:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:12:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:12:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:12:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:12:10 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
its good for a small fella, the softare onboard is impressive... although it can take a little while to be ready for the next image at low light... at 4mp its a bargain at just under£160
3/5/2005 6:12:10 AM
 
Kiel Bryant 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 7:22:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 7:22:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 7:22:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 7:22:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 7:22:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
a great everyday camera. very capable, very small.
1/30/2005 7:22:01 PM
 

17 Reviews  

Buy Exilim EX-Z40 Digital Camera from Amazon.com