BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


AF28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 LD Aspherical (IF)


Tamron

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The AF28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 LD Aspherical (IF)

From the manufacturer:
A totally new optical system that incorporates three Hybrid Aspherical elements and two high-grade LD (Low Dispersion) glass elements. Together they provide sharpness, contrast and color depth, while eliminating chromatic aberrations inherent to a high-power zoom lens of this magnitude. These state-of-the-art optics are housed in a sophisticated "Quad-Cam Zoom Mechanism" which enables four lens barrels to be extended and retracted effortlessly - achieving compactness at 28mm, while holding precise extension at 300mm.


Specifications:


  • Lens Construction: (Groups/Elements) 15-14 (includes 3 Hybrid Aspheric lens elements & 2 Low Dispersion glass elements)
  • Angle of View: 75-8
  • Type of Zooming: Internal Focusing
  • Diaphragm Blade Number: 7
  • Minimum Focus: 49.6in.(1.26m)/28mm, 23.6in.(0.6m)/200mm, 32.3"(0.82m)/300mm
  • Macro Mag. Ratio: 1:3.7
  • Filter Diameter: 72
  • Weight: 20.6oz. (585gm)
  • Diameter x Length: 3.2 x 3.7 inches
  • Accessory lens hood included


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Amy McGann

member since: 6/10/2007
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Fine for indoor portraits and flash photography. Also works great for outdoor shots on a tripod. When using on my Nikon D2xs or D50 the 180-300mm range is horrible for action shots. Slow focusing and very noisy.
8/10/2007 11:34:23 AM
 
Noel Z. Yuseco
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Outdoors, it's great but when shooting indoor sports (i.e. basketball) where flash is prohibited, I find my images aren't as sharp as those coming from a lens of comparable specs using the same camera (Nikon D70).
12/20/2005 12:56:09 AM
 
Dan McConoughey
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have the newer Optimized for digital
lens. I got this lens along with my Pentax*istDS in March of this year(2005). I have been extremely pleased with it, even macros. The lens will focus down to 19 inches from subject to sensor plane (film plane), at the full 300mm zoom. Depth of field gets a little fussy but experiance with it comes quickly.
Look at my gallery for a sample of the kind of work I have done with it.
7/16/2005 8:28:12 PM
 
Cathy Barrows
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Cathy
Cathy's Gallery

member since: 4/13/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I always found this lens to be adequate with my Nikon N70, but since I started shooting with my Nikon D100 I am very disappointed. My images are lacking in sharpness when shooting with this lens.
6/10/2003 6:38:59 PM
 
willie 

member since: 7/14/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been using this lens for two years, and I find it to be very smooth,and fast in the field. I like this lens a lot.
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.