T-4 35mm Camera


Yashica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

Emty road - Baja
View photos created with this camera

The T-4 35mm Camera

Features:

  • Weather resistant
  • Carl Zeiss Tessar T f3.5 35mm lens (4 elements/3 groups)
  • 3-beam active infrared auto focus system with AE lock
  • Pre-flash red-eye reduction system
  • Background brightness control/auto backlight compensation
  • Auto film load/advance/rewind with mid-roll button
  • Programmed electronic shutter/auto exposure system
  • 1 sec-1/700 sec high speed shutter
  • Built-in electronic flash with 4 modes: automatic flash, pre-flash, on-demand, and night scene (flash off)
  • Infinity lock mode
  • Real image viewfinder with LED display
  • Light and compact design (4 5/8"W x 2 1/2"H x 1 7/16"D and 6 oz.)
  • Includes strap and Yashica 3-year USA Warranty

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
George Anderson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:01:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:01:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:01:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:01:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:01:51 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good little point & shoot camera for snapshots, with a great lens. For that purpose it is excellent. As with any newer compact 35mm camera, the automation makes it more difficult to get truly consistent results when a specific aperture or shutter speed is desired.

While perhaps better built than some other compacts, it is still a mass-produced P&S with plastic moving parts, thin circuit boards, etc. And Kyocera no longer builds cameras, so if you're looking for a camera to last for years this may not be the right choice.

7/23/2005 12:01:51 PM
 
John J. Burgeson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:29:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:29:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:29:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:29:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:29:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a crying shame that Kyocera, Yashica's parent company, has taken the T4 Super out of production, because it's a great little P&S that really does produce photos that rival SLRs selling for 10 times its price. The f-3.5, 35mm Zeiss lens outperforms the zooms of other "quality" P&S cams. Exposures right on the money, even when shooting in "available darkness," using the self timer. Another great feature is the little waist-level finder -- handy for shooting kids and pets, and catching people in candid situations. No wonder a mint example will fetch over $300 on eBay. My only regret was that I didn't buy two.
6/30/2005 5:29:03 PM
 
Jimmy Dodson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:07:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:07:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:07:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:07:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 2:07:35 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This little camera will go places others wouldn't think of. A great point-and-shoot, but b/c of that it is limited in the types of pictures many people strive for -- it won't get up close and personal. Still the Zeiss lense captures colors and details superbly. My main use is for activities where a SLR would be too cumbersome or could get really messed up. This thing has been in rain, snow, ice, heat, you name it. And it still captures great shots everytime!
8/20/2003 2:07:35 PM
 
Tom Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2002 8:38:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2002 8:38:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2002 8:38:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2002 8:38:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2002 8:38:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I picked one up in Europe about a year ago after reading endless raves about this little camera. I think it's a great camera. Key points.
- the Zeiss lens can live up to it's reputation. When it's at the appropriate stop and the camera's in focus, the image rivals SLR prime images.
- auto exposure is pretty accurate and reasonably intelligent
- the super finder which lets you look from the top is an interesting and occasionally useful and unique feature.

Having said that, over time, I found I wrestling with the quintessential demon of P&S. I have no idea what the camera is doing. It is clear that the lens does better at some apertures than others (more than likely it's at its peak at f/8-f/16 like many lenses of this type) but you can't actually get it there when you want. This is compounded by the one major flaw I could find with this camera: the little LEC "focus lock" lights in the eyepiece are positioned in such a way that I can't easily see it (especially outdoors). I've blown many shots because either I couldn't see the lights and I press the shutter button harder causing the camera to fire prematurely, or the opposite, I assume focus is locked when it isn't. I haven't had experience with too many AF P&S's to know how common this problem is. For this reason, I just bought a used Olympus XA that gives aperture priority auto control, manual rangefinder focus, and extreme compactness. The T4 comes out when fill flash or indoor flash is expected or if I suspect my wife or someone else might want to take a shot or two.

Having said all this, I'm still glad I bought it ... again, when it's "in the zone" it's fantastic! There are some pics taken with it in my betterphoto gallery (under Tom Lee) including my portrait.

Tom.

9/13/2002 8:38:22 AM
 
Tom  Lee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just bought a Yashica T5 in Sweden (T4 Super in US/Canada) based on wild acclaims that have appeared on the Web. It's not easy to find in Canada anymore and when I spotted one at a photo shop in Stockholm, I jumped (price was around $180 US). Prime attraction was the lens of course although I had heard good things about the exposure system. I've shot 2 rolls so far and was so impressed that I wanted to comment here. The lens absolutely lives up to its reputation. Using 200 ISO print film I got results as good or better than my SLR system: Nikon F80 and Tamron SP 24-135 (which I recently traded my Nikon 28-105 because of the raves that the Tamron received). The pictures were razor sharp and nicely exposed. Although there is some flexibility in the flash system, I simply left it on auto and it seemed to identify fill situations and in general gave proper exposure. There's neat little top view finder reminicent of ancient Kodak Brownie type cameras to take low shots. Couple of minor complaints, the shutter button requires an extremely light touch so focus/exposure locking takes a bit of finicky effort. Also, I found the clasp for the back to be a bit awkward and required an unexpected amount of pressure to close. The unit is also slightly bulkier than the Stylus Epic or many compact APS or digital units. Finally, considering it's about twice the price as the Epic, it's still pricy and you should really ask yourself whether the difference is either meaningful or important ... I kinda like carrying a little Tessar around (but I'm a romantic that way). I think its a great camera but may be difficult to get. It does come up on ebay occasionally and goes for between $150 to $200 US for either new or near new units. A couple of mail order places still list it but I've heard horror stories about actually getting one in your hands.
 

5 Reviews