PowerShot SD10 (Digital IXUS i) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

First Steps
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD10 (Digital IXUS i) Digital Camera

Features:


  • Super-sleek Digital Elph with 4.0 megapixel sensor--up to 2272 x
    1704 pixel images for 11 x 14 photo-quality prints
  • 5.7x digital zoom, 5-point artificial intelligence auto focus
    (AiAF), DIGIC Imaging processor
  • Capture up to 3 minutes of 320 x 240 video with audio; on-camera
    video editing capability
  • Included 32 MB Secure Digital (SD) card; also compatible with
    MMC cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NB-3L ); connects
    to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kellie M. Germack 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 4:48:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 4:48:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 4:48:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 4:48:41 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 4:48:41 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The camera is effective when trying to take spur of the moment pictures. There are different scene specific modes, but I feel there is a lack of some modes. There are no shutter priority or aperture priority modes.
4/5/2006 4:48:41 PM
 
Robert Harrison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/18/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 6:17:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 6:17:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 6:17:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 6:17:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 6:17:40 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
fanyastic, small...great for angels and pre shots....not good for quility , purely awesome for test shots and capturing an image that is difficult to capture at a spacific angel..... all about the angel for this one....it is fun and experimantal!! enough said
10/18/2005 6:17:40 AM
 
Carrie Pearce 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:21:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:21:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:21:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:21:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:21:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like everything about my camera.
8/15/2005 4:21:03 PM
 
Carrie Pearce 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:20:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like everything about my camera.
8/15/2005 4:20:53 PM
 
Mark Spencer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:04:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:04:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:04:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:04:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:04:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Sweet Camera - Zoom could be a bit better.
2/7/2005 12:04:53 PM
 
Michel Rathwell 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 10:20:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 10:20:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 10:20:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 10:20:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 10:20:57 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent
12/30/2004 10:20:57 PM
 
kristin a. wall
undertheseaphotos.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 6:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 6:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 6:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 6:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 6:04:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful detail, easy to use. Great underwater housing available for scuba dive photography!!
12/13/2004 6:04:08 AM
 
Jimi Hammerly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I pretty much love this camera. I mainly got it for snapshots and candid pics, I got more than I expected. Though it isn't an SLR, it does have a lot of features. The movie mode is also pretty cool. It's compact, so it's pefect to have on you all the time. It does take some good pics.
9/5/2004 1:56:10 PM
 
Noneng Ruff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 6:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 6:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 6:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 6:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 6:21:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is really great because it takes really clear and bright pictures. It's also very light and portable. The video function is also great! But then it only has a digital zoom which makes pictures blurry when zoomed. And also it sometimes takes dark nighttime photos. But all in all, its a great cam!
8/23/2004 6:21:24 PM
 
Shing Yan Lau 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 9:36:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 9:36:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 9:36:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 9:36:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 9:36:47 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I got it for free from a lucky draw. How can I complain? =P Anyhow. Due to the small sensor side ( I rekcon they interoplate the image to get 4 Megapixel) images are extremely grainy. Although the camer supports up to ISO 400, I would not use 200 as the max. Perferbly staying at 50 if possible. Also, due to the fact that it's an EXTREMELY SMALL CAMERA, it's really hard to have relatively long exposure times (ie. 1/8th of a sec which i can hand hold realtivley sharply with my Powershot S30) come out with decent sharpness. But due to the compact size i carry this around with me where ever I go. The 6.4mm/F2.8 fixed lens gives a FOV of around 35-40mm (estimate) in 135 format so it's a handy little camera to do some unobstrusive street shooting (I reckon it's lecia quiet!). The camera also sports a 'macro' mode with a focusing distance of 3CM!!! All in all, although it has limited functions/control, it gives the operator some decent functions and with the proper technique can take some decent pictures. It's better to have a picture than to have none. :) Here's a much more indepth review: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0309/03091201canonsd10.asp (btw, I have the redish maron version =) )
7/1/2004 9:36:47 AM
 

10 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot SD10 (Digital IXUS i) Digital Camera from Amazon.com