Stylus 115 35mm Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

Don't let it ...
View photos created with this camera

The Stylus 115 35mm Camera

Features:


  • Fully automatic 35mm autofocus lens-shutter camera
  • Uses Olympus 38-115mm f4.5-9.7 lens (6 elements in 5 groups)
  • Shutter is a programmed electronic shutter
  • Focusing uses an active-type system. Focusing Step: 776 steps. Focusing range: 2 ft. to infinity. Focus lock possible.
  • Viewfinder uses real image (with autofocus marks, close-up correction marks, autofocus indicator and flash indicator)
  • Exposure control is programmed automatic using 3-zone light metering and switchable to spot metering
  • Automatic film speed setting with DX-coded file
  • Automatic film loading
  • Weather proofing conforms to IEC grade 4 (protected against water splash from any direction)
  • Electronic self-timer with 12-second delay
  • Optional remote control
  • Includes Olympus 1 year USA warranty

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Joy Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/19/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:06:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:06:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:06:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:06:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:06:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shoot camera. Takes really great pictures!
4/20/2006 4:06:16 PM
 
Shirlee D. Schuster 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:21:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:21:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:21:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:21:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:21:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I recently bought this camera on ebay for a mere $8! I ran a roll of polaroid 200 speed film thru it (just to see..)And these pictures are comparable to my maxxum 5xi. (go figure)The pictures were mostly of children (under 2 yrs.)at Christmas who DON'T sit still and they still turned out wonderful! (I was secretly hoping this little camera wouldn't disappoint me and it didn't.)Not to mention its so much easier to carry/use than the maxxum. I WAS going to give this to my teenage son to just "knock around" with and get him started in photgraphy, but its just too GOOD of a little camera!I would definitely recommend anyone finding one of these little gems.
12/28/2005 8:21:52 AM
 
Linda Fields 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 3:30:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 3:30:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 3:30:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 3:30:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 3:30:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good point & shoot camera. Takes very good pictures.
12/5/2005 3:30:22 PM
 
RoxAnn Arneson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 11:25:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 11:25:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 11:25:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 11:25:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 11:25:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is compact and water resistant. I think the sliding lens cover is a fatal flaw.
5/6/2005 11:25:55 AM
 
Kay A. Henry 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 4:12:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 4:12:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 4:12:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 4:12:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2005 4:12:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is wonderful. You just can't take a bad picture! I love it!
4/25/2005 4:12:44 PM
 
Serhiy PYLAWKA 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 11:04:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 11:04:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 11:04:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 11:04:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 11:04:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good exposure and color rendition for a little point-and-shoot.
3/31/2005 11:04:41 AM
 
John Sandstedt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 8:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 8:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 8:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 8:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 8:14:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife and about seven other folks. Everyone who uses this point and shoot loves it. Pictures are great but, naturally, it can't match a full-featured SLR.
7/19/2004 8:14:07 AM
 
Shanda M. Rippeon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:27:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:27:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:27:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:27:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:27:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've gone through about 4 camera's in my 20 years. This one is the best yet. It's great for up close shots which is my favorite. The photos come out very clear and have brilliant color! I just love it. I'm sure I'll eventually get another one even better than this! I'm looking for one that has excellent zoom!
10/31/2003 5:27:09 AM
 
Lori Ditlefsen 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:22:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:22:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:22:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:22:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:22:03 AM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
This camera is a 35mm film camera which is an automatic point and shoot. I do not recommend it for photographers who are serious about taking pictures. Very limited in options. The only reason I use it now is because it is all I have until I buy the digital camera I want.
6/17/2003 6:22:03 AM
 
Alishya M. Kovalevych
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/21/2003
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2003 11:18:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2003 11:18:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2003 11:18:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2003 11:18:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2003 11:18:16 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Although small and light, this camera is hard to handle (slips out of my hands frequently) and slow (the zoom seems to take extra time to settle which, of course, is when the perfect shot moves on). The pictures seem to come out pretty good, except when there's low light or movement (even with super fast film). And my greatest complaint is the closer thing for the shutter. It slides open easily enough, but when you're holding the camera and you accidentally nudge it, it closes the shutter, turns off the camera and irritates even the most patient photographer.
6/15/2003 11:18:16 PM
 

10 Reviews