PowerShot S410 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Mount Masada Sunr...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S410 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 11-by-15-inch enlargements
  • Canon 3x optical zoom lens with 3.6x digital zoom
  • 9-point autofocus; movie mode; PictBridge compatible
  • Store images on Compact Flash Type I memory cards (32 MB card
    included)
  • Powered by rechargeable battery pack NB-1LH (included with
    charger)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


28 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lizbeth Price 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 7:32:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 7:32:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 7:32:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 7:32:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 7:32:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Plus: It's small and sturdy which makes it good for travel. I'm pleased with the software and the photos. Minus: The view window is too small.
7/3/2006 7:32:08 PM
 
Patricia A. Trudell 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:24:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:24:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:24:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:24:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:24:13 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the fact that this camera has the ability to take great pictures. I don't like the fact that I can't control aperature. I do not get good photos in low-light conditions and it always appears grainy. In those conditions, when photographing images even as far away as 20 feet, it's better to NOT use the flash. Then again, you don't get the image in either case. It is only a 4 megapixel camera. Although there are great images that come from using this camera, there are a lot of great shots missed due to using this camera.
7/2/2006 10:24:13 AM
 
Simon  A. Stone 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 6:03:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 6:03:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 6:03:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 6:03:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 6:03:39 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
small compact but packs a punch. very versatile, can handle just about anything. its too bak you cant add filters or a telephoto or macro lenses to it,
6/20/2006 6:03:39 PM
 
Dawna  M. Lohr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 8:51:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 8:51:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 8:51:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 8:51:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 8:51:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
light, compact, fantastic quality.
3/31/2006 8:51:21 PM
 
Bart L. Flea 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 12:36:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 12:36:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 12:36:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 12:36:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 12:36:46 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good all-purpose camera with three design flaws: 1- a loosely fitting, cheap plastic cover to the usb port 2- a battery cover which tends to slip while holding the camera, resulting in electrical failure 3- a camera/playback switch which tends to slip while holding the camera None of these flaws are fatal. They can all be adjusted to by learning about them and acting to avoid or quickly recover from (2 &3) or be careful with (1).
2/8/2006 12:36:46 AM
 
Ana Maria M. Ronquillo 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 12:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 12:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 12:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 12:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 12:15:27 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera it takes pictures so fast and the pictures are great quality.
11/11/2005 12:15:27 PM
 
Rebecca F. Haskins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 9:18:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 9:18:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 9:18:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 9:18:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 9:18:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
First digital camera - i learnt to use most of the features on it too! Was a great learning experience and excellent choice for a first camera.
10/22/2005 9:18:49 AM
 
Daniel A. Rivero 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 3:37:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 3:37:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 3:37:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 3:37:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 3:37:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera
10/10/2005 3:37:28 PM
 
JaCorey M. Robinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:47:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:47:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:47:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:47:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:47:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Best Camera I've ever had. Great for beginners, and even better for professionals.
10/5/2005 10:47:31 PM
 
Dana Green 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 12:25:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 12:25:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 12:25:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 12:25:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 12:25:19 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love it, I think it takes great pictures. But I dont like how I cannot get a great picture when its dark out. The night vision makes everything a bit blurry.
9/25/2005 12:25:19 PM
 
Dan C.  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 6:12:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 6:12:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 6:12:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 6:12:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 6:12:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
only 4 megaapixels other than that excellent
8/19/2005 6:12:52 PM
 
Stephanie M. Childress 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:18:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:18:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:18:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:18:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:18:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this digitial camera! It's very easy to use and takes great pictures. Just make sure that you get a good compact flash or else it will slow down your ability to take quick photos.
8/15/2005 12:18:52 PM
 
Garrett Leyenaar 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 12:53:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 12:53:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 12:53:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 12:53:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 12:53:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little point and shoot. Screen too small though!
8/13/2005 12:53:31 AM
 
Tiffany D. Sheffield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 7:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 7:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 7:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 7:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 7:43:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy the camera and the programs that came with it.
8/8/2005 7:43:29 PM
 
Lance Naismith 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:37:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:37:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:37:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:37:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 11:37:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Lovely camera that is easy to use. Only gripes, and this is probably due to it not being a high end camera (I previously used a 35 mm Pentax with zoom lens), is the slow speed between shots and the 3x optical zoom (would like a higher zoom level).
6/27/2005 11:37:45 AM
 
Tyler G. Cooney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:10:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:10:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:10:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:10:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:10:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is great for it's compact size howver the resolution is lacking at only 4MP.
6/3/2005 7:10:39 AM
 
Victor J. Falvo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 6:06:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 6:06:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 6:06:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 6:06:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 6:06:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ease in handeling and quality of Photos!
5/27/2005 6:06:07 AM
 
Juanita Lee Harless Melton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 10:58:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 10:58:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 10:58:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 10:58:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 10:58:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very eaasy to use. Great shots.
4/14/2005 10:58:16 AM
 
Adam M. Broomhead 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:44:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:44:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:44:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:44:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:44:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use and takes grerat pictures. The only bad thing is taking night photos.
3/28/2005 7:44:58 PM
 
David Gallo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 11:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 11:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 11:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 11:49:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 11:49:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm surprised by the color. I'm also a little bummed about the flash. It's always too bright. If I don't use it the color really comes out.
1/22/2005 11:49:59 PM
 
Nannette Nagy 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 10:10:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 10:10:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 10:10:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 10:10:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 10:10:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice little camera. Takes quality photos with 3.2 MP. Small and light - great for carrying in a purse, fanny pack or pocket.
1/11/2005 10:10:32 PM
 
Tyler C. Ross 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 4:28:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 4:28:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 4:28:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 4:28:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 4:28:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
takes great pictures but can have trouble getting it to focus on what you want it to. Doesn't have manual focus.
11/10/2004 4:28:31 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 2:24:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 2:24:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 2:24:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 2:24:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 2:24:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is one of my cameras and it is a fabulous camera. Takes great images with excellent color and tones.
10/27/2004 2:24:12 PM
 
Tricia J. Score 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 12:12:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 12:12:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 12:12:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 12:12:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2004 12:12:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have the best luck with this camera and my pictures come out looking great!
10/20/2004 12:12:12 PM
 
Susan Carney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 3:21:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 3:21:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 3:21:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 3:21:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 3:21:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
handy size...nice pictures...sturdy...BUT go for the bigger screen.
9/26/2004 3:21:00 PM
 
Candy Countryman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 2:11:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 2:11:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 2:11:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 2:11:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 2:11:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera I love it I have taken over 500 pictures in three months.
7/20/2004 2:11:44 PM
 
Chris J 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:32:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:32:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:32:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:32:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:32:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes fantastic pictures, super small, and some good manual features.
7/7/2004 9:32:40 PM
 
Willie P 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 9:41:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 9:41:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 9:41:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 9:41:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 9:41:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera.... compact size, great features. Myabe not as cheap as some others but the quality is worth the price.
6/17/2004 9:41:27 PM
 

28 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S410 Digital Camera from Amazon.com