BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FM2N SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Football action
View photos created with this camera

The FM2N SLR Camera


  • All manual focus and manual exposure control SLR
  • Black finish body
  • Durable die-cast all-metal body construction provides lightweight rigidity and strength
  • Center-Weighted TTL metering (60/40 balance); metering range EV 1 to EV 18
  • Interchangeable focusing screens; K2, E2N, B2
  • Bright viewfinder system with aperture, shutter speed and 3-point exposure display (+ O -)
  • Silky-smooth manual film advance and transport
  • Top shutter speed 1/4000 sec.; top flash sync 1/250 sec.
  • Aluminum-alloy shutter curtains for stable, dependable performance
  • Depth-of-field preview button
  • Accepts optional MD-12 Motor Drive
  • Accepts optional MF-16 Data Back
  • Because the FM2N incorporates Nikon"s F lens mount, it uses all of Nikon"s current lenses, and hundreds of previous lenses.
  • Includes Nikon 1 year USA warranty

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Larry T. Miller

member since: 9/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just got back from a 4,000+ mile road trip. Took the FM2N and a backup F3. The FM2N saw 99.9% of the work. Shot close to 300+ shots. It never failed. I've always loved this camera. Put the 17-35 F2.8 ED lens on it and you can make some very nice pics. It's a camera I would never sell. Ever!
8/28/2012 1:47:25 PM
 
Michael E. Hoskins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera
6/19/2006 9:46:31 PM
 
praveenkumar deshabhimani

member since: 3/9/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good in manual camera,
3/27/2006 8:03:37 AM
 
Justin O'Shea

member since: 2/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using this camera for about 10 years and have had no problems with it, easy straight forward and very reliable.
2/2/2006 6:24:20 AM
 
Marti Andrews
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little camera - never had any problems with it
1/26/2006 11:24:54 AM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/7/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fully manual, no need for batteries, 1/4000 sec shutter and 1/250 sec flash sybc
1/9/2006 5:46:24 PM
 
Marek Benedik
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Super reliable, what can i say...it's an FM2
1/2/2006 1:26:46 AM
 
Maghin Tamilarasan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
An all manual classic, this is a camera you can depend upon. The perfect backup body as it keeps working without batteries.
12/29/2005 2:05:31 AM
 
Ansuman Ghosh

member since: 12/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I find it reliable and ease to handle.Sofar, got picture quality as per my settings,so the response is also good. It being one of widely used Nikon manual camera band it is very use to maintain and solve any problem related to the camera functioning.It has never failed in any weather or climatic condition.
12/17/2005 11:10:57 PM
 
Ansuman Ghosh

member since: 12/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I find it reliable and ease to handle.Sofar, got picture quality as per my settings,so the response is also good. It being one of widely used Nikon manual camera band it is very use to maintain and solve any problem related to the camera functioning.It has never failed in any weather or climatic condition.
12/17/2005 11:09:15 PM
 
Shawn H. Rullens

member since: 12/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is one of the best camera I have ever owned. Its fully manual and it works with out batties (minus the light meter)
12/9/2005 9:41:44 PM
 
Steve Hawley

member since: 10/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Not much to say about the Nikon FM2N - it's the best there is (was). I have the Nikon system that I've wanted all my life and I love it (except when the digital is more convenient - see my personal non-technical Canon S-70 review on this site). If you want to know about the Nikon FM2N and all the lenses (which, by the way, you can buy on EBay for a song), go to this site: http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/classics/nikonfmseries/fm2/index.htm Scroll to the bottom of that Web page to find all the Nikkor lenses. That site is a wealth of information, probably the best Nikon site in the world.
11/17/2005 6:38:14 PM
 
Terry M. Gunderson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/27/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Nikon FM2(N) that I use has served me extremely well as I am learning something from it about photography nearly every day. The in-camera light meter does have a quark in it that, a proper exposure is read as a 1/2 stop underexposed but knowing this I can easily work around it. Like the fact that it is a smaller camera with enough "umpf" in the weight to make it feel as though I wont brake it should I press too hard on the shutter. What I don't like about it?? It doesn't have the ability to go slower than one full second (except in Bulb mode) or faster than 1/4000th though I have learned to rely more on my f/stops rather than my shutter.
9/22/2005 8:01:08 AM
 
Sandra Ferras
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a strong work horse. It's organic - fully manual, makes you interact with it like a dialog with your best friend. It becomes a part of you.
9/11/2005 3:34:34 AM
 
John Liu

member since: 8/17/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Simple, easy to operate. Let you concentrate on image making
8/23/2005 10:51:02 PM
 


member since: 8/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Likes: Sync speed, fully manual and mechanical (no batteries), feels strong and durable, compact Dislikes: Full stop shutters only
8/20/2005 1:15:32 PM
 
Jerry D. Andrews

member since: 7/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is also a rugged camera with super fast shutter speed options. Its electronics often demand much battery power and its metering system limits the photographer with options. It is my backup camera when shooting with the venerable FE.
7/7/2005 1:47:31 PM
 
CHRISTOPHER FRANCIS DeROME

member since: 1/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
IT IS MY JOY
1/19/2005 10:48:29 PM
 
Larry Miller

member since: 12/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent piece of equipment. Bar none!!!
12/28/2004 2:45:52 PM
 
Isabel Monday

member since: 6/4/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Well, I started off with a practika, and it started to not work so well, so a friend suggested I buy his old Nikon FM2N from him- it came with a 300 mm lens which is pretty good. I think I would of prefered a canon eos, as I like the pictures that they produce,but the nikon takes better focused pictures than my pratika so its a step in the right direction. I now have a 55 micro which I love and a 135 lens which isnt that good as on its lowest depth of field the background looks disjointed rather than a nice blur. I hope one day to have a canon eos.
6/4/2004 9:09:43 AM
 
Leonardus Krisnanto Wisnu

member since: 5/17/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
my camera is fm2 slr. i buy from shop condition 85%. now i like fotografry but iam an amatir. i need learn study abauot fotograpy expecialy journalist. thank you.
5/18/2004 8:03:20 AM
 
Tony Evans

member since: 4/15/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
THe best manual camera on the market. Small, light and a beautiful shutter action and wind on motion. All the controls are right there and the light meter is spot on....once you know how it reads. I love it.
4/16/2004 10:21:50 PM
 
Frederick Franzella
BetterPhoto Member
fredstersphotos.com

member since: 12/8/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great all around camera.
3/25/2004 5:01:23 AM
 
Bob Fowler

member since: 4/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Everything I've said in my review of the FM camera holds true here. The main differences in the FM2n and FM are the top shutter speed (1/4000sec), X-sync speed (1/250 sec), and the flash ready light in the viewfinder when using Nikon dedicated flash units. Another difference is at the lens mount - the AI coupling tab of the FM2n does not fold out of the way for pre-AI lenses. That's the ONLY gripe I have with the FM2n, but as all of my lenses are either AI, AIS or converted, I let it slide.

The FM2n is an outstanding camera.
9/8/2003 7:05:56 AM
 
Marta Azevedo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/24/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a very good camera. I like it a lot
6/18/2003 8:09:26 AM
 
Hermann  Graf

member since: 2/28/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I own the silver body (doesn't make much difference). Very rugged, reliable, purely mechanical, for manual focus lenses. Not too heavy. Battery (necessary only for metering) lasts for years. Aperture & shutter speed must be set manually. Meter display with "+/0/-" by LEDs (visible in the dark); meter activated by half-pressing shutter release, switches off automat. after app. 15 secs. Mirror lock-up coupled with self-timer. Three types of focusing screens available (split field/ microprisms, grid, and pure matte). Has DOF control button, multi-exposures possible. Highest shutter speed 1/4000 sec, highest flash synchro speed 1/250 sec. Disadvantage: no TTL flash capability, exposure correction only via film speed scale, film speed must be set manually. When doing wildlife and sports photography, some training is needed, since you have to set both aperture/shutter and focus manually. Will probably be replaced by the FM3A in the near future.
 

26 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.