EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Lens

Features:

  • Broad zoom range includes popular focal lengths, from 28mm wide-angle for tight interiors and group shots, to 135mm telephoto, great for sports, nature photography or portraits.
  • Image Stabilizer mechanism compensates for camera shake, permitting hand-held photography at the slower speeds necessary in dim light when the use of flash or a tripod is undesirable, impractical or forbidden. Choosing slower speeds also allows use of smaller apertures, resulting in increased depth-of-field.
  • Advanced ring-type Ultrasonic Motor (USM) drive delivers precise, silent, high-speed autofocusing. (Full-time manual focus is also provided.)
  • Extremely compact and lightweight lens, particularly when considering its near 5X zoom ratio and IS mechanism.
  • Includes Canon 1 year USA warranty


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:02:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:02:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:02:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:02:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 7:02:24 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is not an L lens and at the time of purchase (2005), I did not know the difference. I can see and feel the weight of the difference now. The 24-105mm f4L IS USM lens is heavier and a lot sharper with more clarity. But, the price is higher also.

The biggest complaint I have with the 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens is frustration when zooming from 28-135 and having the f/stop change with the zoom. I cannot open greater than 5.6 and some focal lengths when I want. And, using the high speed 580 EX flash does not give me the f/stop I had hoped to get. It depends which lens I'm using to what is achieved.

I'd rather know that the widest f/stop is f/4, in the case of the 24-105mm f4L IS USM lens and it won't change as one goes up or down the barrel.

But, I do like the 135mm zoom, which is a good portrait lens and it has been used often. Most people don't have flawless skin and not having a sharp low dispersion lens is fine for most portaits. This lens is also very light and that's fine for traveling. But there are trade-offs and that includes sharpness. The 28-135mm is not a low dispersion lens.

2/13/2008 7:02:24 PM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 6:47:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 6:47:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 6:47:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 6:47:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2008 6:47:09 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I was relatively happy with this lens, which was purchased shortly after the Canon Elan 7E and taken to China in 2005.
I have been frustrated that the f/stop changes as one goes from wide angle to telephoto or visa versa. I'd rather it be stationary. And, lately I've noticed that either my eyes or the lens does not appear as sharp as it could be. What the price was right at the time of purchase, which is why I had made the decision I made.

This year, I purchased the 24-105mm f4L and noticed a major difference. You receive what you pay for. Want a sharp lens? Get low dispersion [L] lens!

2/13/2008 6:47:09 PM
 
Beau Hudspeth Photography
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/22/2004
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2006 11:56:09 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2006 11:56:09 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2006 11:56:09 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2006 11:56:09 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2006 11:56:09 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
Well, lets just say that my opinion of this lens is not even close to a good one.

I recently sold off my 10D and Canon 24-85 USM Zoom and purchased a 5D and this lens. And after purchasing a new lens I do my standard test: shoot the news paper. This allows me to see if the lens is focusing correctly, clearly and sharply.

After bringing the images I shot into photoshop, I did not have the chance to look over the detail before I noticed the WORST case of vignetting I have ever seen -- it looked as if all the images were shot through a tube. I thought that it may be because of the lens hood, so I removed it. There was NO difference.

After further investigation in to the 'history' of the lens (through many different reviews) I rapidly saw that the issue I was having with it were far from uncommon. It seems that the quality of the 28-135 is either hit or miss, with not much in between. The lens will either be spot on in color and sharpness, with no sign of vignetting --- or it will be a total loss, as is mine.

Needless to say, it is going back tomorrow and I will see if the pocket-book and handle an 'L' lens purchase - I don't even want to try another 28-135 after reading all that I have in it

:(

8/23/2006 11:56:09 PM
 
Matthew Greenfield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/13/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:40:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After wasting good money on buying 'cheaper' canon lenses...I realised that this lense covered nearly everthing that I was shooting at the time and it does it so perfectly. A fantastic walk-about lense that has such a great zoom range. For rapid focus and the IS is a dream for those low shutter speeds.
My main/primary lense always attached to the camera.
1/4/2006 8:40:19 AM
 
Matthew Greenfield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/13/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:39:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:39:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:39:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:39:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 8:39:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After wasting good money on buying 'cheaper' canon lenses...I realised that this lense covered nearly everthing that I was shooting at the time and it does it so perfectly. A fantastic walk-about lense that has such a great zoom range. For rapid focus and the IS is a dream for those low shutter speeds.
My main/primary lense always attached to the camera.
1/4/2006 8:39:40 AM
 
Sara Turner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 3:41:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 3:41:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 3:41:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 3:41:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 3:41:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this lens. It is my workhorse evrday lens. The quality and sharpness are very good. As a matter of fact, sometimes I cant tell the difference between photos with this lens or my L 70-200 lens! The build appears rugged although I do get zoom creep when it hangs down which bothers me. The IS has really helped me out on many occasions especially in low light or when I have shaky hand. It is a bit on the heavy side because of the IS but its worth it and afterawhile I dont really notice it. I have rarely had flare or vignetting even wide open and at the wide end of the lens ~28mm. Excellent lens and I recommend it.
12/28/2005 3:41:21 PM
 
Norman Brooks 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:06:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:06:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:06:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:06:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:06:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Reading reviews from people using this lens can lead me to the only logical conclusion; there must be quite a difference in quality from lens to lens. When I purchased this lens I knew there was a chance I would be one of the unlucky ones but it appears I was blessed by a super quality lens. My past experience has been film with Contax and Yashica cameras and a combination of a few very expensive Carl Zeiss lens and some Tamrons.

I have been amazed at the quality of the shots I am getting with this new lens on my 300D. Yes it is a bit slow, but the IS makes up for that and I never shoot any zoom at maximum F or maximum or minimum zooom. Keeping in mind the natural limitations of any zoom I am very very pleased with the 28-135 and recommend it highly. As one other user noted with advancing age; I am 57 and the old claws shake a bit more than they did when I was 20 ! I will never buy another lens without IS.

6/28/2005 7:06:26 PM
 
Norman Brooks 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:05:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:05:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:05:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:05:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:05:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Reading reviews from people using this lens can lead me to the only logical conclusion; there must be quite a difference in quality from lens to lens. When I purchased this lens I knew there was a chance I would be one of the unlucky ones but it appears I was blessed by a super quality lens. My past experience has been film with Contax and Yashica cameras and a combination of a few very expensive Carl Zeiss lens and some Tamrons.

I have been amazed at the quality of the shots I am getting with this new lens on my 300D. Yes it is a bit slow, but the IS makes up for that and I never shoot any zoom at maximum F or maximum or minimum zooom. Keeping in mind the natural limitations of any zoom I am very very pleased with the 28-135 and recommend it highly. As one other user noted with advancing age; I am 57 and the old claws shake a bit more than they did when I was 20 ! I will never buy another lens without IS.

6/28/2005 7:05:11 PM
 
Bryan Yates
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:30:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:30:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:30:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:30:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 2:30:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great lens and pefect to keep on the camera for a variety of occasions! I have no complaints!
5/31/2005 2:30:34 PM
 
Richard P. Crowe 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 10:35:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 10:35:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 10:35:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 10:35:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 10:35:33 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is not an "L" lens, but doesn't cost like the "L" Series. It is a utility lens that is fun to shoot with and if used judiciously will give good images. I am impressed with the autofocus speed it really snaps into focus. The IS function is important since I am advancing in age and often cannot hold the camera as steady as I used to. Actually, the IS makes up for much of the lack of crispness in the lens. Even primo lenses such as the "L" series cannot give you a great picture if you are not able to hold the camera steady - especially at longer focal lengths. I am not a fan of wide angle shots, so the relative tightness of the 28mm used with the Canon 10D is not a problem for me. Since there are times when a wider view is required, I will probably get a wide prime such as the Canon 20mm f/2.8 when I can afford it.
4/16/2004 10:35:33 AM
 
Ananth  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2003 11:54:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2003 11:54:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2003 11:54:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2003 11:54:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2003 11:54:51 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
There are many kinds of people who like to read reviews. Go figure, whatís in your pocket before you make a decision.

This lens is a very good beginner to semi pro lens when you talk film. However in the digital world, with the 1.6 magnification employed, what you are essentially looking at is a 45-216 Lens. This makes it very interesting if most of your work is in the mid or upper end of the focal spectrum. However, bear in mind that when you are in the 216F range your aperture drops to 5.6 (and the image is very soft). This is awfully slow for some action shots. However you do have IS (Image stabilization) that will helps you to counter this, giving you the ability to move 1 - 1.5 stops less. I found this feature to be especially good in low light situations. If you are the family man who loves to shoot picture of the family, your outing, children, and talk about it to your colleagues, stay here. If you understand most of what I have said above, then you have to following to consider before you make your choice. Who are you? What kind of picture do u make? Yeah if you have all the money, go buy the "L" lenses. They are the best, but if you donít make money by selling pictures, stay with this Lens. However, if you slap this Lens on a Digital camera like he D10/D60, then be prepared to invest in another super wide angle lens to complete your baggage. Want to know what I did? Bought myself a 16-35 2.8L Lens second hand! Yes I paid a packet. Itís worth every penny cauíz I shoot on this side of the spectrum. Hope what u just read was useful.

4/30/2003 11:54:51 AM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)