Camedia C-765 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

a berry hymn
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 11-by-15-inch enlargements
  • 10x optical zoom combines with 4x digital zoom for a 40x total
    zoom
  • 1.8-inch LCD display; PictBridge enabled; Quicktime movie mode
  • Store images on xD memory cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium ion battery (included with
    charger)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


54 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Randy Platt 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I like the camera, but I have to say that the focusing on it is about as bad as it gets. I like to photograph birds that fly over the top of me. You would think that if it couldn't get a good focus, that it would default to infinity, but if a bird flies over the top of me, 100% of the time it will "hunt" for the proper focus. By then the bird is long gone. It also decides on a focus that is so bat that the bird is not recognizable.

Because the focusing is about as bad as it gets, I would not recommend this camera.

The "workaround" is to set the focus to manual, and then it still does not give a sharp image. I actually found out on the internet how to get to this "manual" setting. It didn't mention a word about it in the paper manual I got.

If you never photograpgh a moving bird, this might be OK for you.

But even in indoor shots I have had it "hunt" for a focus, only to decide on an out of focus setting.

9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM
 
Renaee Dimond 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really loved this camera, took great photos - Unfortunately I have owned two of these cameras, and both busted on me. The first one broke within the first 12 months and Olympus replaced it. The second fizzed out just after the 12 month warranty period was up. I gave up and bought an SLR
6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM
 
Matthew Dell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Suburb camara. 10x Optical zoom and 4.0 megapixel. Perfect for my needs as a budding amateur. I've owned it for nearly 2 years and have no plans to upgrade.
6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, easy to use, great software. I still use it to edit a lot of photos on my computer. I love the 10 optical zoom for my sunsets.
6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM
 
Joanne L. Ford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera. It is a nice size, easy to use and works great.
5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM
 
Joanne L. Ford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera. It is a nice size, easy to use and works great.
5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM
 
Rose Mary Iannone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like my camera, it is small and easy to point and shoot. 99% of my photos perfict condition.
5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM
 
Pamela M. Clark
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It takes great outdoor shots. I have some trouble with blurring on indoor shots. I feel I need a tripod to hold the camera steady on indoor shots. The camera is fairly new to me so I need to study the manual some more to try to alleviate this problem.
4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM
 
Janet Hamblen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great quality but slow shutter as with most digitals.
3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM
 
Perumal Rajangam 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its an advanced camera but i am not much exposed to it; its taking pictures a bit dark though, I am not sure why is it happening like that.
3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM
 
Margaret Hughes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Being a beginner I love the ease of use and the comfort of the size. I find using the manual features challenging and do not like flash photos, but that may be due to the fact that I am so new to digital photography.
2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM
 
Charly Makray-Rice 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 11:56:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 11:56:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 11:56:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 11:56:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 11:56:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
4 MPX 10X zoom, very good optical quality, macro lens and landscape ability. Excellent outdoor portraits. Good carry size, great transition camera from hobby to pro level camera. Only features missing are hot shoe, and RAW. I don't have portrait lights so I can't judge indoor photos. I have used background and candle lights with good results. I've used it for over a year with a Manfrotto tripod and ball head which allow me to reverse the camera so that it is on the bottom for macro shots. Lot of versatility for a small camera.
2/19/2006 11:56:26 AM
 
Kara Hendricks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/18/2004
Contact Kara
Kara's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:25:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:25:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:25:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:25:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:25:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this for it's extreme macro ability.. Very clear sharp images.. It takes better shots outside.. Inside you need a well lit room.. But other than that, it's small and packs a BIG punch.. Especially for the $$$..
2/15/2006 3:25:20 PM
 
Gary A. Roos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 9:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 9:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 9:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 9:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 9:54:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy this camera. For a 4 megapixel, it takes fantastic shots. Also, for a "box" type camera, it has a lot of controls, especially on the outside, not just buried in the menu. One of the things that attracted me to it was the 10x optical zoom. It's hard to find this combination of optical zoom and megapixels. Eventually, I want to step up into a digital SLR, but the budget won't allow that yet.
2/2/2006 9:54:53 AM
 
Carrie A. Cox 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 12:01:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 12:01:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 12:01:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 12:01:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 12:01:05 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera died on November 19th 2005. I was so sad. I dropped it on the cement while getting ready to take pictures of the Festival of lights parade in chicago. I have a new Olympus SP500uz. In a year or so I will be upgrading to an SLR.
11/22/2005 12:01:05 PM
 
James R. Holloman Sr. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:30:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:30:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:30:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:30:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:30:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am a armature photo enthusiast that just started taken pictures in 2004. This camera has allowed me to catch on fairly quick. I have always loved pictures but never was able to acquire a decent camera until 2004. It seems to me I can have fun and get good pictures. I
11/15/2005 7:30:45 AM
 
Niels Sandal
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 1:27:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 1:27:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 1:27:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 1:27:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 1:27:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good macro and auto functions giving good pictures from the beginning. Reaction time and the screen size and clarity has improved considerably compared to my old Olympus C-750. Macro functions could be easier to reach.
11/9/2005 1:27:28 PM
 
Jessica R. Taylor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 3:19:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 3:19:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 3:19:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 3:19:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2005 3:19:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. It takes great shots. The only thing that aggrivates me is trying to figure out the lighting, I guess I should read the book and find out how to fix the problem.
11/4/2005 3:19:30 PM
 
Marjorie Whitley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:00:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:00:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:00:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:00:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 1:00:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera because it makes a great snap shot camera and also takes photos that look pro. The downside is that it has limited manual aperature and no manual focus. A higher pixel number would be ideal (This one 4) but cant be beat for the price and simplicity of the camera.
10/24/2005 1:00:15 PM
 
Carolyn Coleman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/15/2005
Contact Carolyn
Carolyn's Gallery
carolyncolemanphotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 11:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 11:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 11:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 11:00:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 11:00:38 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love this camera. Meter readings are easy to read. Produces great pictures. A little slow when taking fast shots. Great camera to carry every where with you.
10/23/2005 11:00:38 AM
 
Brian Fox 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:13:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great color, good zoom. poor flash
10/6/2005 4:13:04 PM
 
Saravanakumar Palaniswami 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:17:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:17:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:17:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:17:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 8:17:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent zoom. But not very sharp in full zoom
10/1/2005 8:17:51 AM
 
Carol Kalinowski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 4:47:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 4:47:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 4:47:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 4:47:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 4:47:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My best camera to date.Easy to use and the pics are so sharp.
9/24/2005 4:47:27 AM
 
Rob Timmins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 8:42:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 8:42:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 8:42:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 8:42:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 8:42:33 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Olympus C765 takes excellent outdoor and still shots, but has problems with any movement indoors.
9/16/2005 8:42:33 AM
 
Eric P. Erickson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:48:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:48:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:48:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:48:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:48:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great shots for little money. HIgh quality.
9/13/2005 9:48:05 PM
 
Gina Kelly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:42:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:42:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:42:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:42:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:42:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, fantastic results!
9/9/2005 10:42:49 PM
 
Marcy J. Goldstein 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 12:19:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 12:19:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 12:19:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 12:19:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 12:19:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera, the ONLY 2 cons are... 1. No audio for the movies 2. The viewfinder was scratched up within a day of owning. I have had a 700 Ultra zoom for years and never encountered either problem!
8/27/2005 12:19:27 AM
 
Kirsty  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 4:54:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 4:54:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 4:54:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 4:54:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 4:54:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent.
8/2/2005 4:54:37 AM
 
Brian Daniels 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:31:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:31:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:31:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:31:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:31:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well this is only my 2nd one and so far I luv it, easy to use for a beginner like my self. Good shooting opitons and very tough and well made.
7/16/2005 6:31:34 PM
 
Karen E. Nolan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 8:49:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 8:49:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 8:49:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 8:49:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 8:49:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is an Olympus C-765 ultrazoom and I am still learning the fun things I can do with it.
7/7/2005 8:49:55 AM
 
Janis Katlaps 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 1:00:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 1:00:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 1:00:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 1:00:49 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 1:00:49 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good optics for compact camera, zoom range, Manual mode, pocketsize
6/28/2005 1:00:49 PM
 
Natalie Nevskaya
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 5:59:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Olympus has made an amazing work on C-750UZ seria puppies. I Love the way, how it is cozy and dependable. Actually had a dream about Canon 300D-20D, yet Olympus C-765UZ is a wothy start for the people who's into digiphotography. I like the quality of the cam and the software. I'm even happy! As all my friend's cams really worse for the same price. And my bro have Olympus C-750UZ. His shots are stunning! I can say it is one of the best cams in that price cathegory.
6/28/2005 5:59:50 AM
 
Rande Money 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 2:53:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 2:53:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 2:53:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 2:53:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 2:53:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Has a 10x optical zoom and lots of manual control options. Outdoor pictures are very sharp and well balanced in color. Inside photos are acceptable but not great.
5/24/2005 2:53:15 PM
 
Boris Popov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 3:51:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 3:51:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 3:51:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 3:51:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 3:51:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Compact, small, medium build quality, some would find it too small to handle; extremely good 38-380 mm lens; photo quality 4,5 out of 5, images are properly exposed and well focused with accurate auto white balance (manual WB is great option too); flow is that it has no Af assist lamp, so auto focusing is a problem in low light, for manual focus is not the best on the market; user friendly, bunch of manual functions; macro mode is excellent;
5/6/2005 3:51:37 PM
 
John Coleman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:59:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:59:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:59:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:59:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:59:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera. Just need to learn how to use it
4/17/2005 6:59:17 PM
 
John Coleman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 6:22:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera. Still learning how to use it. Life the feel of it. Not know what I am doing, the quality of the photographs are good.
4/17/2005 6:22:16 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 7:55:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 7:55:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 7:55:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 7:55:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 7:55:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Best for macro photography, easy to use, 38-380 mm optical ED lens, cheap.
4/3/2005 7:55:24 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 3:40:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 3:40:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 3:40:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 3:40:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 3:40:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I prefer this camera for macroes. Easy to use and cheap.
4/3/2005 3:40:15 AM
 
BK VEL 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 11:05:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 11:05:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 11:05:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 11:05:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 11:05:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Simply Superb
3/27/2005 11:05:34 PM
 
RAYNAUD Clément 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:06:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:06:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:06:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:06:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:06:34 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
good camera but waiting for a digital SLR.
3/27/2005 2:06:34 PM
 
Mary Burke 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:45:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:45:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:45:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:45:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:45:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my new digital cameres is has the power ro do 40x digital zoom and many different setting to shool everything from sports, stills, nightime and many many more.
3/22/2005 5:45:34 AM
 
Stephen L. Schomburg 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 11:39:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 11:39:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 11:39:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 11:39:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 11:39:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good zoom and clear photos
2/15/2005 11:39:31 AM
 
Laura Louie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 11:40:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 11:40:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 11:40:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 11:40:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 11:40:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Olympus C-765 is a good camera for learning. It is comfortable and lightweight, and has numerous shooting modes. It's good for people to learn on before stepping up to a digital SLR camera.
1/11/2005 11:40:08 AM
 
Karen Colon-Rodriguez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2004 2:44:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2004 2:44:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2004 2:44:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2004 2:44:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2004 2:44:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best camera I've owned so far. Many options for different settings.
12/18/2004 2:44:22 AM
 
KC Brock
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 7:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 7:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 7:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 7:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 7:49:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this camera. Quite new purchase. Gives nice, clear shots, but not great on snapping pics in low light.
11/22/2004 7:49:02 PM
 
Arjun Chennu 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 5:44:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 5:44:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 5:44:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 5:44:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 5:44:18 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Continuing on the ultrazoom catergory of cameras, Olympus' C765 contains the usual panoply of features: 10x optical zoom (extensible to 14x) 4x digital zoom macro and super macro 1/1000 to 15" exposures f/2.8 to f/8.0 aperture flash (no hot shoe) panaromic shot
11/20/2004 5:44:18 AM
 
Rachel Luna 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 5:01:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 5:01:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 5:01:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 5:01:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 5:01:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my new Olympus C-765 Ultra Zoom digital camera! It's compact and has up to a 40x seamless zoom. A great camera to carry around with a great zoom capability and be bulky.
10/8/2004 5:01:04 PM
 
Kathie Werremeyer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 9:35:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 9:35:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 9:35:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 9:35:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 9:35:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera for less than 2 weeks, so I'm still learning how to use it. So far I am very happy with the picture quality. One of the main reasons I decided to purchase this particular camera was for the 10X optical lens. I am a watercolorist and like to take close-ups photos of flowers primarily.
9/18/2004 9:35:45 PM
 
Nick Broucher 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:37:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:37:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:37:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:37:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:37:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. I wanted something that was flexible, able to be manually operated and lightweight. The C-765 fits all my requirements although in the future (and when finance allows) i would like to experiment with an SLR. Controls are easy to use and would really recommend this camera to anyone starting out in digital photography. Only complaint is that there sometimes seems to be quite a long delay from pressing the shutter button to the camera actually taking the shot.
8/27/2004 6:37:27 AM
 
Nick Broucher 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:34:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:34:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:34:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:34:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 6:34:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. I wanted something that was flexible, able to be manually operated and lightweight. The C-765 fits all my requirements although in the future (and when finance allows) i would like to experiment with an SLR. Controls are easy to use and would really recommend this camera to anyone starting out in digital photography. Only complaint is that there sometimes seems to be quite a long delay from pressing the shutter button to the camera actually taking the shot.
8/27/2004 6:34:21 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 8:07:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 8:07:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 8:07:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 8:07:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 8:07:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
first digital camera we bought. specifically like the automatic settings wheel on top. Takes great pictures, and is easy to use.
8/8/2004 8:07:54 AM
 
Brian F. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 9:14:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 9:14:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 9:14:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 9:14:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 9:14:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The C-765 is a very nice small camera. I was looking for something unobtrusive to be able to take when I don't want to lug the full camera bag or even a full size camera. This almost fits in a shirt pocket but still has a nice 10X zoom. The boot up time is a little long and the shutter lag takes some getting used to but overall it's a great little second camera.
6/14/2004 9:14:48 PM
 
Petra Bos 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:33:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:33:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:33:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:33:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:33:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
just excellent
6/2/2004 12:33:40 PM
 
Anette Linnea Rasmussen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/31/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:25:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:25:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:25:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:25:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 12:25:51 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have changed to this camera to obtain the bette macro-functionality. Now I can go 3 cm close to the object. On the other hand I do not think the picture quality is so good with this camera when I compare with my former Olympus C740. But it is easy to use and that is a +.
5/27/2004 12:25:51 AM
 

54 Reviews  

Buy Camedia C-765 Digital Camera from Amazon.com