Camedia C-765 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

a berry hymn
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 11-by-15-inch enlargements
  • 10x optical zoom combines with 4x digital zoom for a 40x total
    zoom
  • 1.8-inch LCD display; PictBridge enabled; Quicktime movie mode
  • Store images on xD memory cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium ion battery (included with
    charger)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 54 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Randy Platt 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I like the camera, but I have to say that the focusing on it is about as bad as it gets. I like to photograph birds that fly over the top of me. You would think that if it couldn't get a good focus, that it would default to infinity, but if a bird flies over the top of me, 100% of the time it will "hunt" for the proper focus. By then the bird is long gone. It also decides on a focus that is so bat that the bird is not recognizable.

Because the focusing is about as bad as it gets, I would not recommend this camera.

The "workaround" is to set the focus to manual, and then it still does not give a sharp image. I actually found out on the internet how to get to this "manual" setting. It didn't mention a word about it in the paper manual I got.

If you never photograpgh a moving bird, this might be OK for you.

But even in indoor shots I have had it "hunt" for a focus, only to decide on an out of focus setting.

9/15/2006 6:24:16 PM
 
Renaee Dimond 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really loved this camera, took great photos - Unfortunately I have owned two of these cameras, and both busted on me. The first one broke within the first 12 months and Olympus replaced it. The second fizzed out just after the 12 month warranty period was up. I gave up and bought an SLR
6/22/2006 7:17:07 PM
 
Matthew Dell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Suburb camara. 10x Optical zoom and 4.0 megapixel. Perfect for my needs as a budding amateur. I've owned it for nearly 2 years and have no plans to upgrade.
6/19/2006 12:13:54 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, easy to use, great software. I still use it to edit a lot of photos on my computer. I love the 10 optical zoom for my sunsets.
6/9/2006 6:43:58 PM
 
Joanne L. Ford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera. It is a nice size, easy to use and works great.
5/12/2006 9:10:24 PM
 
Joanne L. Ford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera. It is a nice size, easy to use and works great.
5/12/2006 9:10:11 PM
 
Rose Mary Iannone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like my camera, it is small and easy to point and shoot. 99% of my photos perfict condition.
5/11/2006 6:52:38 PM
 
Pamela M. Clark
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It takes great outdoor shots. I have some trouble with blurring on indoor shots. I feel I need a tripod to hold the camera steady on indoor shots. The camera is fairly new to me so I need to study the manual some more to try to alleviate this problem.
4/8/2006 2:30:47 PM
 
Janet Hamblen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great quality but slow shutter as with most digitals.
3/23/2006 7:54:20 PM
 
Perumal Rajangam 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its an advanced camera but i am not much exposed to it; its taking pictures a bit dark though, I am not sure why is it happening like that.
3/4/2006 9:25:20 PM
 
Margaret Hughes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Being a beginner I love the ease of use and the comfort of the size. I find using the manual features challenging and do not like flash photos, but that may be due to the fact that I am so new to digital photography.
2/28/2006 7:10:30 AM
 

First 10 of 54 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Camedia C-765 Digital Camera from Amazon.com